GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1132628 - 11/21/17 01:10 PM sherlock holmes: NEMESIS .
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3172
Loc: San Diego
I Have this game also known as sherlock holmes versus arsene lupin.and i can't get it to play on my win 7 computer .but i can play sherlock holmes the awakened . what gives ? how do i get it to play ? has it somthing to do with XP mode ? please let me know . smashpc

Top
#1132631 - 11/21/17 01:14 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 31998
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I have moved your post over to Glitches. If you are playing from a CD, the difficulty may have something to do with the game's copy protection. If so, the techies should be able to help you out here.

Top
#1132633 - 11/21/17 01:58 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: Marian]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3172
Loc: San Diego
thanks , yes it is from a CD.

Top
#1132634 - 11/21/17 02:08 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12842
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Can you tell us what the problem is? Doe it install or do you get an error message? Does it install, but not launch when you try to play it? I will do some checking to see if it has copy protection.

EDIT: I'm seeing things about a patch which removes the DRM and also about having to install a PhysX driver if you have an Nvidia video card. Not finding a quick fix yet though.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1132637 - 11/21/17 02:25 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3172
Loc: San Diego
thanks,i get no error message. i think it is installed and i have a start icon.but it don't launch when i try to play.and the disk is in.BTW the sherlock holmes-the awakened plays great but i have to have the disk in .???? odd huh ..

Top
#1132640 - 11/21/17 02:45 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 31998
Loc: near Yosemite in California
This is from our Windows 7 and games thread:

Quote:
Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper: Mary said she did have to update the Tages copy protection drivers.


That's why I was thinking it might be a copy protection problem, as Nemesis was released in the same decade and both games are by Frogwares.

You could get the game from GOG, but it's ten dollars, so it would be nice if deleterman could use the physical CD.

Top
#1132641 - 11/21/17 03:09 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12842
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, the DRM was my first thought too. The game is also on Steam and players there are having the same problem. I still haven't been able to find any patches that look safe to download.

deleterman, do you have an Nvidia video card?
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1132642 - 11/21/17 03:17 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: Draclvr]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3172
Loc: San Diego
yes i have Nvidia video card.i didn't know that GOG had the game , headscratch maybe that would be the better way ,i have never had any problems with them working .just thinking .i just want to do this as easy as i can. thanks

Top
#1132643 - 11/21/17 03:34 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: deleterman]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12842
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Well, I know Windows 7 does block Tages DRM and the only other thing I found was for the Steam download which mentioned installing PhysX drivers from Nvidia. Since your game is on a disk, to be honest, the EASIEST way would be to download from GOG.

https://www.gog.com/game/sherlock_holmes_nemesis_remastered
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1132646 - 11/21/17 03:56 PM Re: sherlock holmes: NEMESIS . [Re: Draclvr]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3172
Loc: San Diego
thanks ,thats what i thought. urock joy started game no problems at all works great so far . thumbsup dance


Edited by deleterman (11/21/17 08:48 PM)

Top

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (teassoc, LadyLinda, CanukDenis, connie, 1 invisible), 137 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Zorkmid57, StuDapples, SweetLulu, Lion_1251, phimestudio
8978 Registered Users