GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 5 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#113078 - 01/25/03 06:12 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
fanatic Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 12/30/02
Posts: 307
Mary: Monkey Island Madness (re-release of 1 & 2 with enhancements on 1 cd) works beautifully on XP... for me anyway. Curse of Monkey Island (part 3) loaded and ran fine... for awhile. Once you talk to the little boy beside the cannon (beginning of the game) and go into the next room, you can play a little, but it would crash there. I have experienced this on 2 different machines. I do not know if this is a bug in the game, but both operating systems used were Windows XP.

Top
#113079 - 01/26/03 10:32 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
SuMac Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/26/01
Posts: 1988
Loc: New Hampshire
To Cat in a Hat: I couldn't get Pandora's Box to run with XP, either. It installed OK, but when I tried to run it, I got a message that it was incompatable with my OS. Fortunately, I still have my old computer with Win98SE, where it runs fine.

Top
#113080 - 01/26/03 11:16 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3640
Loc: New York
Fanatic,
I have the original games, not Monkey Island Madness. I'm getting kind of bummed seeing how many of those "good old games" (or not so old) will not work on XP.
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#113081 - 01/26/03 09:04 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
Sequoia Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/22/00
Posts: 474
Loc: Mi, USA
Has anyone had any luck with loading Byzantine? I got all of my older games to load ok, but this one wouldn't even start. It gave me an error messge that it needed Windows 95 to load (although I did have it loaded on my other computer under Windows 98!). I'm a bit worried about tweaking the computer too much, so I guess I could just load it back onto the old computer and play it on that one.
Sequoia

Top
#113082 - 01/27/03 10:31 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Hi Guys:
I just finished Obsidian on my XP and it run perfectly without a hitch. No tweaking necessary on that one for me. (I've added it to the list.)
I'll guess I'll work on Jekyll & Hyde to see if it plays through for me.
Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113083 - 01/27/03 05:39 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Quote:
Originally posted by Sequoia:
Has anyone had any luck with loading Byzantine? I got all of my older games to load ok, but this one wouldn't even start. It gave me an error messge that it needed Windows 95 to load (Sequoia
Hi Sequoia! happydance Your done! whew!</font></li></ul><font size="3" face="verdana,arial,helv"> Now just go ahead and select the icon and begin the adventure.

Inferno

P.S I haven't gotten very far in this game...I seem to be in some sort of an apartment. Let me know how far you get.
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113084 - 01/28/03 06:34 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
Kate Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/31/99
Posts: 448
Loc: Gaithersburg, Md, USA
I played Byzantine with XP in compatibility modr Win 95. I have an Alienware PC and it is quite fast. I think I also had to the graphics acceleration and maybe even the sound. I don't recall any real glitches.
Has anyone had any success running "Shivers 2"?
Katie

Top
#113085 - 01/28/03 09:42 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Ok....Glitch #1: My game seems to freeze when the telpnone rings. I can't pick up the phone. Any ideas?
Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113086 - 01/28/03 11:56 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
I've figured out how to turn off my auto save function but still can't pick up the phone.
....I really could use some help here.

Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113087 - 01/29/03 04:21 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
Sequoia Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/22/00
Posts: 474
Loc: Mi, USA
For my good friend Inferno: thumbsup
Thanks to your quiet voice and all those encouraging smiley faces I took the plunge and gave the tweaking a try! And it worked like a charm. I didn't even break out in a sweat doing it either. bravo

The only thing different for me is that after I was done it did not ask me to install it again, I guess my PC had given up by then.

I decided to not tranfer over any of my saves, it's been long enough since I last played the game that I am just starting over new. So I'm to where I did get the phone call and it worked fine for me. When you get to the desk and are at a close up of the phone do you not get the hand cursor? What exactly is not working for you?

Thanks so much for all of the help you gave me Inferno!!! happydance happydance
Sequoia

Top
#113088 - 01/29/03 04:55 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Hi Sequioa:
The hand cursor becomes the magnifying glass when the phone is ringing. Left click changes it to a close up of the telephone. When I pass the cursor over the reciever it then changes to a pair of lips. When I left click on the reciver with that cursor the ringing stops as I think its supposed to but....the cursor then changes into an hour glass. and the game freezes for me at this point. Syd was nice enough to send me a save for a workaround. I'm hoping it will work.
Are you using MOslo or Turbo along with the game? I'm wondering at this point as to whether I should try increasing my Virtual Memory.
Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113089 - 01/29/03 08:00 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
***************Later****************

Well, the saved game didn't work at all......
However I dcided to uninstall the program, restart my system. This time I increased my Virtual Memory, installed the progrm on my DVD drive (I think it runs a little slower than my CDROM) et viola! I have Byzantine up and running on my Win XP. happydance happydance
Let's see if I can run it to the end...if I do then I'll add it to the "Finished List"
Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113090 - 02/06/03 02:12 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Just an Xp Update, for all y'all!

I just finished playing Byzantine through without one crash. I'm begining to wonder just what the real reason is behind some of the larger companies who say certain games are not compatible with Xp, Could it be that they just don't want to take the time to test it properly for us??? .....or in my case take some wacky chances and "wing" it. laugh laugh laugh

....Anywho I say:
" Xp'ers unite! No guts no Glory! Goonies never say die!


(*** what the heck did I just say? Where did that come from??? blush oh well***) I'll be quiet now
inferno blush rolleyes blush
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#113091 - 02/06/03 11:02 AM Re: Windows XP and Games
Cat in the Hat Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 243
Loc: Pennsylvania
SuMac: Thanks for trying. What's ironic is that Pandora's Box is made by Microsoft, I think.

Top
#113092 - 02/06/03 01:23 PM Re: Windows XP and Games
dallymisty Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/22/02
Posts: 211
Loc: Sydney Australia
Strange!! I can play Pandora's Box fine on my computer running Windows XP Home Edition. Never had to do any tweaking or run any patches or anything. I have played it right through once and I am thinking of playing it again I enjoyed it so much. Maybe it's certain hardware in some computers that it doesn't like. You would think that it being a Microsoft game it would work fine with any of their operating systems. But then Microsoft tends to be fussy with hardware <img border="0" alt="woozy" title="" src="graemlins/woozy.gif" />

Top
Page 5 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
12 registered (BobH, kjos, ipad_Lover, LadyLinda, Redz, chrissie, mayday_, monbron, granny, petert), 56 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
123pazu, dawnmann, Colour, Carhurl, Shelley1966
8417 Registered Users