GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 2 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 ... 25 26 >
Topic Options
#563476 - 11/01/09 04:23 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Lotus777]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
To be honest, since you are upgrading a Vista machine, I have a feeling Windows 7 is going to find all your drivers for you. I only had to manually install one drive for my video card. Windows 7 found everything else, down to my 7 year old HP printer!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#563481 - 11/01/09 04:31 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Lotus777]
Upsydaisy Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 819
Loc: Sunny Devon, United Kingdom
I had to do a clean install of Win 7 because during the upgrade installation my computer froze and I lost my OS.
When I logged on all my emails for the past 2-3 years were in my folder. Even ones I had deleted. This was great because I had kept all my registration codes for games etc., and were able to re-install.
Are emails kept by servers for a couple of years? or are they floating about in cyber-space. lol

Top
#563563 - 11/01/09 09:28 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Upsydaisy]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I've edited my first post to add two more games to the lists.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#563583 - 11/02/09 02:03 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Upsydaisy Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 819
Loc: Sunny Devon, United Kingdom
Hi Draclvr, have you tried to play Scratches (not the Directors Cut version).?
It installed fine but when I tried to play it, had the BSOD and a memory dump.
Caesar IV runs beautifully so does Harry Potter-Prisioner of Azkaban. wave

Top
#563644 - 11/02/09 08:08 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Upsydaisy]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Funny you should mention Scratches, Upsydaisy! I got it out last night and it's next on my list.

EDIT: Added it to the list as unsuccessful. Upsydaisy, is your Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#563685 - 11/02/09 10:33 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Upsydaisy]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6802
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Upsydaisy
Hi Draclvr, have you tried to play Scratches (not the Directors Cut version).?
It installed fine but when I tried to play it, had the BSOD and a memory dump.
Caesar IV runs beautifully so does Harry Potter-Prisioner of Azkaban. wave


Did you apply the patch?

Nucleosys

You can find some interesting comments by Agustin in the thread below -

Nucleosys Forum Index -> Technical Support

And on the second page, a work around -

Folks, I have some bad news. I did manage to reproduce the error: thing is I was testing the game in windowed mode and that works perfectly fine - it crashes badly when it attempts to switch to fullscreen, which means this is a very, very odd behavior. I can't say when (and if) I'll be able to look into this strange problem, but in the meantime you can definitely run Scratches in Windows 7 by simply editing the SCREAM.CFG file and setting FULLSCREEN to 0. It's a quick fix and far from ideal but at least you will be able to run the game.


Followed up with -

Forget what I said! Great news - after further testing, I realized what the problem is. Automatically detecting the refresh rate doesn't seem to work in Windows 7 as it previously did (again, I've NO idea how this could be causing a BSOD).

Just edit the SCREAM.CFG file and set RATE to 60. Then save and run the game. It will magically work again



Edited by InlandAZ (11/02/09 10:39 AM)

Top
#563911 - 11/02/09 10:23 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Obviously great minds think alike, Inland! I finally had some time tonight to look into the Scratches issue and found the same posts you did. I will edit my original post with the word-around and how to accomplish it.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#563932 - 11/03/09 03:50 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Upsydaisy Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 819
Loc: Sunny Devon, United Kingdom
Hallo all
Draclvr - I have 32-bit.
Inland - Will have a go at the patch and work around but am just settling into playing the new CSI!! I'll see if Draclvr has any success.
Thanks thanks

Top
#563962 - 11/03/09 07:50 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Lotus777]
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/25/05
Posts: 579
Loc: Bonney Lake, Washington
I installed Windows 7 Professional yesterday, the 32bit version on a new, clean hard drive using the "custom" install. Aside from the nail biting about whether it was actually installing on the new drive,(I have 3 hard drives) I can say that was the quickest and easiest OS install I have ever done. It did add another step in the OS selection on start-up. The list shows a choice of Windows 7 and "older versions", then I get to the choice of the earlier 2 XP drives.

I have to install some drivers yet, but things look fine so far. The introductory screen is really pretty.

Top
#563985 - 11/03/09 08:54 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Upsydaisy, I edited my first post with directions on how to do the work-around for Scratches.

That's great sarahandus! I had my other drives unplugged when I installed the Windows 7 release candidate - for the same reason you mentioned. I was too nervous about it installing on the correct hard drive! So I don't get that screen at the beginning - I have to go into my BIOS and change the boot order. Hopefully when I do the upgrade, that will change.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#563991 - 11/03/09 09:16 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Susie07 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/03
Posts: 3682
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hi, Draclvr!

I'm moving into the 21st century tomorrow and getting a high speed modem. Then I'll be installing Windows 7.

I have two physical hard drives, and all of my user files are on D: drive. Even though I back up my D: drive on a regular basis, I'll be sure to do so immediately prior to the custom install because it never even occurred to me that Windows 7 may install on the wrong drive.

Susan



Top
#564028 - 11/03/09 11:08 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Susie07]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I don't think it will! I was just nervous and inexperienced with this new OS..
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#564210 - 11/03/09 09:09 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Susie07 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/03
Posts: 3682
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hi, Draclvr!

I didn't run into any glitches when I upgraded from Win98 to WinXP, but it's better to be safe than sorry, especially when Windows 7 is responsible for reformatting my hard drive lol .

Susan

Top
#564230 - 11/03/09 10:15 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Susie07]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9855
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Words to live by, Susan!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#564303 - 11/04/09 07:30 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/25/05
Posts: 579
Loc: Bonney Lake, Washington
Susan,

At that stage in the installation where it asks which drive you want to install the OS on take your time to look carefully and you should have no problems. But I'd say Draclvr idea of removing the other drive(s) would certainly be a less stress full option.

I do have a problem with my DSL modem, there are no USB drivers for Win 7.

Top
Page 2 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 ... 25 26 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
9 registered (Yankee Clipper, scampy, judith, traveler, BrownEyedTigre, Winfrey, Iurii, 2 invisible), 49 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Newest Members
maggieann, charlene, mikcik, Trishpatsy, sosiebear1
8520 Registered Users