GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Games with women characters - recommendations? #219831
10/22/07 10:45 AM
10/22/07 10:45 AM
Bay Area CA
rebecca53 Offline OP
Shy Boomer
rebecca53  Offline OP
Shy Boomer

Bay Area CA
I'm new to the GameBoomers community, so I'm unfamiliar with the ages and genders, etc., here, but it seems that there are a fair number of women. I'm in my 50s, and have long been a feminist even when that was a worse word than it is today. I love adventure games. I love adventure games with women protagonists, and I equally love adventure games with men protagonists. I only ask that they're realistic and interesting characters. But -- it's the "realistic" that I'm having more and more of a hard time with.

Is there anyone else out there who is sick and tired of seeing Barbie-Borg women "heroes" with large chests accentuated by whatever clothing the men game designers give them? Clothing that is A) tighter than the men's, and B) made up of 50% less fabric? Women who are given the personalities of teenagers? When was the last time you found a woman hero in a game who actually had an adult personality? For that matter, when was the last time you actually saw a woman in a game who was older than 25?

If you know of any games without overtly sexist childlike portrayals of women, would you please post recommendations here?