GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#135539 - 01/27/04 04:57 PM Road to India
dogpenny Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/26/01
Posts: 2380
Loc: Santa Maria CA USA
I have picked up the flute and looked at the tiles in front of the door. Gone down stairs there is no monkey chattering or no visible monkey where the monkey is supposed to be. I posted on the adventure post and one of the respondents said they played it in XP with no problem. I have uninstalled and reinstalled twice all running programs have been turned off. Can anyone tell me why the monkey does not appear. This is a new game it was sealed with a cellophane wrapper. Any help given is appreciated. I tried the Microid Site but it is being redone and I cannot contact them. blush evil
_________________________
Dutch

May happiness come on secret winds and surround you forever in the ways of beauty. An American Indian Blessing.

Top
#135540 - 01/28/04 01:41 AM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
There's probably some dinky little thing you forgot to do and the game won't let you continue until you do it. It's been too long since I played this game for me to remember any details. I suggest you follow a walkthrough and do EVerything it tells you up to the point where you're at. Then see if the monkey appears.

Top
#135541 - 01/28/04 01:48 AM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
I do have some saves from this game, but I don't remember where they're from. My Road To India game is the one that came in the original Microids DVD case, not the box. I don't know if the saved games are different.

Top
#135542 - 01/28/04 12:24 PM Re: Road to India
dogpenny Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/26/01
Posts: 2380
Loc: Santa Maria CA USA
Thanks Jenny but MSN wont let me open attachments and it is one problem I have with this server. I am in the beginning of the game Jenny there isn't much I can have missed. I heard the monkey chatter the first time I played it but there was no monkey even though he chattered. I will keep trying. Thanks for your help.
_________________________
Dutch

May happiness come on secret winds and surround you forever in the ways of beauty. An American Indian Blessing.

Top
#135543 - 01/28/04 03:28 PM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
You aren't supposed to open the saved game. You're supposed to copy it to the folder where Road to India keeps your saved games.

Maybe you don't need to see the monkey yet. Like I said, I don't remember this game very well.

Top
#135544 - 01/28/04 04:04 PM Re: Road to India
kwbridge Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/16/01
Posts: 904
Loc: Philly
I think you can do a couple of other things first ... or I think I had trouble with this monkey too - it may have been right at my feet and I had to look down to see it. I think it was an issue of being at exactly the right spot and then looking down ...
_________________________
(Anti) Social Development

Top
#135545 - 01/28/04 08:42 PM Re: Road to India
J.Wright Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 05/07/03
Posts: 47
Loc: Fieldale,Va
dogpenny , I have this game loaded .The first time I saw the monkey I had to go all the way to the tree and back before I saw it.Also another hint ,have you been by the way of the big elephant yet.The surrounding area will prove helpful.You will hear the monkey chirping when you are to see him,just look down.

Top
#135546 - 01/29/04 03:56 PM Re: Road to India
dogpenny Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/26/01
Posts: 2380
Loc: Santa Maria CA USA
I found the monkey I was looking in the wrong place. Now I have another problem think it is a glitch. I have found Anusha and am locked in the cellar closet. The cursor is frozen the only way to unfreeze it is make the inventory visible I still cannot find the match. I have gone over the whole screen slowly and carefully the only thing I can think is it is under the space where the inventory is and I cannot get to it. This has been very frustrating. I bought it from someone in the trading section there was no prior use however as it was still in original cellophane wrap when I got it.
_________________________
Dutch

May happiness come on secret winds and surround you forever in the ways of beauty. An American Indian Blessing.

Top
#135547 - 01/29/04 04:10 PM Re: Road to India
dogpenny Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/26/01
Posts: 2380
Loc: Santa Maria CA USA
I found Microids on the web and sent them the information. Hopefully they can help me get out of the closet. Thanks everyone for your help.Will let you know what they say about this.
_________________________
Dutch

May happiness come on secret winds and surround you forever in the ways of beauty. An American Indian Blessing.

Top
#135548 - 01/29/04 06:05 PM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
If you're in the closet with the light out, you may have to turn the screen up to maximum brightness to see anything. If everything looks black, there's no way to tell if the cursor is frozen. You may see the cursor change when you put it over the interactive place though.

Maybe someone in the Hints section has better ideas about how to go about it.

Top
#135549 - 01/30/04 06:04 PM Re: Road to India
dogpenny Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/26/01
Posts: 2380
Loc: Santa Maria CA USA
I have turned it up to maximum brightness and it is still REALLY dark in there. I don't have a cursor at all. The only thing is see is a small orange ball in the center of the screen that does not move the only way I can move it is to make the inventory visible but I think the matches and match box are under where the inventory is sitting.
_________________________
Dutch

May happiness come on secret winds and surround you forever in the ways of beauty. An American Indian Blessing.

Top
#135550 - 01/30/04 07:59 PM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
It's supposed to be dark.

The "orange ball" will stay in the center of the screen because the game uses a central cursor. It isn't edge-panning. The cursor always stays in the center of the screen. Ordinarily you see the screen change as you pan around. But since every direction is dark and black in the closet, it may appear that the screen is frozen. When the game first came out, a lot of people thought their screens were frozen.

I checked Witchen's walkthrough at
http://www.gameboomers.com/wtcheats/pcRr/road_to_india.html

and she says

Quote:

After a cutscene in which Fred is seen beating on the door of his temporary cell; a dark, hot, little room. You need to find some light. Move your cursor around until you get a hand cursor. Click on it. Then click on your inventory to see that you have added a SINGLE MATCH and a BOX OF MATCHES to the resident rat and the screwdriver in your inventory. Light the match by striking it on the match box. Exit your inventory quickly and find a PIECE OF CLOTH on a shelf. Light another match, exit your inventory and find a small BOTTLE OF GAS. In inventory, combine the cloth with the small bottle of gas. Light the cloth with a match. Now you have a small gas lantern. Handy!
It's tricky to pan around a screen when you can't see where you're aimed. You have to be very methodical and patient. But I don't think you have a tech problem.

Top
#135551 - 01/31/04 09:47 PM Re: Road to India
MDAMLADY Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 1306
Loc: Gillespie, Il. USA
Well, Jenny I have a tech problem!
The graphics are jumbled. Looks like an ugly jig saw puzzle. Looked for patches on this game, but haven't found any. Ran the compatability Wizard on my XP; nothing helped. Now what?
_________________________
"So Many Games;So Little Time."

Now Playing: Sims 1 Always!!
Next adventure Please!

Top
#135552 - 01/31/04 10:09 PM Re: Road to India
MDAMLADY Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 1306
Loc: Gillespie, Il. USA
Went to Microids and sent a message. Hope they return soon so a can play this game.
_________________________
"So Many Games;So Little Time."

Now Playing: Sims 1 Always!!
Next adventure Please!

Top
#135553 - 02/01/04 11:08 AM Re: Road to India
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
Are you also playing Road to India?
If you have a fast video card you might try backing off of video acceleration a notch. Sometimes that helps with graphics corruption in games. Maybe Microids will have a better suggestion. It may be a matter of changing your video card drivers.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (Gimme, shroeder, CCbomber, BrownEyedTigre), 54 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
keonie, cattitude, Jerrnej, greacia, Jason_Encore
8507 Registered Users