GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#270805 - 01/29/08 07:29 PM Broadband or dial-up?
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
This is a question I got reading the Download/Hard copy discussion.
It's just a little poll but I need many responses to get a clear picture! So, do you have a broadband or a dial-up connection and do you have data limits for downloading?

(If this post doesn't fit here, please kick me to the right place! smile)


Bernard

Top
#270809 - 01/29/08 07:35 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35568
Loc: southeast USA
Broadband, but not stable enough to download a full size game.

Top
#270810 - 01/29/08 07:37 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Jenny100]
BrownEyedTigre Online   happy
The Sassy Global Moderator PR Liaison
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 01/04/04
Posts: 65545
Loc: In the Naughty Corner
Broadband here too. I haven't had any real troubles with downloads.

Ana wave
_________________________
Don't feed the Trolls

Top
#270812 - 01/29/08 07:43 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: BrownEyedTigre]
SkeeterUK Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/07/04
Posts: 1393
Loc: United Kingdom
I wouldnt like to try downloading a 1 gigabyte game or bigger on 56k dial up lol. Broadband is the way to go, actually im suprised 56k dial up is even sold to the public considering broadband can be as cheap as dialup used to be.

Top
#270826 - 01/29/08 08:09 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: SkeeterUK]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23615
Loc: United Kingdom
Hi smile

Broadband ....

But thinking of privacy issues and licensing agreements - what are you going to do with this information ??

rotfl rotfl rotfl

Cheers.

Mad wave
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#270833 - 01/29/08 08:19 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Mad]
Darleen03 Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 12/13/03
Posts: 14813
Loc: Northeast NJ
Hi Bernard...

Good topic... I have Broadband never had a problem with any downloads... thumbsup
_________________________
Luv Dar


GameBoomers
"Games Are More Enticing Because Of Our "MaG"nificent Efficient Radiant Site"

Top
#270834 - 01/29/08 08:20 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Darleen03]
Phoebe Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/17/07
Posts: 1541
Loc: Brazil
Hey Bernard,
I use Broadband is the best.
_________________________
Yes,though i go through the valley of deep shade,i will have no fear of evil;for you are with me, your rod and your support are my comfort. Salmo23:4

Top
#270844 - 01/29/08 08:41 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Phoebe]
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Broadband.

Top
#270848 - 01/29/08 08:52 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: MrLipid]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Well, I'll break the trend here: 56K dial-up connection for me. Maybe one day...
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#270851 - 01/29/08 08:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Marian Online   content
Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 20977
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Broadband, but, like Jenny100, not stable enough to download a full-size game.

Top
#270877 - 01/29/08 09:30 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Marian]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
So far the broadband users are the majority, that's exactly what I suspected when I started this topic, not because I think there are a lot more broadband users but the people who have a broadband connection are more active! I wish all the dial-up members react also, because I want to get a clear picture on this subject.

Mad, don't worry! This is a topic that I put here just to cure my curiosity and not for any commercial reason! Sometimes I post in topics only to see what the reactions will be. devil


Bernard

Top
#270879 - 01/29/08 09:37 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/07/03
Posts: 8311
Loc: VA
I use broadband. wave

Top
#270883 - 01/29/08 09:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: TLC]
BeaSong Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/30/04
Posts: 2956
Loc: rural Oregon, USA
Our only choice for anything faster than dialup (out here in the sticks)
is Satellite internet. Not exactly Broadband, but faster than dialup.
And right now the dish is filling up with snow, so I might not even
be able to send this till later. :eeksnoman: happydance
_________________________
B~
"Come Watson, the Game is afoot!"
www.tiotucan.com

Top
#270884 - 01/29/08 09:56 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: TLC]
RayBres Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 165
Loc: Des Plaines, Illinois
Broadband on the desktop, dial-up on the laptop, but the laptop also has a WiFi card so it can be used in one of those free WiFi places that abound in the US (Barnes & Noble, Panera Bread, etc.) and this is convenient both on the road and for occasional large downloads for speed. wave
_________________________
ray

Top
#270890 - 01/29/08 10:02 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: RayBres]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
BeaSong, you got here loud and clear! Just wish we get some snow here! sad

P.S. Keep on sweeping that dish! grin


Bernard

Top
#270896 - 01/29/08 10:20 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
RayBres Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 05/30/06
Posts: 165
Loc: Des Plaines, Illinois
Originally Posted By: Bernard
Just wish we get some snow here! sad
Bernard


