GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#101336 - 08/22/03 09:31 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hey you guys! Maybe you don't need a new battery!
Have you every heard about 'freezing' a battery to make the charge come back? I wonder what you can find to get the battery cold? Hmmmmmm

Top
#101337 - 08/22/03 09:44 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Anonymous
Unregistered


ARRGGHHH!!! evil evil Geez, in this day and age, why do they still make games requiring that one insert disks for play? Especially when they don't put a boot disk on the second and third disks! It is really frustrating to have to load the first disk to boot the game, and then load another disk to play.
Help Jenny! Is there anyway to fix this problem? I did the max install, but it still requires that I boot from the first disk, and then use the other disks as the game progresses.
I really hate disk swapping!
FP

Top
#101338 - 08/22/03 09:51 PM Re: Runaway Hints
ladyyve Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/09/00
Posts: 1719
Loc: La Puente, CA, USA
Yaaaaaaaay! You're right, FlowerPower!!! I just figured it out... with a little sharp 'pixel' hunting! Phew! NOW I need to find some iced mocha .........QUICK!.... before the ole girl has a hissy! LOL!

Ok........ which one of you guys took the last cup???? Sheeeesh! You'd think they'd make a fresh pot! ..........but noooooooooooooooooo

<quibble> <quibble>

Yvonne

Top
#101340 - 08/22/03 10:25 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
FP, if there is a way to get around that disk swapping, other than installing the whole game on your computer, I don't know what it is. In the case of Runaway, I don't think the entire game is installed, just most of the jpg files.

I'm just into Chapter 3, wandering around in the desert, but I haven't had to swap any disks yet. Of course I also haven't accomplished much yet... blush
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
#101341 - 08/22/03 10:35 PM Re: Runaway Hints
gatorlaw Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 10305
Wandered, hung out with the he/shes in the bus, got rid of a studly guard - but looking for oil and it is literally EVERYWHERE.

I am missing something. I feel like I rolled around and got lucky through much of chapter 3, I hope like heck I can organize it enough to help anyone else. lol

OK going back and filling in some notes......

Laura
_________________________




Top
#101344 - 08/22/03 10:56 PM Re: Runaway Hints
gatorlaw Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 10305
Yeah I guess so, blech on the "alleged damsel" snoozing inside yech blech and double blech" some people really don't make good looking women laugh - OK I have advanced a bit - but then why do I feel so aimless??? Oh yeah - I don't have my glasses anymore. lol

OK party bus - passion drinks and margaritas XXX Tequilla on me!! I love the Runaway song - let's just hang out and dance with the boom box for a while.


Laura
_________________________




Top
#101345 - 08/22/03 10:59 PM Re: Runaway Hints
ladyyve Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/09/00
Posts: 1719
Loc: La Puente, CA, USA
Hey! FlowerPower, I found one way to avoid disk swapping......... I put CD 1 in my CD-ROM drive and CD 2 in my CD-RW drive and I don't go through any of that!

Yvonne

Top
#101347 - 08/23/03 12:29 AM Re: Runaway Hints
Anonymous
Unregistered


Hi Ladyyeve,
I only have the one CD/DVD drive. However, I just got through installing the game on my Virtual PC and making images of all the disks. It is working fine with the images, and very easy to release one image and capture the next, so that is ok.
However, I can't seem to copy my game files from my Win 98 division to my Virtual Pc Win 98. I guess I will have to go back and replay the game. I am glad I decided to do this now, before I got too far along in the game.
I should be back up to chaper 3 by tomorrow.
Sigh.....wish I had checked on this problem before installing the game the first time.
Oh well, live and learn. That is what happens when you are in a big hurry to play a game and don't want to copy disks to the hard drive.

Top
#101348 - 08/23/03 03:30 AM Re: Runaway Hints
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 9329
Loc: ex-new yorker
i can't believe what i am reading. please tell me this isn't so. nothing ruins a game more than having to start with disc 1 every time mad mad mad first upside down video and now this horror. there goes any chance of the game making my top ten list. upside down video is preferable to this useless disk swapping.

i did the full installation so i shouldn't have to worry about this , correct? i hope so much that there is no disk swapping with the full installation otherwise this promising game has just been ruined. i have been wanting this game to come out for so long.
_________________________
Zanthia

Top
#101349 - 08/23/03 06:10 AM Re: Runaway Hints
Tally Ho Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/11/00
Posts: 5056
Folks, I don't know how I got around it, except I did the maximum type of install. I have not had to re-start from disk one.

Maybe it has to do with the way you start. Begin with the desktop icon, then press <esc> to get to the load/save/play screen, and load your latest save.

I just tested this process to be sure, and Yes, it works. No swapping.

Top
#101350 - 08/23/03 12:09 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Anonymous
Unregistered


Tally Ho,
Please check by closing Runaway. Then put the second disk into the drive. No other disk. Then click on the icon and see what happens.
On my computer, I get a box that says I have the wrong disk in. I never get far enough to click on escape and get the load/save window.
I also have a full (max) installation. I looked at the second and third disks, and they only seem to contain data files. Tried to do a complete install by copying the disks but that didn't work either. I ended up installing it in my Virtual PC, and making isoimages of the disks. I can then run it by loading the images instead of the disks.

FP

Top
#101351 - 08/23/03 01:48 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Tally Ho:
Folks, I don't know how I got around it, except I did the maximum type of install. I have not had to re-start from disk one.

Maybe it has to do with the way you start. Begin with the desktop icon, then press <esc> to get to the load/save/play screen, and load your latest save.

I just tested this process to be sure, and Yes, it works. No swapping.
Doug, I did the full install also, but when I click on the desktop icon, it immediately shows the box that says "wrong disc inserted"...
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
#101353 - 08/23/03 02:06 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
Zanthia, I just tried mine again--I have the full install, and after starting with disk 1, when I get to the point of clicking on my saved game, it tells me to put in the correct disk. So there doesn't seem to be any way out of it for me.

I'm not as upset as you are, but it is annoying, since I like to play for a little and then quit to check the forums. But I just used alt-tab to get out of the game, and that seems to work fine, so maybe I'll just do that until I'm ready to shut down tonight...
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
#101354 - 08/23/03 02:25 PM Re: Runaway Hints
gatorlaw Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 10305
I thought I had to disc swap also - but it was because I was clicking on the chapter pics rather than hitting escape again and going to "load". No disc swapping now.

Laura
_________________________




Top
#101355 - 08/23/03 02:33 PM Re: Runaway Hints
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
Laura, I just tried that, but when I click on "load" and then on the picture of my save, that message to insert a different disk comes up...
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
8 registered (looney4labs, Marian, CanukDenis, traveler, Butcher, Darlene, Melia, stevefox), 52 Guests and 20 Spiders online.
Newest Members
123pazu, dawnmann, Colour, Carhurl, Shelley1966
8417 Registered Users