GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#137429 - 05/09/03 07:04 PM Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
I was reallly enjoying this game until I got past the jungle to the trinkets shop and asked the owner about the book and he said Mr. Smith stole his last copy. And then the game freezes or something. I can't click on anything or choose any verbs. But the parrot in the background is still moving and if I push F1 I can get to the save/load/play/quit menu. Does this game do this to anybody else?

Top
#137430 - 05/09/03 10:19 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
Did you check at http://support.lucasarts.com
to see what they suggested?

How fast is your computer?
Are you playing in DOS mode?
Floppy or CD version of game?
What sound card are you using?

Top
#137431 - 05/09/03 10:42 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
CD version.
Not in DOS. Unsure of the rest. I think it ran directly from the CD.

Top
#137432 - 05/09/03 11:00 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
I have the CD version. I didn't get the problem you mention on a 233 MHz computer with an AWE 64. But I couldn't get the game to run long without freezing on a 400 MHz computer with the SBLive. That's why I asked about the sound card. I ran it in DOS mode on both computers.

Top
#137433 - 05/09/03 11:29 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
Couldn't find out the sound card thingy or mhz. blush
BTW I have Windows ME Intel Celeron Processor with 127 MB of RAM.
Can you find the problem, doc? thumbsup lol

Top
#137434 - 05/10/03 02:12 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
To find your processor speed:
Click Start button, then Run. Type
dxdiag
in the box and OK it.
On the system tab it should list your computer speed (how many MHz) next to where where it says Processor:

To find your sound card (or at least what drivers it's using)
Right-click My Computer
Choose Properties, then Device Manager tab.
Click on the + next to where it says Sound, video and game controllers to expand it. You should see your sound card listed there.

One thing you could try is to make a desktop shortcut to the game executable and alter its properties.

To make Shortcut -
Right-click the desktop where there isn't an icon.
Choose New, then Shortcut.
Browse to where the Indiana Jones executable is and finish up the shortcut.

Once you have the shortcut, right-click on it.
Choose Properties, then Program tab.
Click Advanced button.
Put the dot where it says Prevent MS-DOS-based Programs from detecting Windows and OK it.

I don't know if this will work or not, but it's worth a try since you apparently have to play the game in Windows.

Top
#137435 - 05/10/03 06:50 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
Well that explains it! 565 MHZ!!
And the sound card is MPU-401 compatible MIDI Device.

Top
#137436 - 05/10/03 07:06 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
I did what you said and it went from messed up to seriously messed up! While it has subtitles it has no speech anymore and no sound except from the inside speaker!

Top
#137437 - 05/10/03 10:49 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34865
Loc: southeast USA
frown
I guess you should change it back to the way it was then. By the way, how was it set up before?

Quote:

And the sound card is MPU-401 compatible MIDI Device.
Sounds like it might be an onboard card then - sound card built into the motherboard.

Top
#137438 - 05/11/03 02:07 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Carolin Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/05/02
Posts: 565
Loc: Oslo, Norway
I had the same problem, and what helped me out might sound stupid.

I saved, yes, saved the game in a new slot. I called it freeze, hang or something.
Then I quited it completely, restarted the computer and loaded the saved game.
Then it continued, strange, very strange.
Don't know why, and I don't know if it will help you.

Try.

Caroline.
_________________________
I haven't lost it, I just can't find it....

Top
#137439 - 05/11/03 05:55 PM Re: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Coreoverload Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 08/10/02
Posts: 1147
Well for some reason it is working now.

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
12 registered (kjos, Mikael, auntiegram, BrownEyedTigre, Gimme, GuybrushThreepwood, looney4labs, Draclvr, colpet, CanukDenis), 81 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
shaun9991, weakstorm, 123pazu, dawnmann, Colour
8419 Registered Users