GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#132926 - 08/02/03 01:24 AM Re: Max Payne
Renee63 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1513
Loc: Ramona CA
Hi Nickie I tried to look at the WT for Max Payne at gamefaqs but it wouldn't take my birthday. I haven't a clue what I am doing wrong but have tried it enough times. Could you please e-mail the spot for the WT to me. Thanks Renee
_________________________
Renee A Worrell

Top
#132927 - 08/02/03 01:45 AM Re: Max Payne
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 9329
Loc: ex-new yorker
renee,

what does your birthday have to do with gamefaqs? you don't need to register to look at the walkthorughs there. you just can't link to one directly( a text file) only to the game page such as the max payne page which lists all the walkthroughs and faqs they have on the game.
_________________________
Zanthia

Top
#132928 - 08/02/03 02:58 AM Re: Max Payne
Renee63 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1513
Loc: Ramona CA
I hit the WT for Max Payne and up popped a deal where I had to fill it out and it wouldn't let me go anywhere else. All I hit was WT. Haven't a clue what is going on. It doesn't matter. I actually got through that part all by myself. I went into the left corner and was able to shoot them with my sniper rifle so didn't need godmode after all. I am not trying to shoot some laser beams in an elevator. So you see Derman, you would be proud of me after all. I think that M79 is a wasted weapon. I'll take the colt anytime.
_________________________
Renee A Worrell

Top
#132929 - 08/02/03 12:44 PM Re: Max Payne
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/16/03
Posts: 1254
Loc: England
bravo

Well done, well done Renee. thumbsup

Good thinking with the sniper rifle - I forgot about that - well it was over 2 years ago that I played the game - the grenade launcher is good for doing a lot of damage though, and I think there are a few bits coming up where you might just be glad of it. smile
_________________________
Derman

Top
#132930 - 08/02/03 12:53 PM Re: Max Payne
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Registered: 01/08/02
Posts: 13453
Loc: Texas
Hi Renee, glad you got through it! The easiest way to find it - although you said you don't need it now, is to go to www.gamefaqs.com and type in the name of the game you are searching for - then you come up with several different choices of walkthroughs or cheats. I don't know how you came up with something that wanted your birthdate. But anyway, you're past that now, and hopefully smooth sailing!
_________________________
"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Top
#132931 - 08/02/03 01:29 PM Re: Max Payne
Renee63 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1513
Loc: Ramona CA
Thank you all very much. I was very proud of myself. I had no idea what made me think of this but I ran over there in the corner and noticed that when they were shooting, they weren't hitting me. LOL I know what I did wrong Nicki. I hit PC first instead of typing in the name Max Payne. I did find some WT's finally and hopefully I won't be needing them now. Derman, if I get one shot off with the M79, by the time he loads up another round, I am dead. That is what I mean by not liking the weapon. One shot and it's ok but otherwise, forget it. More hard stuff to come??????? Great!!!!!!!!! eek eek eek
_________________________
Renee A Worrell

Top
#132933 - 08/03/03 12:34 AM Re: Max Payne
Renee63 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1513
Loc: Ramona CA
Derman......I need help on where to put the cheat code. I have only done a couple of these a long time ago and I am not sure where to type this in. I am coming out of the room to go to the other elevator and there are three guys waiting for me and I don't have a lot of bullet time ( which I don't think matters anyway ) and I have done it 50 times and keep getting killed. I have arthritis in my right hand so enough is enough. Anyway, be more specific where I am typing in the word developer. What am I looking for? Or where do I go after I go to Start/Run? Sorry to be do dumb about this but hate to mess it up. Thanks mad mad mad
_________________________
Renee A Worrell

Top
#132934 - 08/03/03 01:19 AM Re: Max Payne
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/16/03
Posts: 1254
Loc: England
laugh evil

hahaha - finally fallen to the dark side.

First go to Start/Find - type maxpayne.exe, and then make a note of where it is.

