GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1149701 - 04/30/18 01:46 PM Crack the Conspiracy
Bluto Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/11/06
Posts: 940
Loc: Mass
Hi everyone

I have the game crack the conspiracy it would not load since
It needs Quick time which is also not available any longer
The makers of the game are out of business did any one else
Have this similar problem I notice there is still a walkthrough
For the game in game boomers.so I guess another game bits the
Dust.is there a way to tell if a game company goes out of
Business, and what games not to purchase for this reason.
All suggestions appreciated how come there is still a walkthrough
for it on game boomers.

Thank You
Bluto

Top
#1149706 - 04/30/18 01:59 PM Re: Crack the Conspiracy [Re: Bluto]
Marian Online   content
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 34541
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Many companies who made adventure games 10+ years ago have since gone out of business. As I remember, Cracking the Conspiracy was an indie game. One way to know if a company has gone out of business is to search online for some information about it.

People with older computers or who are good at getting older games working might still be able to play Cracking the Conspiracy, so the walkthrough could still be useful for many people.

Top
#1149717 - 04/30/18 02:27 PM Re: Cracking the Conspiracy [Re: Bluto]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39049
Loc: southeast USA
"Cracking the Conspiracy" includes QuickTime on the CD.
Look in the QT folder on the CD for the QuickTime installers.

However the game uses QuickTime 2.12 which won't work on current versions of Windows outside of a Virtual machine. You'll either need an old computer with Windows 95/98 (possibly XP would work, though I've never had luck running QuickTime 2 on XP), or you'd need to play the game in a Virtual machine with Windows 95 or 98 installed (which is harder than it used to be thanks to increased computer speeds, hardware virtualization defaults, virtualization software dropping support of Windows 95/98, and Microsoft disallowing installation of VirtualPC on Windows 8 and 10).

Originally Posted By: Bluto
Is there a way to tell if a game company goes out of Business.

That's actually irrelevant.
A big company won't support games for Windows 95/98 anyway.
Only a few independent developers, like MDNA games (Carol Reed) will support their older games (made for Windows 95 or 98 or even XP) on new versions of Windows.

So if a game is on disc and was published in the 1990's, you can safely assume you can't play that version on a new computer without using a virtual machine like Virtual PC or VMware Player -- or in some cases DOSBox or ScummVM (which work better when they work).

Quote:
and what games not to purchase for this reason.

Games that were made for Windows 95/98 and are on CD.
Unless you can get someone to configure a Virtual machine for you, you'll never get it working on a Windows 7/8/10 computer.

Cracking the Conspiracy was a good game -- much better designed than a lot of current releases. It's too bad you're giving up on it, but unless you have someone to help you get it running in a Virtual machine, it doesn't sound like that's something you're willing or able to do yourself.

Top
#1149758 - 04/30/18 10:00 PM Re: Crack the Conspiracy [Re: Bluto]
Bluto Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/11/06
Posts: 940
Loc: Mass
Hi Jenny

I have Scumm loaded on the Vista system I have.And I also have an old IBM note book dosbox loaded in
Do you think I could load the game into those systems.but then comes the quick time which is already
On the disk.I will try loading the game once again into Dos Box and into scumm and see if it loads
If it doesn't I will be open to suggestions you or any one of the game boomers have

Thank You
Bluto
P.S. the game said I didn't have enough Virtual memory available.

Top
#1149762 - 04/30/18 10:58 PM Re: Cracking the Conspiracy [Re: Bluto]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39049
Loc: southeast USA
Unless the game is on the ScummVM list of supported games, ScummVM won't recognize it.
http://scummvm.org/compatibility/2.0.0/

They are adding games to ScummVM list with each new version though, so it may be supported someday.

Cracking the Conspiracy is a Windows game, not a DOS game, so you can't just install it in DOSBox and expect it to work like a DOS game. Sometimes games made for Windows 3.1 will work in DOSBox if you install Windows 3.1 inside of DOSBox, but Cracking the Conspiracy was made for Windows 95/98/NT. That makes things a lot harder.

There are people who've managed to get Windows 95 games working in a branch of DOSBox called DOSBox Daum. I am not one of them. You might find a YouTube video about running Windows 95 games in DOSBox Daum (I haven't checked). I noticed GOG was using DOSBox Daum for one of the games I bought from them though. If you want to try DOSBox Daum, you'll need a copy of Windows 95 to install inside DOSBox Daum if you try this.

Originally Posted By: Bluto
P.S. the game said I didn't have enough Virtual memory available.

That's probably not the real reason. Maybe the game can't access virtual memory on modern Windows the way it could be accessed on Windows 95/98. But that's a guess -- it could be some completely different reason.

What version of Windows does the IBM notebook have?
If you could install Virtual PC on it, that would probably be easier than DOSBox Daum because we have a how-to for it.
http://www.gameboomers.com/Members/virtual_pc_2004_faq.htm

Top
#1149832 - 05/01/18 06:49 PM Re: Cracking the Conspiracy [Re: Jenny100]
Bluto Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/11/06
Posts: 940
Loc: Mass
Hi Jenny100

I finally got the game to run on an older IBM Think pad
And it's running pretty well, the only problem I ran into
Is It doesn't provide a way to exit after saving the game
any idea how I would exit from the game without shuting
Down the computer.

All help appreciated.

Bluto




Edited by Bluto (05/01/18 06:50 PM)

Top
#1149839 - 05/01/18 07:47 PM Re: Cracking the Conspiracy [Re: Bluto]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39049
Loc: southeast USA
Glad to hear you got it working.
Hope you enjoy it.

See if this answers your question
http://www.uhs-hints.com/uhsweb/hints/crackcon/10.php
Quote:
Installation and Interface

The CD-ROM contains a HELP folder with more information, including how to add a shortcut on your desktop for the game. Open the folder and click on the file HELP.HTML which will open in your system's browser.

The game runs completely off of the CD and doesn't need to be installed as such. Run the file CRACK.EXE on the CD to begin the game.

Type a letter to perform the needed action.
S = Save game
L = Load game
Q = Quit game

When you are able to talk to another character, a cursor will appear under the main screen in the dialog window. Type a question or answer and press ENTER on your keyboard. (Note: The Enter key on the number pad does not function. Use the Enter key on the main part of the keyboard.)

Top
#1149894 - 05/02/18 09:02 AM Re: Cracking the Conspiracy [Re: Jenny100]
Bluto Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/11/06
Posts: 940
Loc: Mass
Thank You Jenny100
I will do as you suggested

Bluto

Top

Moderator:  BrownEyedTigre, Marian 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (manxman, YeliOrog, Marian, 1 invisible), 161 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Lethal_Angel, AustriaGame24, 1madmouse, AdventurGameGeek, JamesPierce
9040 Registered Users