GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#136591 - 08/28/03 11:26 PM Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
This game is a free download - 5 disks in all, which I did to a CD and then unzipped it to floppy disks however, you have to ensure the "path structure" matches the disk. Can someone please help me here and tell me what I need to do? I can use the setup.exe file on the first disk, but when it asks for disk2, it asks me to ensure the path structure and the disk are the same!!!!!!!!! Would be very grateful to anyone who can tell me what I have to do here!!!!
Cheers and thanks
Helen helen.hancock@ce.com.au

Top
#136592 - 08/29/03 12:23 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
did you download this from mark seibert's site?

i'm pretty sure you don't have to download to floppies like he tells you to -- just unzip all the files you downloaded to a folder on your harddrive, and then click setup.exe
to start the installation.

-emily

Top
#136593 - 08/29/03 12:28 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
Where are you downloading it from?
Did the unzipping file suggest any kind of "path structure?" Was there there a Disk 1, Disk 2, Disk 3, etc suggested by the unzipping file?

Top
#136594 - 08/29/03 01:34 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Hi
I got it from quandaryland.com, free games, so am not sure who has posted it. The unzipping went all normal (did not suggest any kind of "path structure") but when you run setup.exe, whether from the hard drive or a floppy disk, it asks for disk2, etc. (5 disks in all)! As FOV suggested, I did all that, but to no avail, hence my fervent request for help!!!!!!!!
Any further ideas?????
Cheers
Helen

Top
#136595 - 08/29/03 11:10 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
mark seibert was the producer on this game. he's made it available on his website:

http://www.markseibert.com/the_full_game.htm

however, his instructions don't make it any clearer what's meant by path structure...

when you tried installing from your hard drive, did you try extracting each disk to its own folder (Disk 1, Disk 2, etc.) and installing it that way? maybe that'll work. (i KNOW i recently read a post where someone said they were able to install directly from their hard drive, but i can't find it now...)

worst case scenario, post your question over at www.sierragamers.com -- the pepper's download was discussed there recently, and i know some people who read that board have successfully downloaded it and played it.

-emily

Top
#136596 - 08/29/03 11:41 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
I haven't downloaded the version from Quandaryland, but I own a floppy version I bought from ebay and here is a list of what is on the disks:

DISK 1

3 folders:

both
closonly
winonly

files:

disk1
install.bat
install.ex$
install.ini
install.ins
pepper.bmp
setup.exe
sierra.bmp

Inside the "both" folder are the files:

120.hep
120.scr
230.hep
230.scr
310.hep
310.scr
354.v56
371.hep
371.scr
410.hep
410.scr
interp.err
readme
resource.000
resource.map
version

Inside the dosonly folder are the files
adl.drv
audblast.drv
auddisny.drv
audmssys.drv
audnone.drv
audpro.drv
audpro16.drv
audps1.drv
audthund.drv
ega640.drv
genmidi.drv
ibmkbd.drv
ibmps1.drv
install.exe
install.hlp
install.scr
install.txt
joystick.drv
microsof.drv
mt32.drv
proaudio.drv
resource.cfg
sierra.exe
std.drv
tandy3v.drv
vga320.drv
vga320bw.drv

The "winonly" folder contains the files

mmaware.dll
proglib.dll
scidll.dll
sciwv.exe
sierra.ini
sierra.ico


DISK 2

folder:

both

files:

disk2
version

inside the "both" folder is the file
resource.000


DISK 3

folder:

both

files:

disk3
version

Inside the "both" folder is the file
resource.000


DISK 4


folder:

both

files:

disk4
version

Inside the "both" folder is the file
resource.000


DISK 5


folder:

both

files:

dcompaud.exe
disk5
install.bat
version

Inside the "both" folder are the files
resource.000
resource.aud


The files named "version" are slightly different from each disk because they contain the disk number. For example, if I open the "version" file on Disk 3 using Notepad, I see

Quote:

1.000
Pepper's Adventures in Time
02.05.93
Disk #3

Top
#136597 - 08/29/03 12:00 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
It looks like Quandary linked to Mark Seibert's website. So it would be the same download.
I downloaded the zipped files and they seem to be the same as in my game. If you use a competent unzipping program, it should preserve the directory structure when it unzips.

If you look at the floppies you made, do you see some files are in folders and some are not?

Top
#136598 - 08/29/03 03:14 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
BacardiJim Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/27/03
Posts: 2202
Loc: USA
If you use the "Classic" interface instead of the "Wizard" interface of WinZip, when you extract the zipped files you get an option to "use folder names." Make sure this box is checked and it will preserve the path/directory structure.
_________________________
Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.

Top
#136599 - 08/31/03 07:30 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Hi everyone!
Just wanted to thank you all for taking the time to reply to my query!! I shall try all your suggestions and hopefully, I will be able to get it to work.
This site is a fabulous site, with so many people always willing to help, thank you all again.
Helen

Top
#136600 - 09/02/03 09:30 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Thanks to BacardiJim and his suggestion, I have finally been able to get Pepper up and running however, some 5 minutes into the game, I came up with the message "Out of Heap" and the game froze. Any help or suggestions? Thinking it may just not be worth it!!!!!!! Thanks in advance.
Helen

Top
#136601 - 09/02/03 10:01 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
I checked Googlegroups. One person said they couldn't get rid of the "out of heap" problem but were able to finish the rest of the game because "Pepper's" allows you to skip to the next chapter.