Start/Run/Browse, find the maxpayne.exe file - when you find it, double click, then you should see the entire path to that file in the RUN window, encased in quotes. Then type (space)-developer outside of the quotes and click ok - that will start the game in developer mode - then once you've loaded your game and are standing there, press F12, and type god.

I think that's all there is to it - if you need more help, just ask.
_________________________
Derman

Top
#132935 - 08/03/03 01:47 AM Re: Max Payne
Renee63 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/15/99
Posts: 1513
Loc: Ramona CA
I knew that is where we were suppose to go but nooooooooooooo my husband tried something else and I told him it didn't look familiar to me. LOL I tried, I really tried but just couldn't get past those guys. I got sick of my guts being spilled all over the place. I will let you know if I need anymore help. The Dark Side looks good to me. Thanks
_________________________
Renee A Worrell

Top
#132936 - 08/03/03 03:51 AM Re: Max Payne
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 9329
Loc: ex-new yorker
derman,it seems like you are making the cheat more complicated than it needs to be. just change the desktop icon is a lot simpler

renee, when i go to gamefaq i always choose system first such as pc and then choose first letter of game such as M for max payne. i never type in game name in search box

quite impresive for you playing without cheats this long since you say you have arthritis. i couldn't play more than one level before having to use cheats as it was too much for my hand and that is the "good" hand.
_________________________
Zanthia

Top
#132937 - 08/03/03 12:27 PM Re: Max Payne
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/16/03
Posts: 1254
Loc: England
Zanthia - you are right, however the way I remember it, that way didn't seem to work for me, plus if you change the desktop icon link, you're stuck with it starting in developer mode then, unless you create a second icon, which is almost as time consuming as going to start/run.

When you have located the maxpayne.exe file once and added -developer to the run line, it's there to return to any time you like, and your desktop file can still be used to run the game normally.
_________________________
Derman

Top
#132938 - 08/03/03 12:40 PM Re: Max Payne
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 9329
Loc: ex-new yorker
derman, it is a snap to have 2 desktop icons. just copy the current icon and paste. it will already be called a copy to differentiate. then if you want just rename it to max payne cheat or anything else you like. then if you want to use the cheats when starting up you can.
_________________________
Zanthia

Top
#132939 - 08/03/03 12:51 PM Re: Max Payne
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/16/03
Posts: 1254
Loc: England
I know this smile

But I already have 59 million desktop items - I don't want anymore than I need - another option would be to just use start/programs and find the maxpayne folder to start without cheats.

Your way was the way I tried to do it all those years ago, but it didn't work - so that's why I did it the start/run way - did it work for you?

Anyway, how complicated either way is, depends on the individual - I just mentioned the start/run way because I know that way works.
_________________________
Derman

Top
#132940 - 08/03/03 12:56 PM Re: Max Payne
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 11/01/99
Posts: 9329
Loc: ex-new yorker
yes it works for me, i do it all the time. i once tried your way and found my way to be much easier. also even if you don't want 2 desktop icons just because you have the line added to enable the cheats that doens't mean you have to use them unless you just can't resist temptation. i know there are a couple of games that does add stuff running across the top or bottom of the screen, those would be the rare occasion one might want separate icons to start the game.
_________________________
Zanthia

Top
#132941 - 08/03/03 02:44 PM Re: Max Payne
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/16/03
Posts: 1254
Loc: England
Well, there you go - I prefer my way because personally I find it easier than yours and not complicated at all - keeps everything seperate and as it should be.

Neither way is complicated really - the only thing about "my" way that might be difficult is finding where the actual file is located - then again, you could just right click the shortcut to find out where the file is, rather than having to go to "find" - I admit, I didn't think of doing that.

Each to their own.
_________________________
Derman

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (LadyLinda, OrleansBelle, Kootsie, Cathy1, kjos, Rushes, 1 invisible), 84 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
greacia, Jason_Encore, DeanandKate, RisinGoat, AppyLover
8504 Registered Users