GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 3 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 26 >
Topic Options
#564326 - 11/04/09 09:05 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12641
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
However, as I found out, if you unplug those other drives, you will not get the nifty option of which of your drives you want to boot into. To boot another drive, you will have to go into the BIOS each time and change the boot drive order.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens!

Top
#564362 - 11/04/09 11:27 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
Susie07 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/03
Posts: 3936
Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hi, sarahandus!

Actually, for me, removing the other drive would be more stressful, so I think I will stick with backing up my user files on D: drive and keeping my fingers crossed smile !

Susan




Edited by Susie07 (11/04/09 11:27 AM)

Top
#564383 - 11/04/09 12:51 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/09/09
Posts: 233
Originally Posted By: sarahandus
I do have a problem with my DSL modem, there are no USB drivers for Win 7.
Can't you just go in through the Ethernet port?
_________________________
Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages

Top
#564601 - 11/05/09 07:13 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector]
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/25/05
Posts: 588
Loc: Bonney Lake, Washington
Collector, Unfortunately I don't have an Ethernet port so I'm having to order an adapter card. Next time I upgrade the motherboard I will make darn sure it has an Ethernet port. Of course, by that time it will be something else I miss. (sigh)

Top
#564678 - 11/05/09 11:07 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38206
Loc: southeast USA
Can't you put a ***network card*** in it?

edit:
Sorry I read "adapter card" as USB adapter.


Edited by Jenny100 (11/05/09 01:44 PM)

Top
#564698 - 11/05/09 12:49 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100]
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/09/09
Posts: 233
She said that she is ordering one, but I wonder if the motherboard is not new enough to have an onboard NIC, will it be able to handle Windows 7? 7 may not be the resource hog that Vista is, but it has been many years since an onboard NIC has been standard.
_________________________
Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages

Top
#564704 - 11/05/09 01:08 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector]
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 7071
Loc: Arizona
Are you positive you don't have a LAN (Ethernet) port? What is the model of the motherboard?

You can download and run CPU-Z to identify it - (look on the Mainboard tab)

CPU-Z


Top
#564752 - 11/05/09 04:02 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12641
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Collector, I put a new Gigabyte MOBO in the build I did this spring that does not have onboard NIC. It does have ethernet. Actually, while shopping for my components, I didn't see any MOBOs with onboard NIC, but they all had on-board ethernet. It does seem odd that Susan doesn't have it.

EDIT: I meant that it's odd that Susan doesn't have ethernet.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens!

Top
#564793 - 11/05/09 07:49 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38206
Loc: southeast USA
Here's a picture of a motherboard with an ethernet port.
See the blue, green, and pink audio ports arranged vertically?
To the left of that is an ethernet port with two USB ports below it.



Draclvr,
Do you have a picture of what you mean when you're referring to an "onboard NIC?"

Top
#564817 - 11/05/09 09:47 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12641
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I have no idea, Jenny. Collector mentioned that most all new motherboards now come with on-board NIC. My experience is that none of them do.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens!

Top
#564838 - 11/05/09 11:52 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/09/09
Posts: 233
NIC stands for Network Interface Controller. A few occasionally refer to it as "Network Interface Card". "On board" just means that the function is built into the motherboard and as such would not be used to refer to an add in card. But all of this is semantics and is beside the point. The point is that whatever you want to call the Ethernet Adapter, the feature has been built into most motherboards for nearly a decade, now.
_________________________
Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages

Top
#564845 - 11/06/09 12:26 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12641
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Ah, now I understand. I thought NIC referred to a wireless card or controller. I have to install wireless "NICs" in my computers as I live out in the country and have wireless broadband from a tower for my internet.

Thanks for explaining, Collector... One of the reasons I hang out here is to learn new stuff.
_________________________
Heading out to the gardens!

Top
#564895 - 11/06/09 08:15 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr]
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/25/05
Posts: 588
Loc: Bonney Lake, Washington
Like Draclvr I learn something new from here. On checking again with the motherboard manufacturer I see it does list a LAN/Ethernet port. I had assumed it was only for LAN. I had tried to use it and it doesn't work at this time. On checking with drivers for it, I found some and downloaded them.
Downloaded the CPU-Z you suggested Inland. We'll see what it says.

This won't be the first time I've ordered an unneeded item, and I'm sure won't be the last either.

Top
#564924 - 11/06/09 09:50 AM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus]
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 7071
Loc: Arizona
Quote:
I had tried to use it and it doesn't work at this time.

Make sure it is enabled in the BIOS as well as Windows.

Top
#564947 - 11/06/09 12:31 PM Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ]
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/09/09
Posts: 233
Check your Device Manager to see if it is under the "Network adapters" category. If it is not there, be sure that it is enabled in the BIOS, as InlandAZ said. If it is listed under a category called "Other devices" it need to have the driver installed for it. If you find the "Network adapters" category expanded and there is an explanation point icon over it, it means that Windows couldn't load the driver for it. This may be from a resource conflict, corrupt driver, etc. If this is the case you can try uninstalling the device and reinstalling the driver for it.
_________________________
Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages

Top
Page 3 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 26 >

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (RebKean, Urban Worrier, jboliver, TJL, bermag45, curly, meryl), 94 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Hispoiema, MorpheusDev, NDFan1994, OlderGamer12, Fingon
8965 Registered Users