GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1021770 - Today at 11:54 AM Blackstone Chronicles
oldbroad Online   sad
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1382
Loc: Chicago
Hi.

Does anybody know (offhand) if Blackstone Chronicles works in Windows 7?

Thanks.

Top
#1021780 - Today at 01:14 PM Re: Blackstone Chronicles [Re: oldbroad]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 36035
Loc: southeast USA
I've read that it has a problem on Windows 7 because it uses an old version of QuickTime and the "latest" QuickTime isn't fully backward compatible.
It would probably run inside Virtual PC provided you had Windows 95 or 98 installed inside Virtual PC.

Top
#1021807 - Today at 04:26 PM Re: Blackstone Chronicles [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Online   sad
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1382
Loc: Chicago
Ok thanks Jenny. Maybe I will try it and see. I think I have an older version of QuickTime installed but in my installed programs it doesn't say the version and I can't see where to find it.

It can't hurt anything to try it right?

Top
#1021808 - Today at 04:28 PM Re: Blackstone Chronicles [Re: oldbroad]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6940
Loc: Arizona
I've looked as well, and don't see any references to folks getting it to run under Windows 7. Inferno has an XP setup that you may want to try - but that's about it.

Blackstone Chronicles Set Up Walkthrough

Your best bet is to install Virtual PC 2007, and install Windows 9x (or even XP).

Quote:
It can't hurt anything to try it right?


Never hurts to try smile


Edited by InlandAZ (Today at 04:29 PM)

Top
#1021809 - Today at 04:58 PM Re: Blackstone Chronicles [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Online   sad
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1382
Loc: Chicago
HM. Well, it doesn't sound good. I have played it in XP with no tweaking that I remember (I'm not much of a tweaker and this was one of the first games I ever played so I don't think I did).

Maybe I'll give it a try as long as it won't hurt anything.

Thanks.

Top
#1021812 - Today at 05:29 PM Re: Blackstone Chronicles [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Online   sad
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1382
Loc: Chicago
Well, it installed fine and looks fine but there is no sound and to move anywhere I have to hit escape after I left click the mouse. Bummer!

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (Space Quest Fan, Donald, Cari, BrownEyedTigre, Marji, Sherlock, oldbroad), 58 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
PlayToMax, sashadarko, Jeffrey2001, Platypuss, zen
8698 Registered Users