GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#1141278 - 02/11/18 09:41 AM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: lakerz]
rmelone Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 1011
Loc: Kingston, NY USA
Originally Posted By: lakerz
My mom is having this problem happen on her computer. It also pops up when accessing yahoo home page from time to time. I install ad-aware, but maybe I will try removing that and using ublock origins instead. Or can both be used at same time? I will have to apologize to her, as I kept thinking she was clicking on a link that led to the site hosting this scam. Now it looks like it is a weird yahoo thing.


Lakerz,

I installed AdBlock Plus in Chrome about five days ago and haven't had another problem - yet.

I don't know if this would help but I would think it's worth a try. Hopefully I won't have the
problem come back but before I installed AdBlock I would get the Security Alert code problem just about
every day and, as I said, I haven't had any problems for five days - fingers crossed.

Robert
_________________________
"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened."

-Dr. Seuss

Top
#1141287 - 02/11/18 10:52 AM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: lakerz]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39037
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: lakerz
I install ad-aware, but maybe I will try removing that and using ublock origins instead. Or can both be used at same time?

Ad-Aware is an antivirus/anti-malware program.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adaware

Ad-Aware is not an ad-blocker the way AdBlock Plus and uBlock Origin are.

So yes you can use both Ad-Aware and an adblocker like AdBlock Plus or uBlock Origin.

Top
#1141289 - 02/11/18 10:54 AM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: rmelone]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13389
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Let us know if this helps your mom, lakerz... I just stay away from anything Yahoo, but I do use uBlock Origin too.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1142047 - 02/18/18 01:15 AM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: rmelone]
lakerz Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 08/22/01
Posts: 708
Loc: Los Angeles, CA. USA
Argh, I meant to say I put AdBlock Plus on my mom's PC for various browsers (she mostly just uses Firefox but sometimes also IE). As an aside, I do have a few anti-spyware stuff installed too like Search&Destroy.

So can one have both AdBlock Plus *and* UBlock Origins at the same time? I have not experimented with this yet. Since that last time she has not had that malware page show up again.
_________________________
What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas...

Top
#1142062 - 02/18/18 10:10 AM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: rmelone]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13389
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I really don't know! Experiment with us and let us know...
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
#1142082 - 02/18/18 12:06 PM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: lakerz]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39037
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: lakerz
As an aside, I do have a few anti-spyware stuff installed too like Search&Destroy.

That will help for malware that tries to install on your computer, but won't do anything for phishing ads like the ones at Yahoo. Those have to be blocked by the browser or a browser add-on. Blocking the IP numbers of the ad network using block lists inside your router is another option, but is probably beyond the capability of most people.

Originally Posted By: lakerz
So can one have both AdBlock Plus *and* UBlock Origins at the same time? I have not experimented with this yet. Since that last time she has not had that malware page show up again.

I think you can have both, but since they use the same (or similar) block lists, it doesn't really help to have both.

Top
#1142213 - 02/19/18 02:59 PM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: rmelone]
rmelone Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 1011
Loc: Kingston, NY USA
Just an update.

Since I installed AdBlock Plus on Google Chrome I haven't had any further Security Alert problems
on Yahoo mail - that was about two weeks ago.

This is the longest I've gone without an error since it started - hopefully the problem is resolved.

Robert
_________________________
"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened."

-Dr. Seuss

Top
#1142214 - 02/19/18 03:06 PM Re: Internet Security Alert Code...issue [Re: rmelone]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13389
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Good news!!!
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens...

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (gymcandy1, Koala, BrownEyedTigre, Mikael, Marian, oldbroad, deleterman, Sherlock, family, 1 invisible), 147 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
AustriaGame24, 1madmouse, AdventurGameGeek, JamesPierce, LGW
9039 Registered Users