GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#135374 - 07/20/03 10:25 PM Discworld Noir
looney Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 3004
Loc: USA
I have read all the old threads on this, and done alot of research on "how to" but I was just wondering...has anyone figured out how to get this to run on XP yet? I have jumped thru hoops and yet no getting past the error from the appearant security thing on the first disc! <img border="0" alt="cry" title="" src="graemlins/cry.gif" /> I did see that someone got in by using a saved game sent to them, but how would that work if you can't get in , in the first place? Any help would be loved!!! smile
_________________________
Banana phone!

Top
#135375 - 07/21/03 01:46 AM Re: Discworld Noir
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
You mean DN won't work on XP??? Oh-oh. I'll check it out first thing when I get home.

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top
#135376 - 07/21/03 02:12 AM Re: Discworld Noir
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Well, I found a couple of references to this game on the net. So far, it looks like that SafeDisc (the copy protection) doesn't work on Win XP and that's what causing the problems.

That can easily be fixed by a patched (dare I say 'cracked') exe file . All you need to do is install the game and then overwrite the original exe file with this new one.

Some fixes involved copying the whole CD1 with the patched exe and burning it to a CD-R, but I don't really see why that's necessary.

I also found some reports of the game's menu options not working correctly and crashing the system. Apparently, once inside the game, the only "safe" way to access the menu options is via their shortcut keys.

Let me know if this works.

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top
#135377 - 07/21/03 02:45 PM Re: Discworld Noir
looney Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 3004
Loc: USA
Thanks Zoly! I'm gonna try this out tonight, I'll let ya know if it works! wave
_________________________
Banana phone!

Top
#135378 - 07/21/03 06:41 PM Re: Discworld Noir
looney Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 3004
Loc: USA
Yippee! Zoly, you are a genius! laugh It worked! thumbsup Thanks big bunches!!!!! wave
_________________________
Banana phone!

Top
#135379 - 07/22/03 01:45 AM Re: Discworld Noir
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Happy to help. smile (Especially since it's one of my all-time faves and I have XP myself.)

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
12 registered (Draclvr, colpet, rmt, GuybrushThreepwood, kjos, seagul, Ewil02, Space Quest Fan, Chief, Donald), 79 Guests and 18 Spiders online.
Newest Members
dorf, Wendy, SamCarterX, Challyn20, Poppysmom
8424 Registered Users