GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#136139 - 09/17/04 03:54 AM GK 1 on Win 2000 Pro (not XP!!!!)
LaTigresse Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 9
Loc: Germany
Hi to all!

Maybe someone in HERE will be able to help me. I have tried in various other forums (vivendi, vogons, sierragamers), but have not found a solution for my problem.

Most of my old Sierra games run fine on my machine, simply by using VDMS.

I have tried this for GK 1, but no way. Black screen. I have tried the patches to make it run in windows instead of DOS mode. Error messages, game shutdown.

I have tried DosBox. Terribly slow, lousy sound.

Has ANYBODY in here experienced the same problems and found a solution? If not, I might just give the CD away.

Thanks for any reply (unless it is "oh, it works fine on my system" or "why don't you upgrade to XP?" - I do NOT consider XP an upgrade!! ;-))

Tig

Top
#136140 - 09/17/04 08:09 AM Re: GK 1 on Win 2000 Pro (not XP!!!!)
MaG Offline
Administrator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/28/99
Posts: 67307
Tigresse,

This is a tech question. I will transfer this to our tech forum - Glitches. Just follow the thread by clicking on the link at top left of the page.

Good luck and hope you get a solution to your problem.

Top
#136141 - 09/17/04 04:59 PM Re: GK 1 on Win 2000 Pro (not XP!!!!)
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 36231
Loc: southeast USA
You may have already seen this site
http://jhunix.hcf.jhu.edu/~bfrazer1/gk/
which suggests tweaks for running GK1 in DOSBox.

You don't say how fast your computer is, but emulators can run slowly if your computer isn't fast enough. There shouldn't be a problem with "lousy sound" though.

Top
#136142 - 09/20/04 04:08 AM Re: GK 1 on Win 2000 Pro (not XP!!!!)
LaTigresse Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 9
Loc: Germany
Thanks, Jenny.

Been there, done all of it and guess I might just need either a new computer or get an old DOS machine somewhere

;-)

PS. Besides, it was another description for X(tra) P(ainful)

Top
#136143 - 09/20/04 02:12 PM Re: GK 1 on Win 2000 Pro (not XP!!!!)
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 36231
Loc: southeast USA
An old DOS computer would be less expensive if you're mainly wanting to play DOS games.

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
12 registered (8dognight, Sorta Blonde, monbron, BrownEyedTigre, colpet, Space Quest Fan, Marian, Sassy, Robert Gault, Draclvr), 62 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
dude, Crazycat, andypipwilly, g0blin, Bubsy
8721 Registered Users