You can have ours. It's snowing now in the Chicago area, where the temperature was 48F at 4:00 PM and is now (10:20 PM) down to 4F and is headed to -4F overnight. We're known as the climatic armpit of the world. :shiver:
_________________________
ray

Top
#270901 - 01/29/08 10:28 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: RayBres]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
Ray, if you can send me about 4 inches of snow I would be very grateful! My dog and I would really appreciate it. lol


Bernard

Top
#270920 - 01/30/08 01:05 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Marian]
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/20/05
Posts: 3635
Loc: stoke on trent England
I have a wireless conection .Guess thats broad band crazy

Top
#270939 - 01/30/08 03:54 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: dragonuk44]
Kaki's Sister Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 11/21/04
Posts: 17492
Loc: Marlborough USA
I had dialup till recently when HighSpeed Internet became available at a reasonable price. I like it so much better because now when I get emails with attachments - especially pictures it downloads them fast. With dialup it could take as long as half an hour to receive one email with pictures.
_________________________
Gerry

Top
#270945 - 01/30/08 04:33 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Kaki's Sister]
connie Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 07/12/02
Posts: 8165
Loc: winter springs fl.
Broadband, no trouble downloading large games.
_________________________
Connie

Top
#270964 - 01/30/08 05:54 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie]
Howard the Doc Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/08/02
Posts: 368
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
SkeeterUK - interesting comment about "why is dial-up still sold to the public." I live 30 miles west of Washington D.C. in one of the richest Countys in the US (except for me) on a dirt road with no cable and no broadband internet available by wire. I get my "cable" by satellite (DirecTV) and my broadband from a line-of-sight tower. So in this huge country of ours, sometimes dial-up is the only available way. I must say, though, I've had my broadband for a year or less and, my gosh, I love it. Some day (sooner than we think) it will be universal and "there" just like the phone line. (When we can hook up our computer to our cellphone then wireless broadband will be universal.)

BeaSong - how is your satellite internet working? I considered Huges Net (now Skynet?) but my son pointed me to a forum of people who could only talk about how much they hated it.
_________________________
Not only is the universe stranger than we imagine, it's stranger than we CAN imagine - J.B.S. Haldane
--------------------------------
Games will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no games.

Top
#270967 - 01/30/08 06:09 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Howard the Doc]
Becky Offline
The Medieval Lady
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 02/16/00
Posts: 26894
Loc: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Broadband here. No limits.

Top
#271005 - 01/30/08 07:55 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Becky]
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/25/05
Posts: 580
Loc: Bonney Lake, Washington

Dial up here, in the minority. Broadband is too expensive.

Top
#271045 - 01/30/08 09:54 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Marian]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1489
Loc: Denmark, Europe
Broadband here as well. I can download a 1GB or even 2GB demo in about 1½-2 hours - if the line's not too busy.

/Karsten

_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#271065 - 01/30/08 10:13 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: MrLipid]
bermag45 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/31/03
Posts: 5224
Loc: Deepest darkest Norfolk, Engla...
Broadband with no problems downloading and no capped limit wave

Bernie monky

Top
#271081 - 01/30/08 10:40 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: bermag45]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42533
Loc: Alabama
Broadband (dsl)

No limits.

Can and have downloaded large game files, but it takes longer than I think it should.

Would cut back on groceries and heat before I'd give up my broadband.
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#271093 - 01/30/08 10:58 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
misa Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/04/07
Posts: 1372
Loc: PA, USA
Broadband (3mb/s DSL) which we use with our laptops (wifi). It's pretty stable and our wireless router is pretty good. Have not had any issues downloading games from developers or online stores (Adventure Game Shop, Kheops and Big Fish Games) as long as it's not raining hard outside. The phone lines in this area need repairing!

Top
#271097 - 01/30/08 11:08 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: misa]
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/07/02
Posts: 5766
Loc: FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
DSL Broadband

inferno
_________________________
Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden

Top
#271100 - 01/30/08 11:15 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: infernoj13usa]
flutist Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 07/17/01
Posts: 11419
Loc: Kirkwood, MO USA
DSL Broadband here also.

Bets
_________________________
Corgis fill your life with Joy, your heart with Love, and your soul with Sunshine.

Top
#271104 - 01/30/08 11:30 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: flutist]
chrissie Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/15/05
Posts: 4407
Loc: london uk
Broadband. No limits as far as I know! smile

Top
#271106 - 01/30/08 11:32 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie]
Chief Offline
Staff
Adept Boomer

Registered: 12/12/03
Posts: 10559
Loc: Québec
Broadband also.

Chief wave

Top
#271111 - 01/30/08 11:44 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Chief]
MaG Offline
Administrator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/28/99
Posts: 66163
Drums. I mean DSL-broadband.

