GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#271106 - 01/30/08 11:32 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie]
Chief Offline
Staff
Adept Boomer

Registered: 12/12/03
Posts: 10473
Loc: Québec
Broadband also.

Chief wave

Top
#271111 - 01/30/08 11:44 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Chief]
MaG Offline
Administrator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/28/99
Posts: 65684
Drums. I mean DSL-broadband.

Top
#271115 - 01/30/08 11:47 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: MaG]
auntiegram Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/10/06
Posts: 13518
Loc: northern Wisconsin
Cable broadband, and I love it. I too will go without something else then go back to dial-up :LOL:


Nan

Top
#271130 - 01/30/08 12:24 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: auntiegram]
gaily Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 04/24/06
Posts: 588
Loc: Ca.
cable broadband...no limitations, but i also think that big games take way too long to download. Guess I'm spoiled. It certainly beats drums!! rotfl
_________________________
gaily

Top
#271134 - 01/30/08 12:30 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: gaily]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1463
Loc: Denmark, Europe
Here in Denmark where I live smile the power companies (those who provide the electricity) have a plan to offer broadband with much higher download speed than normal. We're talking 10-30 - to maybe 100 MB download speed.

There are, in fact, some places where you already can get this.
However, I doubt if the power companies have been succesfull at this point?

I think that providing high power downloads via the electric cables is the way to go. Then broadban connections will be as availabe and normal as electricity is today - at least in some places of the world.

Oh, and I forgot to add that my broadband is cable of sorts, don't have a download cap and that(normally) game downloads etc. happens with a speed between 10-30 MB/minute (or sec?)

/Karsten



Edited by Karsten (01/30/08 12:32 PM)
Edit Reason: added content
_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#271145 - 01/30/08 12:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Karsten]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
Karsten, I've heard rumours about Internet by the power grid, even participated in a field experiment but as far as I know, it has not been a success anywhere. Reading the posts I realized I didn't mention my own connection. I have cable broadband >20MB, there's a price tag to it but I reduce it by providing a small WiFi network for my neighbours. They pay a a few Euro's to me every month so below the line my costs aren't too high!

Keep on posting people, I need at least between 100 and 200 reactions to get a good view.


wave Bernard

Top
#271180 - 01/30/08 01:52 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie]
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Registered: 01/08/02
Posts: 13453
Loc: Texas
Dial-up -- out in the country, no other choice. And it's only running about 26k.
_________________________
"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Top
#271205 - 01/30/08 03:07 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: nickie]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1463
Loc: Denmark, Europe
I know I know - also about the power grid and high speed broad band.

I think there's some small scale experimentation with this in two or three (big) towns here in Denmark. I depends whether or not they can get fiberlines in the ground I think.

The thing is this, though:

Today we don't think about how we get our power (electricity) in our houses. The meaning behind the power grid being used for the internet really is the same. You just plug in your computer - and then the power for it as well as the internet connections some from the same place.

The bad thing is that when there's a power shortage --- your computer won't work - at all.

/Karsten

_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#271211 - 01/30/08 03:13 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Koalanut Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 04/04/06
Posts: 832
Loc: Indiana

We had dial up for years and was hating it more and more. So we got a deal from AT & T last year and got broadband, and loved it cause it wasn't that much more and it meant that we could talk on the phone and use the internet at the same time without an extra line. Well, U-Verse came out here ( still AT & T), and they gave us a deal in December to upgrade to it which includes the tv and wireless. It was cheaper to change to U-Verse and have more channels, more tv's and wireless than stay with our cable and use the regular AT & T broadband, go figure (?). I think U-Verse is broadband, maybe someone can correct me. I know it isn't dial-up! I am totally and completely spoiled with the wireless and the broadband, and am still amazed with how much we can do compared to just 10 years or more ago! smile

Koalanut
_________________________
So many games, so little time....

Top
#271220 - 01/30/08 03:26 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Koalanut]
gremlin Offline

Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/01
Posts: 1613
Loc: Isle of Man
It's been ADSL broadband with me for about four years now. About 2 years ago we got a free upgrade to 2MB (everyone on the island in range of the exchanges got the upgrade), and now they're talking about a similar upgrade to 8MB by the end of this year.

However, if you want real speed, you need to go to Japan and Taiwan where broadband can be as much as 100MB.

Regarding power line networks, I know that they can definitely work in a domestic situation - I installed one last weekend, though my blog has more details of the Netgear XE103 product recall that I'm now going through. (see my sig)

Finally, for those people with 'broadband but not stable enough for large downloads', you might like to investigate P2P networks like bittorrent (eg. uTorrent, or Azureus). Please note, I'm not advocating piracy. You will find that some of the larger downloads (OpenOffice.org and Ubuntu linux distributions, for example) can be obtained (completely legally) via bittorrent. These systems are designed to download even the largest of files in many, many chunks, and to be completely resilient in the face of an unreliable connection.

Gremlin

Top
#271225 - 01/30/08 03:31 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie]
gamenut Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/08/00
Posts: 1554
Loc: Hiding Under a Rock
have dsl now..finally-find it a lot better than dial-up i used to have but this dsl is not the 'fast' dsl, which i think is like the bb you get from most tv cable companies. In 2009 i'm going to get THAT!

Top
#271245 - 01/30/08 04:17 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: bermag45]
orchid girl Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/13/06
Posts: 1869
Loc: Ontario,Canada
I have wireless connection. No problem with downloads. Live in the boonies , no cable, no phone high speed. Limit of 10GB per month but have never been charged for extra. bravo

Could not live with dial up again. hardwall

Top
#271271 - 01/30/08 05:26 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: orchid girl]
Mr 2 u Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/21/01
Posts: 509
Loc: Scotland
Broadband here, no limits.
_________________________
Adventure Games Forever

Top
#271285 - 01/30/08 05:45 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Mr 2 u]
Maritje Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/19/00
Posts: 541
Loc: Pine Tree State of Maine
Dial-up here unfortunately. No limit on downloads. For any large dl's I go to my son's house for his DSL.

What a pleasure to download lots and lots of files for my scrapbooking. Takes minutes to load on my flashdrive.

Sometimes I need to update my system and it would take hours to download so his DSL really comes in handy.

I would get broadband in a minute if it were available here.

Maritje
_________________________
Do or Dare but Dare to Do

Top
#271304 - 01/30/08 06:27 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie]
Barry Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 954
Loc: Sun City, AZ
Verizon high end Fios Broadband. Not a problem in the least with game downloads, particularly with a download accellerator I use to make connections practically warp speed.

Regards,
Barry
_________________________
I've seen God, and his name is iPad. Let us pray
yes, I do use my Hairbrush as a Microphone and Dance around in my Underwear. Thank you very much.


Top
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
6 registered (Iurii, Cathy1, BobH, Koala, Marian, Sassy), 68 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Moonbat, kooker1957, ctillis, GreenBoat, Spidermna133
8496 Registered Users