GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews


GB @ acebook

About Us


free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure


GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#134757 - 11/29/03 01:16 PM URU

Hi All,
I was so happpy to buy URU and could not wait to install and play the game. I got the game installed but have not been able to play. I am able to get only about the first 30seconds and the game keeps shutting down.Can any one help.

#134758 - 11/29/03 01:41 PM Re: URU
crispeto Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/16/01
Posts: 519
Loc: Portland
What are your sys specs including video card?
What do you see Crispeto? I see URU Live!

#134759 - 11/29/03 01:45 PM Re: URU
Salar of Myst Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/06/02
Posts: 4216
Loc: Virginia's wetland dimension
Shorah smile

There's lots of things it could be, unfortunately. Do you have an nvidia or ATI radeon video card? If you have a radeon card, you should get the new Uru patch and try again.

Have you gotten Directx 9?
Upgraded your card drivers?
Have you tried reducing the graphics &/or sund settings or windowing it in the tabs at teh creation screen? That has helped some folks/.

If those ideas arent helpful there's a lively forum for Uru tech support on that should be able to make further suggestions.

Me, I am going to have to upgrade my video card. A tnt2 nvidia 32MB card lacks some critical function or other so my copy wont play properly. The avatar creation screen comes up but my character is only shifting about in silhouette & then Uru crashes to desktop when it tries to load. oh well. One of these days...

May your difficulties be resolved soon!

Susan laugh

#134760 - 11/29/03 02:26 PM Re: URU
tigger Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 04/02/01
Posts: 15679
Loc: England
Hopefully moving this to the Glitches forum.. maybe you will get more help there!!

Thanks for your input Salar smile

Tig wave
A bounce a day keeps the doctor away!!
Playing Sims2, Sherlock, Phantom of Venice
Reading Storm Breaking

#134761 - 11/29/03 03:35 PM Re: URU
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38685
Loc: southeast USA
Ubisoft lists these as the minimum system specs for running Uru


# Supported OS: Windows 98SE/2000/ME/XP (Only)
# Processor: 800 MHz Pentium III or AMD Athlon or better
# RAM: 256 MB RAM or more
# Video Card: 32 MB Nvidia Geforce 1,2,3,4, or FX - ATI Radeon 7000-9800 or better
# Sound Card: DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
# DirectX: DirectX 8.1 (Included on disc)
# CD-ROM: 4x or faster (NOT recommended for use with CD-RW's)

Does the computer meet or exceed these specs?
If running at near these minimum specs, you'll have to go in the game options and turn off all the extras, especially the 3D sound and video extras like antialiasing and filtering.
The game runs with some CDRW's and not with others. This is due to the copy "protection" that was inflicted on the game.

#134762 - 11/29/03 04:56 PM Re: URU
Sequoia Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/22/00
Posts: 477
Loc: Mi, USA
I had the same problem when I first started and it was just a matter of making sure all other programs were shut down and not even just sitting idle. That meant my earthlink bar (my internet connection) had to be closed and also the screen saver disabled. I seem to do ok with my virus scanner still in the background.


#134763 - 11/29/03 09:51 PM Re: URU
Rckasea Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/11/00
Posts: 2565
Loc: Colden,N.Y.
Would this game run better on the DVD-ROM, than on a CDRW drive?
" If you decide not to chose, You still have made a choice"....Getty Lee

#134764 - 11/29/03 10:19 PM Re: URU
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38685
Loc: southeast USA
You can try it. If the game doesn't have a complete install to the hard drive it might make a difference to have the game playing from a faster drive.

#134765 - 12/01/03 09:16 AM Re: URU
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 1306
Loc: Gillespie, Il. USA
Doglady, I had the same problem. Went to dxdiag.exe on my pc and found that my s3 pro savage DDr video card doesn't support the game for TG2 and URU; so I have to up grade. frown
"So Many Games;So Little Time."

Now Playing: Sims 1 Always!!
Next adventure Please!

#134766 - 12/02/03 09:34 AM Re: URU

Hi All,
Thank you all for the support to my dilemma. I did have to get a new video card. I am now able to play Uru. Thank you one and all.

#134767 - 12/02/03 12:21 PM Re: URU
maryc64 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 11/11/02
Posts: 821
Salar, do you believe DirectX 9 is better? So many of us have been holding back on this. How is it working? What improvements do you see? Thanks,

#134768 - 12/02/03 02:20 PM Re: URU
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38685
Loc: southeast USA
It won't be better if your video card doesn't "fully" support it.

Note that if you have the very latest drivers for your video card, they may be made to work best with the latest version of DirectX.


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
6 registered (aretha, misslilo, Taintedfury, NancyDrew_Fan36, petjo, Sassy), 133 Guests and 17 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Palmer, Sunward_Games, Steelerfan, MaryJane, paskdigia
8994 Registered Users