Top
#136602 - 09/02/03 11:32 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
oh dear. "out of heap" is a common (annoying) error that happens with some of the older sierra games. i've gotten it when i've tried to run windows versions of games (like KQ5) on XP.

i'm sorry you're having so much trouble! i've heard this is a great little game.

frown emily

ps are you playing the DOS or the windows version? whichever you're using, you could try using the other -- maybe you won't get the same error. but you'd have to start over because your saves wouldn't be compatible...

Top
#136603 - 09/02/03 11:58 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Hi all
Thanks for the prompt replies. I am using the Windows version but did try the DOS version after encountering that problem, however, all it does is toss me back to windows!!!!!!!! Perhaps I shall just have to skip that chapter as was suggested. I was looking forward to the game too as I love all Sierra games - anyway, what does "out of heap" mean by the way????? May have to invest in an old, old computer just to play all my favourite OLD games!!!!!!!

Top
#136604 - 09/03/03 10:04 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
syd Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/12/99
Posts: 12306
Loc: Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Hi Helen

Try using a slow down utility like Mo'Slo. I've had to do that with games like KQV and one of the Quest for Glory's.

From what I remember - Out of Heap means you're running out of memory.
_________________________
Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.

Top
#136605 - 09/03/03 11:01 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
Helen, what OS are you using?

If you're using XP, sometimes DOS games throw you back to the desktop. I've gotten around this by running them with VDMSound (a program that runs the game in its own DOS window). it's meant to fix sound issues in older DOS games, but in some cases it also seems to help with this issue.

the suggestion to use moslo is another good one.

-emily

Top
#136606 - 09/03/03 07:37 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Hi everyone!
Thanks again for the replies. I am using Windows 98 and have 256 mb of memory (huh!). I'm afraid I have never heard of Mo'Slo or VDMSound - can you get them of the net or do you have to purchase them? As I love QFG and KQ, maybe these would help me with those games too as I would love to play them again!
Thanks
Helen

Top
#136607 - 09/03/03 07:59 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
VDMSound won't help you then. it's for XP machines.

this may be a dumb question... but have you tried quitting to DOS and running the DOS version from there?]

moslo is a free program that lets you slow down your computer so older games will run better. certain "timing bugs" occur on newer machines when a portion of the game depends on CPU speed. for example, in police quest 3 the speed of the car you drive is based on your CPU speed. if you try to play that game on a newer machine, the car runs too fast for you to control it... there's another bug like this in Quest for Glory 1, right near the end in the warlock's maze.

i don't know the exact URL for moslo, but you can search for it on google. i'm sure something will turn up. Turbo is a similar program.

you should be able to run your KQ and QFG games on 98 (sometimes they just take a little tweaking). i have a windows 98 machine and so far haven't run into a sierra game i couldn't get working (although some have required the GoSierra patch to get the sound up -- that's another free patch that corrects a timing issue...)

-emily

Top
#136608 - 09/04/03 12:47 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
You can download the evaluation version of moslo here.
http://www.hpaa.com/moslo/moslotry.asp


Whether you need it or not depends on how fast your computer is and how sensitive to computer speed the game is.

Top
#136609 - 09/04/03 01:34 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Thank you both for your replies! I shall download and try Moslo. Interestingly, FOV has mentioned the problem with QFG at the warlock section and I have a friend in England who has tried over and over again to get through this section, but to no avail, so I will forward your response on to her. She would be thrilled if she could actually finish it properly without cheating!!!!!
Talk soon when I try Moslo!!
Thanks again, to all.
Helen

Top
#136610 - 09/04/03 10:33 AM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
fov Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/28/01
Posts: 2964
Loc: San Francisco
yep, moslo fixes that problem with the warlock.

i'd played the game a long time ago on a mac and replayed it recently on win98... it'd been so long, i didn't realize the door was closing too quickly. i thought there must be another piece to the puzzle i was missing! i was stuck on that for a month before i found out it was just a timing bug. rolleyes

helen, in pepper's, you don't have to play the whole game at a slow speed. try slowing down the computer just before you encounter the out of heap error, and play through that point. if you get through it you can save the game, quit, and restart at normal speed.

laugh emily

Top
#136611 - 09/04/03 10:44 PM Re: Sierra's Peppers Adventures in Time
Helen Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 15
Loc: Australia
Thanks Emily for your great, helpful suggestions. When I originally played QFG1 had not problems, but also admit that when I played it recently, the same thing happened to me and I just eventually gave up, didn't care as I had played it in the past, so I shall too, now try playing it again! I shall certainly try your suggestion in regards to Pepper.
Thanks, take care
Helen

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (GBC, mabeco, Marian, BrownEyedTigre, kjos, manxman, Marji, Draclvr, bermag45, 1 invisible), 86 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Amberdrop, binnykinz, scarend, JALind, maggieann
8524 Registered Users