GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#136080 - 09/04/04 10:20 PM Ripper sound problem?
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
I finally got Ripper installed on my Win95 and running but it seems my sound card isn't compatible with it. think

Top
#136081 - 09/05/04 12:00 AM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35214
Loc: southeast USA
VDMSound is for Windows 2000 and XP (and I think NT).
It won't work with Windows 95, 98, or ME.

What is the trouble you're having with your sound card?
Do you know what kind of sound card it is?

Top
#136082 - 09/05/04 09:44 AM Re: Ripper sound problem?
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
Jenny, When I do the setup for the sound, none of the options I choose work. The only one it will let me choose and work is no sound. How do I get the specifics of the sound card? duh

thanks


*Edit* If I click "detect", it will send me back to desktop. Clicking on other settings, I'll get this "the DMA has stopped usually due to an incorrect IRQ setting or incorrect sound card driver".

Top
#136083 - 09/05/04 02:58 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35214
Loc: southeast USA
The automatic "detect" may not work in Windows. It may only work in DOS. I'm not sure about that though.

If you have an autoexec.bat in your C: folder, it should have settings in the BLASTER= line. With some sound cards, you can also find the settings listed in Device Manager.

Do you know what your sound card is?

Top
#136084 - 09/05/04 03:12 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
When I looked in the device manager, there was Maestro (sp) listed. In the Ripper setup, maestro isn't 1 of the ones listed. <img border="0" alt="cry" title="" src="graemlins/cry.gif" />

Top
#136085 - 09/05/04 05:15 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35214
Loc: southeast USA
DOS games were made to be used with ISA sound cards. Most PCI sound cards are made to emulate either a Creative SB Pro ISA card or a Creative SB16 ISA card. But the emulation may be imperfect and not work with all games. Ripper is really a DOS game that is supposed to play in Win 95, but really needs a sound card that is set up for DOS sound.

I tried to look up Maestro sound card on Google and there seems to be two different brands - the Terratec Maestro and the Esswood Maestro. Terratec doesn't seem to be a US brand so I'm assuming you have the Esswood type.

If you have the Esswood type and go here
http://www.esstech.com/techsupp/faq-identify.shtm
it should tell you what to look for in Device Manager to find the exact model you have. But it appears to me from the driver page
http://www.esstech.com/techsupp/drivers.shtm
that the Maestro is a PCI card. It has no DOS drivers and whatever sound you get in a DOS game has to be done by using Windows drivers to emulate a Soundblaster.

For what it's worth, I used to have a PCI Esswood sound card and I couldn't do a thing with it. It just wouldn't work with any DOS game I tried with it. Maybe someone else knows better than I do how to configure the thing. My solution was to get an ISA Creative SB16 card and replace the Esswood card. You can get them cheap on ebay. They are easy to set up if you have the driver CD. If you decide to get one, just be sure to get the ISA SB16 and not the PCI SB16 because they are very different cards.
The Creative AWE 32 and AWE 64 Gold are also good cards for DOS games, but the ISA SB16 is the most compatible of all. The SB Pro is an older model than the SB16 and I don't know if it will work with later DOS games that use high DMA (16-bit DMA)

Sorry if this is long and sorry I don't know what to do to make your card work. As I said, someone else may know better how to get that card to work for you.

Top
#136086 - 09/05/04 05:49 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
Thanks Jenny I'll look into all of this. wave

Top
#136087 - 09/06/04 01:19 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
Jenny, In the manual it says something about subtitles in the options menu. I've looked but I don't see anything there. Would you happen to know if there actually is a subtitle feature in the game? thanks

Top
#136088 - 09/06/04 05:48 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35214
Loc: southeast USA
I'm pretty sure there wasn't one. I may be misremembering, but I think this was a case where the manual listed a feature that did not get implemented in the actual game. Do you have either of the patches for the game? The 1.03 patch seems to work better than the 1.05 patch for some people, but I used the 1.05 patch.

Top
#136089 - 09/06/04 08:57 PM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
Actually Jenny a fix with VDMSound has been created to have it run with Windows 98 and 98 SE. Check out this site.
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=900
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#136090 - 09/07/04 12:33 AM Re: Ripper sound problem?
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35214
Loc: southeast USA
Interesting. The thread is 2 years old, but as far as I can tell the program is still in alpha. Might work for some people though.

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (Kayc, scampy, traveler, Haroula, Jarkeld, rmt, bermag45), 67 Guests and 138 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Moonbat, kooker1957, ctillis, GreenBoat, Spidermna133
8496 Registered Users