GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews


GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#271318 - 01/30/08 06:59 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Barry]
LadyLinda Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 11/16/99
Posts: 632
I had dial-up and recently switched to DSL. What a difference!

#271341 - 01/30/08 07:43 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: LadyLinda]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4840
Loc: The Country
DSL here and loving it wave
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody

#271643 - 01/31/08 11:36 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Winfrey]
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 02/20/05
Posts: 3636
Loc: stoke on trent England
noticed Winfrey devilchili

#271693 - 01/31/08 02:55 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: dragonuk44]
JanetC Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 01/31/08
Posts: 4
Loc: Florida (my heart's in Texas)
Cable broadband. No problems with downloads at all. It's expensive but so worth it!

#271704 - 01/31/08 03:20 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: JanetC]
3dobermans Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 10/01/05
Posts: 13338
Loc: Palouse country
Live in a small town and have dial-up at 31.2kbps. Largest download I can do is about 80Mb and can take up to 6+ hours.
The one little phone company in town offers a high speed/router (with a no return option and can never be used elsewhere if one decided to move), starting at 64kbps.
Phone/internet company has no competition and has never had any competitors.

Reading is to the mind, what exercise is to the body - Joseph Addison

#271707 - 01/31/08 03:25 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: 3dobermans]
kjos Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5818
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I have road runner cable and can get up to 900. kbps and can download just about anything at lighting speed,love it

Edited by kjos (01/31/08 03:30 PM)
Edit Reason: spelling
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

#271710 - 01/31/08 03:34 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: kjos]
MsMercury Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 11784
Loc: Scotland
Broadband, no limits. yay
"It's not what you have in your life
but who you have in your life that counts." puppy

I'm not getting old....just 'Marvelously Mature'! grin

#271741 - 01/31/08 05:09 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
Albert Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/21/99
Posts: 1067
Loc: Glennville, Ga., USA
Broadband on the desktop, wireless broadband on the laptop. My ISP also offers a 1-800 dial up number for broadband users when on the road at 10 cents a minute.

Howard the Doc, its been possible to connect to the internet through a cell phone for years, but its Sllooowwww (19.6k baud). I have an Ositech card and it does work as advertised.


#271752 - 01/31/08 05:44 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Albert]
Phoebe Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/17/07
Posts: 1541
Loc: Brazil
I have Broadband of 2000 kps and wireless in my laptop. And i never had problem with my downloads. My down is very fast.
For who it has dial up connection is bad is very slow for make dowload.
Yes,though i go through the valley of deep shade,i will have no fear of evil;for you are with me, your rod and your support are my comfort. Salmo23:4

#272316 - 02/01/08 11:56 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Phoebe]
LadyKestrel Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/08/03
Posts: 9518
Loc: The Garden State
I have cable broadband and no limits.
My favorite social media platform is called talking.

#272318 - 02/02/08 12:08 AM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
maggie57 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/13/04
Posts: 4633
Loc: Arizona, U.S.A.

I have Cox High Speed Cable and just love it, it is very fast as far as downloading. Would not want anything else.

Maggie wave

#272599 - 02/02/08 03:10 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: maggie57]
acornia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/24/01
Posts: 3805
Loc: Kentucky, USA
Dial up at 56k. No limit on it. Just don't download enough or on the internet enough to make it worthwhile.
Never resist a generous impulse.

#272732 - 02/02/08 08:39 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: acornia]
BeaSong Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/30/04
Posts: 2956
Loc: rural Oregon, USA
Howard the Doc , Sorry I'm so late getting back to your question. We've been without power (because of the snow) which means the modem that connects to the satellite doesn't work. And, I've also been out of town.
We've been trying to get my Mom's DirecWay dish and modem worked on for a month now and it is serviced by Hughes net. I'm shopping for something better. I'm to the point of thinking that ANYTHING is better! Grrrrrr. mad
"Come Watson, the Game is afoot!"

#272789 - 02/02/08 11:44 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard]
GuybrushThreepwood Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/06/03
Posts: 3722
Loc: Lincoln, NE
Dial-up (and my computer is ancient). I'll upgrade someday but for now I can't download large games.
Currently Playing:
Adventure: Entwined: The Perfect Murder
Darkside: Star Wars: The Old Republic

#274392 - 02/05/08 07:06 PM Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: GuybrushThreepwood]
Bernard Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/01/04
Posts: 3037
Loc: the Netherlands
I thank everyone for responding, at the end of this week I will post the results and my interpretations on them. Until then please keep posting!

wave Bernard

Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
2 registered (Koala, oldbroad), 50 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
mino, Nackdee, slippery3333, bebek, MatchaZen491
8734 Registered Users