GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#135858 - 07/03/04 03:14 PM Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
Linda H Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/03
Posts: 1244
Loc: Wash. Mi
I recently tried to install the game Puzzle of Flesh on my Windows ME, but nothing happened. It didn't install. Could anyone tell me what I am doing wrong and if this game can be installed on ME?

Thanks,

Linda
_________________________
Linda L. Hacke

Top
#135859 - 07/03/04 03:44 PM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
What did you do to try to install it?

From what I've read, there is both a Win95/DOS version and a Windows 95 only version of Phantasmagoria 2. The Windows 95 version would only have one install option, but the Win95/DOS version would have both a Windows installer and a DOS installer. If your game has a setup.exe as well as an install.bat, try the setup.exe first. The install.bat would be the DOS version and might not work if you didn't have a sound card that was acceptable to the game.

Most games written for Win 95 will work on Win ME, but I don't know if there's a problem with this one.

Top
#135860 - 07/03/04 06:23 PM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
Linda H Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/03
Posts: 1244
Loc: Wash. Mi
Thanks Jenny 100! Will try to install using the Setup.exe. It does have two install methods, but the MS DOS didn't work for me.

Again thanks for your help and hope that it will work.

Happy July 4th!

Linda
_________________________
Linda L. Hacke

Top
#135861 - 07/06/04 08:58 AM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7185
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Hi Linda
I have win ME and installed the game using the setup.exe method. When asked to test the system, just say no. I have no problems running Phant 1 and 2 on ME. The Beast Within works great too.
Let us know if you have any more problems.
PS: They should be run in 640x480 resolution.
Hope this helps.
Cathy
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#135862 - 07/06/04 12:15 PM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
tigger Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 04/02/01
Posts: 15679
Loc: England
I would love to know what they changed between ME and XP to make both games so buggy on XP!!
_________________________
A bounce a day keeps the doctor away!!
Playing Sims2, Sherlock, Phantom of Venice
Reading Storm Breaking

Top
#135863 - 07/06/04 01:38 PM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
XP is a completely different operating system.

Windows ME is based on DOS. You may not see it, but there is a very stripped-down version of MS-DOS (sometimes referred to as DOS 8) that sits under Windows ME. And Windows ME does have a DOS-mode, though MS made it so you can't access it directly - unless you use some unofficial procedure like this one
http://www.geocities.com/mfd4life_2000/

Windows XP is NT-based - a completely different operation system from the ground up.

The only DOS you'll find on Win XP is emulated DOS. And the only way you'll run DOS-based game on XP is with an emulator of some sort - either the one that comes built-in with Win XP or with something like DOSBox.

Top
#135864 - 07/06/04 08:11 PM Re: Phantamagoria-Puzzle of Flesh
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Very true.......... And sometimes the NTVDM

"NT Virtual DOS MAchine" loses important files or changes them when you apply certain MIcrosoft Updates ... which is why if you don't keep on top of them (find the changed or missing files ) and replace them, certain games won't run.

Also XP defaults you "files=" to 40.

You see this in the C\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG.NT
file at the bottom: files=40

If you change this to have more files open at one time such as files=100 games that wouldn't run before will be able to run. (some game that is)

EX: 7th Guest
11th Hour
The Quivering.

But there are other things you have to do.

DOSBOX scummVM and other emulators are a way to go as well, but they aren't very user friendly just yet. I imagine though that someday they will be though.

Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (cailyn, kjos, RebKean, Sassy), 68 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
GreenBoat, Spidermna133, kamoj, RebKean, gerald
8493 Registered Users