GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#1140304 - 02/01/18 06:42 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
Drac, please please please tell me what card to buy. I have been looking all day and it is all Greek to me. I don't want one much better than the one that I have, as I think my computer game buying days are over, I just want to play the ones that I have. Please advise me.

Top
#1140317 - 02/01/18 10:41 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13504
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Well, then we are down to your budget, mbday! I know about your issues, so I totally understand. Let me know what you can afford and I'll help you decide.

Check this page out at Amazon... any of these cards will do and even that GT 1030 is cheaper than at Best Buy. Scroll down to where there are 5 or 6 six cards in comparison.

https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-1024MB-Graphics-01G-P4-2650-KR/dp/B00966IU4M
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1140339 - 02/02/18 08:08 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
I am thinking of this one but what does low profile mean? https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Prof...123E1AV94ECP1QN

Top
#1140346 - 02/02/18 09:29 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39132
Loc: southeast USA
"Low profile" means it's made to fit in those computers with tiny cases instead of regular size desktop cases.

You should be able to use a low profile card in a normal computer case as long as it has the right bracket. Here's a thread where someone asked whether it would fit.

http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/11/371918937268392189/

The card at Amazon that you linked to seems to have pictures of two different brackets.

Top
#1140360 - 02/02/18 10:52 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
there is also a passive - which one should I get? the low profile or the passive? really, this is all Greek to me and I sure appreciate all the help. Thanks.

Top
#1140363 - 02/02/18 10:59 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39132
Loc: southeast USA
Passive means no fan. The cards are often clocked lower (slower card) than the versions with a fan. Passive cards also mean you have to be extra careful that your computer case has adequate ventilation. Unless you have plenty of fans in your case, or intend to install a couple, I wouldn't get the passive. There's a reason most video cards come with fans.

I notice that model also has the option for "single slot" which has the normal form factor as well as a fan.
Unless you have a tiny case and need the low profile version, I'd recommend the "single slot" model.

https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Profile-Graphic-02G-P4-6333-KR/dp/B073VPS15N

Top
#1140364 - 02/02/18 11:21 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13504
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I agree with Jenny after looking at the options.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1140366 - 02/02/18 11:37 AM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
thank you so very much Drac and Jenny. I just ordered the one that Jenny posted. I get so confused looking at all the options (just like trying to buy wallpaper or paint - too many options). Hopefully hubby can put it in okay. Again, my most heartfelt thanks.

Top
#1140375 - 02/02/18 12:20 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13504
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I'm sure it will go just fine. Happy computering and gaming!
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1141203 - 02/10/18 12:13 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
Hubby and I are having a hard time. I finally got the new video card and we tried to install it today and the plug doesn't fit. Plus my old one had a fan on the bottom of it and this one doesn't have that. did I get the wrong card? what can I do to get the plug to fit? please help.

Top
#1141212 - 02/10/18 01:35 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13504
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
What do you mean by plug? Are you talking about the interface between the card and the motherboard? Are you trying to insert it into the correct slot which should be the same one your old card was in? If you take out the old card, and compare the interface, are they the same? They should both be PCI-e.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1742091/identify-pci-express-pci-controller-slot.html
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1141214 - 02/10/18 02:03 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
There are two plugs we are wondering about. There was a plug that plugged into the video driver, but, also the plug in the back to put the cord in is different. Hubby is trying to get an old cord to work now by taking out some of the pins. crapski.

Top
#1141215 - 02/10/18 02:06 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
there is no place to plug in the video card to my monitor. he got it in but my monitor is totally black.

Top
#1141218 - 02/10/18 02:20 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 439
according to hubby, this board will not work. Please advise me. the 4 - pronged plug that went to the card is missing.


Edited by mbday630 (02/10/18 02:24 PM)

Top
#1141220 - 02/10/18 02:53 PM Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13504
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
This is all kind of confusing... so the card is inserted into the motherboard, right??? Are you talking about a plug for the video card which will run the fan? That will come from the power supply, not the motherboard. If your old video card had a fan, are you saying it was not plugged into the power supply?

Don't understand what you are saying here at all..
Quote:
There was a plug that plugged into the video driver, but, also the plug in the back to put the cord in is different. Hubby is trying to get an old cord to work now by taking out some of the pins.


Do you mean a plug that went into the video card? A plug in the back of what? I'm looking at the pictures of that video card Jenny linked to and I don't see where it has a need for a 4-pin plug from the power supply.

Do I have this right or is there something I'm missing?
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
8 registered (manxman, curly, 8dognight, dorish, teassoc, BrownEyedTigre, Cue, ergggo), 194 Guests and 17 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Debcon, lucebend, Lethal_Angel, AustriaGame24, 1madmouse
9042 Registered Users