GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#135260 - 12/16/03 07:21 PM BS3
Bert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/28/01
Posts: 555
Loc: U.S.
My Game seems to install fine, but when it checks the disc for copy protection the progress bar goes about halfway, the screen flashes grey and goes to desktop. Have emailed tech-support, but thought I would post here to see if anyone has had the same problem....and if so, how did you fix it? Thanx...

Top
#135261 - 12/16/03 07:36 PM Re: BS3
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26890
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Bert -- this sounds very similar to a problem I've been having. There's a FAQ thread on the Revolution tech support forum that you can check out here . Most of these tweaks are easy to do, though I have hesitated at the idea of using old video card drivers -- this strikes me as having to go to far just to get a game to play.

Top
#135262 - 12/16/03 07:40 PM Re: BS3
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26890
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
There's also another thread in this forum where people are having a similar problem .

I'm hoping that Revolution figures out what's going on soon and issues a patch. It is really frustrating not to be able to play this game!

Top
#135263 - 12/16/03 08:21 PM Re: BS3
Bert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/28/01
Posts: 555
Loc: U.S.
Thanx for the links Becky, There where a couple solutions I had'nt tried, But no such luck they did'nt work either. I'll just have to wait for tech-support to reply. If they come up with something that works, I'll post on this thread.
Thanx again.....

Top
#135264 - 12/17/03 12:33 AM Re: BS3
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34861
Loc: southeast USA
If the progress bar on the copy "protection" isn't getting all the way across, it sounds more like a copy "protection" problem incompatibility than anything else.

Now if the progress bar got all the way across and THEN you got a black screen or some other problem, then I'd suspect it could be due to another cause.

Top
#135265 - 12/17/03 11:32 AM Re: BS3
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26890
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Jenny100 -- someone on the Revolution tech support board with this same problem has just discovered that in the registry entry for BS3, the refresh rate is set to 0. (Wasn't there another game recently with this problem? Journey to the Center of the Earth maybe?)

Anyway, he has posted steps to edit the registry to set the refresh rate at 60. I've never edited the registry before. Do you think I should try this, or wait for the patch?

Top
#135266 - 12/17/03 02:18 PM Re: BS3
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34861
Loc: southeast USA
Yes it was Journey to the Center of the Earth that had the refresh rate wrong. But with Journey, the game started and played fine other than the videos. And it wasn't that you'd get a black screen or anything on the videos. They'd play, but they'd be all jerky and spastic. The problem wasn't with the copy "protection" preventing the game from starting (I don't know what type of copy "protection" Journey uses).

Are you talking about this thread , Becky?

That guy had a slightly different symptom from Bert's problem. Dagor said the game froze with a blank window on his desktop, not that "when it checks the disc for copy protection the progress bar goes about halfway, the screen flashes grey and goes to desktop."

If you're having a problem similar to Dagor's, it might be a good idea to check your registry. But if the game isn't even getting past the copy "protection," you'd need a crack.

Top
#135267 - 12/17/03 03:06 PM Re: BS3
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26890
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Jenny100 -- I should read more carefully! Yes, as far as I can tell, the game on my computer DOES get past copy protection.

What is your opinion of a rank amateur editing the registry? I've never done it before and it scares me to death.

Top
#135268 - 12/17/03 05:08 PM Re: BS3
Bert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/28/01
Posts: 555
Loc: U.S.
Well I heard back from adventure companies tech-support, And they said I need to update my video and possibly my audio card. I thought I had a 64meg video card, but I dragged out the paperwork on my puter and its 32megs. I guess I'll just save the game for another month or year....bummer...

Top
#135269 - 12/18/03 12:10 AM Re: BS3
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34861
Loc: southeast USA
Becky, you can back up your registry first if you're going to make changes.

You may also just want to look and see what's there.
If you can't figure out what needs changing, it would be best to just leave it.

Top
#135270 - 12/18/03 07:31 AM Re: BS3
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26890
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Jenny100 -- is regedit the only way to look at the registry? Or is there a way to look at it that doesn't give you the option of also editing (so you can't accidentally change anything)?.

Top
#135271 - 12/18/03 09:57 AM Re: BS3
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34861
Loc: southeast USA
There may be some utilities that allow you to look at it, but I don't know of them.

Regedit is not so bad. Just don't change or delete anything.

Top
#135272 - 12/20/03 07:10 PM Re: BS3
Bert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/28/01
Posts: 555
Loc: U.S.
Just an update...., I ended up updating my video driver through windows update, and the game works!!! now...shame on tech support for trying to get me to buy a new video card..They must have stock in the companies that produce them...

Top
#135273 - 12/20/03 11:08 PM Re: BS3
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34861
Loc: southeast USA
It will be interesting to see if you're able to play the game all the way through with a 32 MB video card. I can't blame Dreamcatcher for suggesting you get a 64 MB card when Revolution, the company that created the game, said it needed a 64 MB card.

Good luck.

Top
#135274 - 12/21/03 08:44 AM Re: BS3
Bert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/28/01
Posts: 555
Loc: U.S.
Gee, Thanx for that optomistic spirit there jenny.... Hope you have a merry christmas....

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
6 registered (scampy, chrissie, mayday_, traveler, Volkana, niteowl07), 65 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
shaun9991, weakstorm, 123pazu, dawnmann, Colour
8419 Registered Users