GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#136065 - 08/28/04 03:18 PM Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
I have been having a problem with the game 'Alida' crashing back to the desktop with a Windows error message popping up.

I did a full install so the game is not using a CD drive.

The problem seems to be random.

Following is my system information:

ASUS A7V333 Motherboard
OS = Win Xp Pro
Processor = AMD Athlon XP 1.6 ghz
HD = 40 gig
RAM = 512 mb
Graphics = NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600 Ultra
Sound = Creative Audigy Audio Processor

Here's the error information:

APP NAME: ALIDA.EXE APPVER: 2.4.2.1 MODNAME: NTDLL.DLL
MODVER: 5.1.2600.1217 OFFSET: 000080C9


Has anyone else experienced a problem with Alida and does anyone have any ideas what the problem might be?

Thanks,

Robert

Top
#136066 - 08/28/04 04:28 PM Re: Alida crashes
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35623
Loc: southeast USA
You might want to try changing your QuickTime video settings to QuickTime Safe Mode (GDI only). There should be a QuickTime icon in your Windows Control Panel. Double-click the icon and choose video settings from the drop down menu box. You should be able to see the option for QuickTime Safe Mode there.

Top
#136067 - 08/28/04 05:32 PM Re: Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
I changed the QuickTime setting as suggested but still have the same problem.

I tried changing the transition speed and water motion with no affect.

I get the error in the same place now - in the Conservatory when either changing the knob position or moving the white marble on the guitar model.

Once in a while the error occurs in MODNAME: QUICKTIME.QTS as well as NTDLL.DLL.

Robert

Top
#136068 - 08/29/04 12:37 AM Re: Alida crashes
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35623
Loc: southeast USA
I don't know what it would be unless there's a problem with a defective file. The person who made the game might have a better idea - or maybe he'd at least know which file it would be. Try the email on this page
http://www.alidagame.com/support.html

Don't forget to change the * to an @ in his email address. He seems to have set it up that way to cut down on spam.

Top
#136069 - 08/29/04 09:30 AM Re: Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
I forgot to mention in my first note that I had sent a note to the Alida game support people and this morning I received a reply with some questions for me to answer. They seem to feel it could be a conflict between QuickTime and either my sound or graphics card.

I'll post back with any results in case someone else has a similar problem.

Robert

Top
#136070 - 08/29/04 09:51 AM Re: Alida crashes
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26894
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
rmelone -- did you install the version of Quicktime that came with the game?

Top
#136071 - 08/29/04 01:32 PM Re: Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
I didn't install the QuickTime that came with the game beause I already had the same version installed.

Robert

Top
#136072 - 08/29/04 03:56 PM Re: Alida crashes
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35623
Loc: southeast USA
Try changing the QuickTime settings for Sound Out from Direct Sound to Wav Out.

Top
#136073 - 08/31/04 03:05 PM Re: Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
Changing the QuickTime Sound Out didn't make any difference.

In my e-mail to Alida support I mentioned where the problem was -

when I'm in the Conservatory and turn the knob or triangle device to move the white marble on the 'guitar' model.

I then wrote that I was able to advance beyond this point by using a different PC and copying the saved games back to my original PC and, as of now, I'm still able to play the game.

They wrote back:

I'm investigating this one as I've had other reports. It seems it may be occurring only in that one area so I hope you can continue to enjoy Alida.
Cos


Robert

Top
#136074 - 08/31/04 03:42 PM Re: Alida crashes
tigger Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 04/02/01
Posts: 15679
Loc: England
It crashed on me today too.. had only been playing for a little while and I was in one of the huts fiddling with a thingy with 3 buttons on. I think I pressed the buttons too quickly and it got itself in a knot.... Will go back and play some more tonight and see if it happens again!! Oh and I will remember to alter the sound settings, I hadn't done that smile
_________________________
A bounce a day keeps the doctor away!!
Playing Sims2, Sherlock, Phantom of Venice
Reading Storm Breaking

Top
#136075 - 09/03/04 02:21 AM Re: Alida crashes
Rice burner Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/20/03
Posts: 3742
Loc: Oregon
For those of you playing Alida on XP, there is a patch posted on the website . I was having the same problems with crashing and sent information to Cos. He has fixed the problem. What a guy!!! thumbsup Thanks Cos.
Kay
_________________________
Its one of those doors that needs a thingy thing.

Top
#136076 - 09/03/04 12:36 PM Re: Alida crashes
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35623
Loc: southeast USA
Thanks for letting us know about the patch, Rice Burner.

For those looking for the patch, you go to the Alida wesite (Rice burner has the link for it), choose
Support from the top of the page, then choose the underlined Windows link. There is a list of possible problems on that page, with their solutions. One is a link to the patch.

Top
#136077 - 09/03/04 03:13 PM Re: Alida crashes
rmelone Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 832
Loc: Anaheim, CA USA
For those who want to link directly, here it is:

http://www.alidagame.com/alidaPatch.html

Robert

Top
#136078 - 09/04/04 03:58 PM Re: Alida crashes
Melanie1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/11/04
Posts: 5041
Loc: Bay Area, CA
I applied the patch and am still crashing, so it didn't do the trick for me. frown I'm going to go check out the support page now.

I just crashed again on the bird puzzle in the cabin.

Melanie
_________________________
"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." Mahatma Gandhi

Top
#136079 - 09/04/04 04:03 PM Re: Alida crashes
Melanie1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/11/04
Posts: 5041
Loc: Bay Area, CA
There wasn't any info there that applied, so I guess I'll send Cos the error message next time it happens.

Melanie
_________________________
"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." Mahatma Gandhi

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (Pandora, Marian, BrownEyedTigre, J. King), 72 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Elentgirl, tiathyme, Mr_Underhill, Lani, Rachissa
8581 Registered Users