Top
#271115 - 01/30/08 11:47 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: MaG]
auntiegram Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/10/06
Posts: 13757
Loc: northern Wisconsin
Cable broadband, and I love it. I too will go without something else then go back to dial-up :LOL:


Nan

Top
#271130 - 01/30/08 12:24 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: auntiegram]
gaily Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 04/24/06
Posts: 593
Loc: Ca.
cable broadband...no limitations, but i also think that big games take way too long to download. Guess I'm spoiled. It certainly beats drums!! rotfl
_________________________
gaily

Top
#271134 - 01/30/08 12:30 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: gaily]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1489
Loc: Denmark, Europe
Here in Denmark where I live smile the power companies (those who provide the electricity) have a plan to offer broadband with much higher download speed than normal. We're talking 10-30 - to maybe 100 MB download speed.

There are, in fact, some places where you already can get this.
However, I doubt if the power companies have been succesfull at this point?

I think that providing high power downloads via the electric cables is the way to go. Then broadban connections will be as availabe and normal as electricity is today - at least in some places of the world.

Oh, and I forgot to add that my broadband is cable of sorts, don't have a download cap and that(normally) game downloads etc. happens with a speed between 10-30 MB/minute (or sec?)

/Karsten



Edited by Karsten (01/30/08 12:32 PM)
Edit Reason: added content
_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#271145 - 01/30/08 12:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Karsten]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
Karsten, I've heard rumours about Internet by the power grid, even participated in a field experiment but as far as I know, it has not been a success anywhere. Reading the posts I realized I didn't mention my own connection. I have cable broadband >20MB, there's a price tag to it but I reduce it by providing a small WiFi network for my neighbours. They pay a a few Euro's to me every month so below the line my costs aren't too high!

Keep on posting people, I need at least between 100 and 200 reactions to get a good view.


wave Bernard

Top
#271180 - 01/30/08 01:52 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie]
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Registered: 01/08/02
Posts: 13453
Loc: Texas
Dial-up -- out in the country, no other choice. And it's only running about 26k.
_________________________
"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Top
#271205 - 01/30/08 03:07 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: nickie]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1489
Loc: Denmark, Europe
I know I know - also about the power grid and high speed broad band.

I think there's some small scale experimentation with this in two or three (big) towns here in Denmark. I depends whether or not they can get fiberlines in the ground I think.

The thing is this, though:

Today we don't think about how we get our power (electricity) in our houses. The meaning behind the power grid being used for the internet really is the same. You just plug in your computer - and then the power for it as well as the internet connections some from the same place.

The bad thing is that when there's a power shortage --- your computer won't work - at all.

/Karsten

_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#271211 - 01/30/08 03:13 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Koalanut Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 04/04/06
Posts: 832
Loc: Indiana

We had dial up for years and was hating it more and more. So we got a deal from AT & T last year and got broadband, and loved it cause it wasn't that much more and it meant that we could talk on the phone and use the internet at the same time without an extra line. Well, U-Verse came out here ( still AT & T), and they gave us a deal in December to upgrade to it which includes the tv and wireless. It was cheaper to change to U-Verse and have more channels, more tv's and wireless than stay with our cable and use the regular AT & T broadband, go figure (?). I think U-Verse is broadband, maybe someone can correct me. I know it isn't dial-up! I am totally and completely spoiled with the wireless and the broadband, and am still amazed with how much we can do compared to just 10 years or more ago! smile

Koalanut
_________________________
So many games, so little time....

Top
#271220 - 01/30/08 03:26 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Koalanut]
gremlin Offline

Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/01
Posts: 1632
Loc: Isle of Man
It's been ADSL broadband with me for about four years now. About 2 years ago we got a free upgrade to 2MB (everyone on the island in range of the exchanges got the upgrade), and now they're talking about a similar upgrade to 8MB by the end of this year.

However, if you want real speed, you need to go to Japan and Taiwan where broadband can be as much as 100MB.

Regarding power line networks, I know that they can definitely work in a domestic situation - I installed one last weekend, though my blog has more details of the Netgear XE103 product recall that I'm now going through. (see my sig)

Finally, for those people with 'broadband but not stable enough for large downloads', you might like to investigate P2P networks like bittorrent (eg. uTorrent, or Azureus). Please note, I'm not advocating piracy. You will find that some of the larger downloads (OpenOffice.org and Ubuntu linux distributions, for example) can be obtained (completely legally) via bittorrent. These systems are designed to download even the largest of files in many, many chunks, and to be completely resilient in the face of an unreliable connection.

