GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#134789 - 07/30/03 09:52 PM serrated scalpel
fildil Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 6278
Loc: Long Island, N.Y.
I have just reached the part of the game when Holmes throws the typewriter through the office door and my computer just shut down. Did this happen to anyone else? Is there a patch for this game? Unfortunately, I hadn't saved for a while and I hate to have to go back and do everything again if the game is going to shut down my computer again. Usually a game just throws you back to the desktop. I don't know why my computer just shut down and restarted.
_________________________
Fil

There is a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line. Oscar Levant

Top
#134790 - 07/30/03 11:40 PM Re: serrated scalpel
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
Fil, I couldn't find anything about a patch for this game either. I assume you've done the "shut down everything except Explorer and Systray" routine? Have you tried lowering your graphic accelerator?

I'm going to transfer this down to the Glitches forum, to see if the tech geniuses down there have any more suggestions...
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
#134791 - 07/31/03 12:09 AM Re: serrated scalpel
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
Sometimes DOS games reboot your computer if they run out of whatever type of memory they're using or are having some sort of difficulties with your hardware. Are you playing in DOS or Windows?

There is a patch called Sherlock.zip here .

Here's what it says in the readme:

Quote:
4/20/92

The Sherlock Holmes 1.02 update corrects the following problems:


o Screen flashing in the video player would occur with old VGA cards on slow PCs.

o Setting the sound card to a DMA channel other than 1 would cause Sherlock to lock up or mute the audio. You can now set the DMA to 0, 1, 2, or 3. Please refer to your sound card users manual for directions on changing the DMA channel.

o Setting the Sound Blaster Pro's interrupt to 2 or 10 would cause Sherlock not to recognize that a sound card was installed.


To use the updated version of Sherlock, copy the SHERLOCK.EXE file included in this package onto your hard drive or a floppy disk. Change to the
directory where the new SHERLOCK.EXE file is located and type "SHERLOCK". The program will automatically find the CD drive containing Sherlock Holmes.

If this update does not fix your problem, please contact ICOM Simulations Technical Support by phone at 708/520-4440 between 9AM-6PM CST, by fax at 708/459-7456, or send mail any of the following accounts:

Compuserve: 76702,1604
America On-Line: ICOM1
I don't know if this will help with your program or not.

Top
#134792 - 07/31/03 12:22 PM Re: serrated scalpel
fildil Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 6278
Loc: Long Island, N.Y.
Hi Jenny, Surprise, surprise, I'm playing this game in DOS. As a matter of fact, since I got this game to run, I thought I'd try Flight of the Amazon Queen. You know where that got me. Can you play most of the game before the memory runs out? I'm almost at the end and I don't want to start fooling around with configs or anything. Do you think that if I delete my saved games, it would run?
_________________________
Fil

There is a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line. Oscar Levant

Top
#134793 - 07/31/03 01:05 PM Re: serrated scalpel
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
No I don't think that would help. The saved games are on your hard drive. And if this game is like Sherlock Holmes Case of the Rose Tattoo, all the saved games are in a single file anyway.

Since you've played almost till the end, I don't think it's a memory problem. It might be that there is a sensitive part of the game.

Are you using the CD or the floppy version of the game? I haven't played the game, but I do have it. If you are able to identify your saved game (or the file that contains your saves), you could email it to me and I could try playing past the problem area.

Top
#134794 - 07/31/03 07:25 PM Re: serrated scalpel
fildil Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 6278
Loc: Long Island, N.Y.
Thanks again Jenny (you've been hearing that a lot lately from me huh?) but I couldn't begin to find the files with the saved games or if I did, I wouldn't be able to send it to you. My computer skills are next to nil and I don't know what possessed me to try my hand at DOS games. I'm playing the game from a CD called Top Ten Pak. It has ten games on it and I guess I was so thrilled that I actually got it to run that I got over confident and decided to try Amazon Queen. I'll stick to the newer games, you know the kind that you stick in the CD and it runs.
_________________________
Fil

There is a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line. Oscar Levant

Top
#134795 - 07/31/03 10:27 PM Re: serrated scalpel
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
You shouldn't give up hope. You don't think I knew what I was doing the first time I tried playing DOS games, do you? When I first got a computer, I avoided them too. But some of the best games are DOS games and I didn't want to miss out. So eventually I learned, bit by bit. And I got an ISA Soundblaster 16 sound card so it would be easier to get sound in DOS games.

Top
#134796 - 07/31/03 11:08 PM Re: serrated scalpel
Ditlihi Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/19/02
Posts: 580
Loc: Florida
I had this same problem at the same place when I tried to throw the typewriter thru the glass in the door.I did get a message that I did not have enough extended memory.Later when I learned how to adjust your files and play around with memory allotment in DOS and got a new computer I was able to play it thru to the end.However when I tried to play it about two years ago on my old Win 95 machine I got the same message at the same place in the game and the game lockedup

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (oldbroad, Sly One, CCbomber, Lex, Jenny100, BrownEyedTigre, traveler, colpet, escakacs, Rushes), 75 Guests and 30 Spiders online.
Newest Members
shaun9991, weakstorm, 123pazu, dawnmann, Colour
8419 Registered Users