GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#135459 - 04/21/04 08:47 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by blondie_bc:
Mr. Lipid -- any suggestions for Sleeping Dragon on Win98 SE?
Sorry. Never played Sleeping Dragon and probably won't. frown

Forever Worlds has pretty much sated my appetite for debugging for the moment. wink

Top
#135460 - 04/21/04 10:01 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Llewton:
There's also some sort of set up with gears which seem to be controlled by a series of keys below it. Now here's my problem with no clues as to how to set that up I haven't a clue what to do. I also don't know if I hit a glitch but when I right click the menu doesn't come up so I can't save a game and exit out. Had to reboot out. Not too far in so I can right back there but will I be stuck again if it's not a glitch or is HELP!!!!
The save screen doesn't come up in some areas where you're in a puzzle or have the inventory open or something. I can't tell if you had a crash or not. I think the game doesn't let you back away from that gear screen once you've seen the face. I didn't try to save there.

Do you see a triangle if you hover the cursor over the screen with the gears? You need to click on that to access the puzzle. Then you should be able to click the 6 buttons under the screen to do the puzzle.

Top
#135461 - 04/21/04 10:05 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Quote:
Originally posted by blondie_bc:

MSIK7N2 mainboard Radeon 128 nb video card, 9800 series
Is that an onboard card?
If yes, that might be your problem.

Top
#135462 - 04/22/04 12:33 AM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
blondie_bc Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/05/00
Posts: 2596
Loc: Western Canada
Jenny -- the spec from dxdiag say:
Amd Athlong XP 2100
256 mb SD ram
1.7 g processor
Nvida (r)nForce Audio (default) tho I have a Sound Blaster 16 card installed too.
MSlk7N2 Main board 128mb Video card Radeon 9200 Series. Does that answer the question? think
Also my OS is Win98SE
That's as far as my puter guru status goes.
**** Went back for another look -- it says "internal" by the Radeon 9200 so I assume that mean "on board'?
_________________________
Don't count your days, Make your days count

Top
#135463 - 04/22/04 01:42 AM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Can you tell where your monitor is plugged into the video card in the back of the computer? Is it toward the top of the computer or lower down toward the bottom. If it's toward the top, it's probably an onboard card.

Top
#135464 - 04/22/04 09:20 AM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
blondie_bc Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/05/00
Posts: 2596
Loc: Western Canada
It's near the bottom Jenny
_________________________
Don't count your days, Make your days count

Top
#135465 - 04/22/04 10:21 AM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Then it's probably a separate card, which is good.

What do you mean by "it just won't load anything?"
Do you mean the icon to start the game is just dead - no response when you click it?
Do you see the StarForce logo?
Do you get as far as the TAC intro screens?
Did the game really install? Do you see it listed in the Program menu? (it might be in a "The Adventure Company" folder)
Have you tried running DXDIAG and checking the Display tab to see if your video card passes all the tests?

Next to Forever Worlds, BS3 is the Windows game I had the most trouble getting to start. I had to change my desktop resolution to 60 Hz. I changed it for 3 different resolutions (640x480, 800x600, 1024x768) because I wasn't sure which one the game was trying to start in. It also seemed to start more reliably for me if my desktop was set to 1024x768, though some people have reported that starting in 800x600 worked best for them. And reducing audio acceleration all the way is something else they tell you to do. I also had to clean my registry and make sure there was no key left over from a disc imaging program (I'd had Disc Dump installed at one time, and the uninstall left a key behind that caused StarForce to freeze the computer every time I tried to run the game). Even after clearing out the registry and setting the desktop to accommodate the game, it would only work from one of my CD drives because of StarForce.

If you're getting as far as the TAC logos, it's unlikely that StarForce is the problem. If you're not getting that far, it might be.

Top
#135466 - 04/22/04 06:10 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
chrisdist Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/22/01
Posts: 1079
Loc: NY, NY
Mr. Lipid, just one more question?
Do I restart after each re-install, wait till the end, or does it matter? Chris

Top
#135467 - 04/22/04 06:42 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by chrisdist:
Mr. Lipid, just one more question?
Do I restart after each re-install, wait till the end, or does it matter? Chris
You do not have to restart after each re-install.

You can install (or re-install) DirectX 9.0b, then Windows Media Player Series 9, the correct video driver and the DivX Codec one after another.

And, if I remember correctly, you can fire up WMP9, run a video, close down WMP9 and start up Forever Worlds.

It's worked for me since I did it. smile

Top
#135468 - 04/22/04 06:58 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
blondie_bc Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/05/00
Posts: 2596
Loc: Western Canada
The installation shows the setup bar scooting to install then flashes and goes back to plain desk top. There is NO installation on my system.
I do have "goback' by Norton loaded. Very useful tool. I'd hate to take a chance and take it out as I've had to use it a few times. I'll try just closing it and see what happens.
Thanks Jenny - I've tried the other things mentioned for the resolution etc but it didn't do any good. Very annoying when you pay so much games then can't play! mad
_________________________
Don't count your days, Make your days count

Top
#135469 - 04/22/04 07:12 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
If you can't even install it, you may have a defective CD.

Top
#135470 - 05/10/04 04:40 PM Re: Forever Worlds 98SE / ME: The Solution
norm Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/21/02
Posts: 316
Loc: USA
have you tried going into your display and changing your setting true medium 16 bit I had the same trouble a black screen by display was set at 23 high but when I change the game played

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (Robert Gault, kingpin, traveler, kjos, Pandora, jimrh69, michele rose), 83 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
GreenBoat, Spidermna133, kamoj, RebKean, gerald
8493 Registered Users