Gremlin

Top
#271225 - 01/30/08 03:31 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie]
gamenut Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/08/00
Posts: 1565
Loc: Hiding Under a Rock
have dsl now..finally-find it a lot better than dial-up i used to have but this dsl is not the 'fast' dsl, which i think is like the bb you get from most tv cable companies. In 2009 i'm going to get THAT!

Top
#271245 - 01/30/08 04:17 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: bermag45]
orchid girl Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 1869
Loc: Ontario,Canada
I have wireless connection. No problem with downloads. Live in the boonies , no cable, no phone high speed. Limit of 10GB per month but have never been charged for extra. bravo

Could not live with dial up again. hardwall

Top
#271271 - 01/30/08 05:26 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: orchid girl]
Mr 2 u Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/21/01
Posts: 509
Loc: Scotland
Broadband here, no limits.
_________________________
Adventure Games Forever

Top
#271285 - 01/30/08 05:45 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Mr 2 u]
Maritje Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/19/00
Posts: 541
Loc: Pine Tree State of Maine
Dial-up here unfortunately. No limit on downloads. For any large dl's I go to my son's house for his DSL.

What a pleasure to download lots and lots of files for my scrapbooking. Takes minutes to load on my flashdrive.

Sometimes I need to update my system and it would take hours to download so his DSL really comes in handy.

I would get broadband in a minute if it were available here.

Maritje
_________________________
Do or Dare but Dare to Do

Top
#271304 - 01/30/08 06:27 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie]
Barry Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 965
Loc: Sun City, AZ
Verizon high end Fios Broadband. Not a problem in the least with game downloads, particularly with a download accellerator I use to make connections practically warp speed.

Regards,
Barry
_________________________
I've seen God, and his name is iPad. Let us pray
yes, I do use my Hairbrush as a Microphone and Dance around in my Underwear. Thank you very much.


Top
#271318 - 01/30/08 06:59 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Barry]
LadyLinda Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 11/16/99
Posts: 618
Loc: NYC, NY USA
I had dial-up and recently switched to DSL. What a difference!

Top
#271341 - 01/30/08 07:43 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: LadyLinda]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4444
Loc: The Country
DSL here and loving it wave
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#271643 - 01/31/08 11:36 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Winfrey]
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/20/05
Posts: 3635
Loc: stoke on trent England
noticed Winfrey devilchili

Top
#271693 - 01/31/08 02:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: dragonuk44]
JanetC Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 01/31/08
Posts: 4
Loc: Florida (my heart's in Texas)
Cable broadband. No problems with downloads at all. It's expensive but so worth it!

Top
#271704 - 01/31/08 03:20 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: JanetC]
3dobermans Online   content
Adept Boomer

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 13219
Loc: Palouse country
Live in a small town and have dial-up at 31.2kbps. Largest download I can do is about 80Mb and can take up to 6+ hours.
The one little phone company in town offers a high speed/router (with a no return option and can never be used elsewhere if one decided to move), starting at 64kbps.
Phone/internet company has no competition and has never had any competitors.

_________________________
Reading is to the mind, what exercise is to the body - Joseph Addison

Top
#271707 - 01/31/08 03:25 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: 3dobermans]
kjos Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5733
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I have road runner cable and can get up to 900. kbps and can download just about anything at lighting speed,love it
Richard


Edited by kjos (01/31/08 03:30 PM)
Edit Reason: spelling
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#271710 - 01/31/08 03:34 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: kjos]
MsMercury Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 11745
Loc: Scotland
Broadband, no limits. yay
_________________________
"It's not what you have in your life
but who you have in your life that counts." puppy

I'm not getting old....just 'Marvelously Mature'! grin

Top
#271741 - 01/31/08 05:09 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Albert Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/21/99
Posts: 1066
Loc: Glennville, Ga., USA
Broadband on the desktop, wireless broadband on the laptop. My ISP also offers a 1-800 dial up number for broadband users when on the road at 10 cents a minute.

Howard the Doc, its been possible to connect to the internet through a cell phone for years, but its Sllooowwww (19.6k baud). I have an Ositech card and it does work as advertised. www.ositech.com

Albert

Top
#271752 - 01/31/08 05:44 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Albert]
Phoebe Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/17/07
Posts: 1541
Loc: Brazil
I have Broadband of 2000 kps and wireless in my laptop. And i never had problem with my downloads. My down is very fast.
For who it has dial up connection is bad is very slow for make dowload.
_________________________
Yes,though i go through the valley of deep shade,i will have no fear of evil;for you are with me, your rod and your support are my comfort. Salmo23:4

Top
#272316 - 02/01/08 11:56 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Phoebe]
LadyKestrel Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/08/03
Posts: 9426
Loc: Raking leaves in NJ
I have cable broadband and no limits.
_________________________
I think that I shall never see
A poem messy as a tree
In autumn.

