GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#134972 - 12/21/03 11:03 PM Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
I got the game installed & after going thru that checking disc thing it freezes up. The top of my screen has a narrow strip that shows the logo for Revolution... then freezes up. I have HP 98 ME, I think I have all the Direct Xs I need since every time I install a game I think it installs Direct x again!! I did not receive an error message after the disc was checked. The manual says to "click information button. Where is that??

Top
#134973 - 12/22/03 12:35 AM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
Is this the original Broken Sword game or BS3?

Top
#134974 - 12/22/03 07:39 AM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
Sorry, BS 3. After I posted I looked thru the threads & saw there were lots of others with the same problem. I will try some of the suggestions found here. I emailed Adventure, chewed them out, told them I paid too much for this game to have any problems. It will probably turn out to be my computer!! HP Windows 98 ME. I am computer stupid so don't know what my video card is or where to go to find out? I think all the other requirements are met according to installation instruction in manual.

Many thanks to all of you for your help.

HAVE A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS.

I promise to not get upset or panicky if you're all too busy on Christmas Day to help!! But I'll be back Dec 26!

Top
#134975 - 12/22/03 01:53 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
Isn't HP the brand that has the drive letter on M: ?
That might be a problem too.
Of course it could also be the video card.
You should be able to figure out what your video card is by running DXDIAG.

Click the Start button, then Run. Type
dxdiag
in the box and OK it.
Information about your video card should be on the Display tab.

Top
#134976 - 12/22/03 06:31 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
HP does have the M drive letter but all my games go into the C drive. I got a reply from Adventure & said the same as above, but when I do the Start, etc & type in DXDIAG I get an error message, " This is the Unicode version of DxDiag which only runs on Windows NT. Please use the Unicode version on Windows 95 and Windows 98." I have no idea what all that means.

Top
#134977 - 12/22/03 10:51 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
It sounds like you may have the wrong version of DirectX installed. The version for Win 98/ME is different from the version for Win NT/2000/XP.

Top
#134978 - 12/23/03 07:02 AM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
What about all the times when I install a game it go on & on about DirectX & asks to install it or not. I always click yes. I'll try to find out what DirectX I have. I have never had a problem with a game involving DirectX that I know of. I've got Schizm, Alone in the Dark 4 installed with no problems. Finished Black Mirror, ROS, Have had TOS (gave up on that for a while), Undying, etc. installed with no problems. Haven't heard back yet from Adventure so will see what they say. According to requirements on box the game should be playable on Windows 98ME & XP? If it is the DirectX problem how do I correct it?

Top
#134979 - 12/23/03 07:35 AM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
I found that I have DirectX9. I usually have DirectX8 (I think).

Top
#134980 - 12/23/03 01:32 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
DirectX 9 for Windows 98/ME is different from DirectX 9 for Windows XP. If you have DirectX for Windows 98/ME installed, I don't know why DXDIAG gave you that error.

If there is something wrong with your DirectX, you won't be able to run BS3. You might try downloading DirectX 9b for Windows 98/ME from Microsoft and reinstalling it. Hopefully that will fix the problem with DXDIAG and you'll be able to see if your video card passes the tests on the Display tab in DXDIAG.

You may also need to find new drivers for your video card. At least make sure the drivers you're using are compliant with DirectX 9.

About the M: drive. I don't know about BS3, but there are other games that won't run if your CD drive has a high drive letter like M:

Top
#134981 - 12/23/03 11:08 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
DirectX9 got installed with another game, don't remember which one. Usually had just regular Direct x will check with Microsoft.

Top
#134982 - 12/26/03 08:11 AM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
Ok updated drivers to match Direct 9X ( from Microsoft), Have emailed Adventure Co again with all info about video cards, etc (that is, computer literate daughter did for me) & depending upon what THEY do for me, if game still won't play, it is GOING BACK to WalMart!!

Top
#134983 - 12/26/03 12:41 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
Good luck.
Let us know what happens.

Top
#134984 - 12/29/03 09:48 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
fanaticgamer Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/29/03
Posts: 21
Settled Boomer, I am having the same problems. Please let me know if u manage to resolve it.

Top
#134985 - 12/30/03 03:19 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Mome Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/25/03
Posts: 2232
Loc: Houston TX
I have not heard back from them yet, will email again with a SECOND REQUEST FOR HELP notice. I was really ugly to them the 1st email-told them they had no business putting a game on the market that was so expensive & so hard to install-they will probably make me wait awhile. My daughter, who is my computer go-to-for-help person is a master at returning things so I am going to have her return this game to WalMart pretty soon!!

Top
#134986 - 12/30/03 04:23 PM Re: Broken Sword installation
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35461
Loc: southeast USA
I think they are swamped with problems right now. It's Christmas vacation and a lot of people are trying to play the games they got for Christmas before they have to go back to work/school.

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
15 registered (Barry, auntiegram, Gordon, Draclvr, Kayc, CountZero, kjos, Cue, Butcher, curly, 1 invisible), 72 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Adam_B, Polikolp, efmouse, arlenewilson32, ponycakes
8539 Registered Users