GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#136368 - 03/08/05 11:15 AM Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
TuesdayNext Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/16/04
Posts: 1122
Loc: NE of Packerland, WI
I was hoping to play Safecracker on my XP-Pro-SP2. It loaded just find and then I right-clicked on the Safecracker icon, chose properties and selected Windows 95 compatibility mode, 256 colors, 640 x 480 resolution. I also tried disabling/enabling "Disable visual themes" and "Turn off advanced text service..." When I try to play the game I get an error message: "This program requires at least 3MB of free virtual memory to run." Can anyone explain this to me and how to fix it. Thanks.

PIV, XP-Pro-Sp2.
3.0 GHz, 160 Gig hard drive
1 GB DDR2 SDRAM
256MB Nvidia GeForce 6800 GTO graphics card
Soundblaster Live! 24-bit Advanced HD

tuesday next
_________________________
'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves did gyre and gimble in the wabe; All mimsy were the borogroves, and the mome raths outgrabe.

Top
#136369 - 03/08/05 11:49 AM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
This sounds like a problem that surfaced while trying to get Nine: The Last Resort to run on a newer system.

The error message was:

This application requires at least 8MB of RAM to run properly.

Unfortunately, the only newer system that Nine would not run on was XP Pro.

Nor would Nine run on XP Home if more than 512MB of memory were present.

Which suggests you've got two issues: a finicky OS in XP Pro and an overly generous amount of memory with 1GB.

This is a programming issue and there is no known fix. Sorry. frown

Top
#136370 - 03/08/05 03:50 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
TuesdayNext Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/16/04
Posts: 1122
Loc: NE of Packerland, WI
OK, guess I'll play it on my 98SE.

tuesday next
_________________________
'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves did gyre and gimble in the wabe; All mimsy were the borogroves, and the mome raths outgrabe.

Top
#136371 - 03/08/05 03:53 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Should run just fine on 98SE. smile

Top
#136372 - 03/09/05 07:50 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Quote:
Originally posted by MrLipid:

This is a programming issue and there is no known fix. Sorry. frown
evil

OKokokok,.... sorry to tease........

I'm playing it right now and just finishing up the SETUP Walkthrough for it. Hopefully up by Saturday.

Music is uh..loud and very interesting.

3rd puzzle (first safe) is a slider.... Saves are in text format in My Documents....Pretty interesting game.

Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#136373 - 03/09/05 08:01 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
BrownEyedTigre Offline
The Sassy Global Moderator PR Liaison
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 01/04/04
Posts: 64922
Loc: In the Naughty Corner
Inferno, were you able to control the inventory from scrolling too fast? I was playing the game fine in XP until I couldn't get the keys out of inventory that I needed to because it was just scroll through without stopping near what I needed.

Ana wave
_________________________
Don't feed the Trolls

Top
#136374 - 03/09/05 08:33 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by infernoj13usa:
I'm playing it right now and just finishing up the SETUP Walkthrough for it. Hopefully up by Saturday.
Hats off if you've figured out a way past the XP Pro beast. There is a warehouse full of apps that tip over and die with this problem. Nine among them... wink

Then again, like all things involving computers, the actual issue with Nine might not be quite the same issue as with Safecracker. A bit here, a bit there....

That said, anything that can get Safecracker, one of my personal favorites, running on a newer machine is to be applauded! laugh

Top
#136375 - 03/09/05 08:37 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35363
Loc: southeast USA
According to ***this*** Inferno has XP Home and 512 MB of RAM.

From what you said about Nine
Quote:

Nor would Nine run on XP Home if more than 512MB of memory were present.
that would make a difference, assuming Safecracker is having the same problem as Nine.

Top
#136376 - 03/09/05 08:46 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Well, yes.

The amount of memory makes a difference and the flavor of XP makes a difference.

No one...not one tester...was able to get Nine to run on XP Pro.

And too much memory was also a nasty problem. More than 512MB on XP Home and the party was over.

To be continued...apparently...

Top
#136377 - 03/09/05 11:03 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35363
Loc: southeast USA
Is there some way - some utility maybe - to get XP (or the game) to think it has 512 MB or less RAM installed? There is a utility called Philip that makes the hard drive appear smaller. Is there anything similar for RAM? This might at least help those with XP Home and more than 512 MB RAM.

Sorry if I'm confusing things by talking about 2 games here.

Top
#136378 - 03/10/05 06:53 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
It's not RAM that was the problem here the error message is for "Virtual Memory"

Anyway .... plays fine... you need a patch (which is actually a stand alone app) and a tweak... I'm working on the setup right now. Let you knwo when it is up.

Hi Mr Lipid!!!
Maybe you could apply the principles in the setup to "Nine" and test it for me??? I don't have that game...

Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#136379 - 03/10/05 08:46 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
Visionism Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/03/05
Posts: 172
Loc: Milwaukee WI
I'm wondering if maybe some older games expect to find the page file before a certain cylinder? Would account for the symptom but I have no idea why that would be the case. Just musing. (I'm one of those people who knows just enough to REALLY screw things up!)
_________________________
It's nice to be important but it's more important to be nice.

Top
#136380 - 03/10/05 09:51 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Howdy Doodie Y'all!

The setup is complete.

You may find it here:

SafeCracker Setup

Inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#136381 - 03/10/05 11:45 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35363
Loc: southeast USA
Looks good, Inferno.

Top
#136382 - 03/10/05 11:48 PM Re: Safecracker in XP - More HELP Please
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by infernoj13usa:
Maybe you could apply the principles in the setup to "Nine" and test it for me??? I don't have that game...
Unfortunately, I don't have XP, Home or Pro.

I came at the challenge of getting Nine to run from the other side. I was solving an install issue, not a play issue.

If Nine can be installed, it will run on everything except XP Pro. The catch was getting the main files unpacked and in place.

Safecracker appears to be a question of getting it to run, not install.

Still interested to see what pops on the question of getting it to run on an XP Pro system with 1GB of RAM.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (RebKean, Jill, kjos, curly, bermag45), 57 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
maggieann, charlene, mikcik, Trishpatsy, sosiebear1
8520 Registered Users