Top
#272318 - 02/02/08 12:08 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
maggie57 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/13/04
Posts: 4633
Loc: Arizona, U.S.A.
Hi-

I have Cox High Speed Cable and just love it, it is very fast as far as downloading. Would not want anything else.

Maggie wave

Top
#272599 - 02/02/08 03:10 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: maggie57]
acornia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/24/01
Posts: 3805
Loc: Kentucky, USA
Dial up at 56k. No limit on it. Just don't download enough or on the internet enough to make it worthwhile.
_________________________
Never resist a generous impulse.

Top
#272732 - 02/02/08 08:39 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: acornia]
BeaSong Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/30/04
Posts: 2956
Loc: rural Oregon, USA
Howard the Doc , Sorry I'm so late getting back to your question. We've been without power (because of the snow) which means the modem that connects to the satellite doesn't work. And, I've also been out of town.
We've been trying to get my Mom's DirecWay dish and modem worked on for a month now and it is serviced by Hughes net. I'm shopping for something better. I'm to the point of thinking that ANYTHING is better! Grrrrrr. mad
_________________________
B~
"Come Watson, the Game is afoot!"
www.tiotucan.com

Top
#272789 - 02/02/08 11:44 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
GuybrushThreepwood Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/06/03
Posts: 3333
Loc: Lincoln, NE
Dial-up (and my computer is ancient). I'll upgrade someday but for now I can't download large games.
_________________________
Currently Playing:
Adventure: Redemption Cemetary: Bitter Frost
Darkside: Star Wars: The Old Republic, World of Warcraft

Top
#274392 - 02/05/08 07:06 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: GuybrushThreepwood]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
I thank everyone for responding, at the end of this week I will post the results and my interpretations on them. Until then please keep posting!


wave Bernard

Top
#274479 - 02/05/08 11:12 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
DragonFish Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 34
Loc: Victoria, Australia
I have cable broadband with a 12Gb limit per month which we never get anywhere using up, but previous 2Gb far too little.
Seems to take about an hour or so to download a game demo.

Broadband is a fair bit more expensive than dial-up here, and I've heard that our 'fast' broadband is a lot slower than the rest of the world, possibly due to one company holding the reins so to speak. Have just bought a laptop and have dial-up on that, had forgotten how slow it is!

Top
#274659 - 02/06/08 09:06 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: DragonFish]
escakacs Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 12/18/07
Posts: 731
Loc: Brighton Township, Ohio
Dial-up! I have no choice. I live in the boonies. We aren't offered DSL, or cable. Satellite has around a $700.00 installation fee and is around $80.00 a month. When I asked the cable company when they'd have internet services out here they laughed.

Top
#274755 - 02/06/08 12:02 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
PMcOuntry Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/20/08
Posts: 512
Loc: Pennsylvania, USA
Broadband with no limits (that I know of, lol). I can DL a full game w/in minutes or less generally. I've not tried DL'ing a really LARGE game as I like to buy hardcopies.

If someone told me I had to go back to dial up, I would throw a fit and start reading more!
_________________________
Patricia


Top
#278401 - 02/13/08 02:49 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: PMcOuntry]
Joan A Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 02/01/06
Posts: 65
Loc: 22460 Uzel, France
ADSL through the phone line, plus wi-fi from the router for the laptop. Here in France, most everyone has broadband. Wouldn't go back to dial-up for anything. Broadband was one of our criteria when buying a house here.
_________________________
Joan A

Top
#278424 - 02/13/08 03:26 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Joan A]
Jenny Offline
Grande Olde Dame
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/04/99
Posts: 31223
Loc: Northwestern New Mexico, USA
I have DSL broadband, which runs through a router to the four computers in the house. This may slow downloads a little, but it's still lightning fast compared to dial-up...bravo
_________________________
"Once you give up integrity, the rest is easy." Anonymous

Top
#278589 - 02/13/08 10:08 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Marian]
Cat in the Hat Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 243
Loc: Pennsylvania
Broadband [fiber optics] all the way. No problem with downloading or playing games online.

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (BobH, BrownEyedTigre, Marian, Draclvr, 3dobermans, 2 invisible), 62 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Newest Members
ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9, TheProphet
8567 Registered Users