GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#724859 - 05/16/11 07:30 PM Ankh on Win 7
cazziejoe Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 904
Loc: New York
Should I install the Vista patch if I'm using Win7 (actually does the game work on Win7?
Thanks
caz

Top
#724902 - 05/16/11 11:01 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: cazziejoe]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35202
Loc: southeast USA
Try it without the Vista patch. If it works, don't install the Vista patch.

Top
#725077 - 05/17/11 01:35 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: Jenny100]
cazziejoe Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 904
Loc: New York
Doesn't work. Has anyone gotten it to play on Win7?
caz

Top
#725100 - 05/17/11 03:04 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: cazziejoe]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35202
Loc: southeast USA
Is ***this*** the problem you're seeing?

The German version seems to have the same problem (check ***this translated page***). If I understand the last post, he said it worked when he turned off his dual monitors. But if you're only using one monitor, that suggestion won't help.

Top
#725160 - 05/17/11 06:44 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: Jenny100]
cazziejoe Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 904
Loc: New York
Thanks Jenny. That's not it. Loads fine but freezes up on the first screen. Do we know if anyone got it to run?
Thanks, caz

------------------------
May 17, 2011 09:09 PM

Got it working fine!
Thanks, caz

Top
#725201 - 05/17/11 09:04 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: cazziejoe]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35202
Loc: southeast USA
Just out of curiosity, what did you do to get it working?

Top
#725926 - 05/20/11 05:29 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: Jenny100]
cazziejoe Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/08/06
Posts: 904
Loc: New York
Just installed with no tweaks and used the patch (which is a bit tricky).
caz

Top
#725953 - 05/20/11 07:17 PM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: cazziejoe]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35202
Loc: southeast USA
How do you mean that using the patch was tricky?

Top
#895739 - 06/20/13 03:51 AM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: Jenny100]
lanlynk Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/07/13
Posts: 292
Loc: Alaska
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
How do you mean that using the patch was tricky?

Maybe I missed another post somewhere about Ankh running on Windows 7, but this old thread was all I found. I thought I'd give a little bit more info for the Windows 7 and Games list.

I have Ankh: Reverse the Curse CD, bought awhile back on Amazon. It's the Viva Media version which is suppose to be free of StarForce. I had it running on my XP machine, but had never finished the game, so I tried to install it on my Win 7. The game didn't run when I first installed it, got stuck on the Deck13 loading screen.

But I did get it to run, and have spent some time in-game with no problems. To get Ankh to work, here's what I did. First, I set it to run in Win XP (Service Pack 3) compatibility mode. Then I downloaded the Vista patch from Game Front:

Vista Patch for Ankh

The patch is basically one file, audiere.dll, which you switch out for the default file found (on my computer) in C:\Program Files (x86)\Ankh\bin\release. I removed the old file to a backup spot, and then just copied over the new file I had downloaded in its place.

Heads-up: the readme (Lisez-moi) and description for this patch is in French, but it's listed for the French or English games. The readme says it's for Vista 32 bit. I'm running Win 7 64 bit, but using XP compatibility mode along with the new file worked. I had to use both the file and XP mode though; neither worked on its own.

Maybe this solution would work with Win 8 too.
_________________________
"Dragons were never gone. They were just invisible and very, very quiet." ~ M'aiq the Liar (Skyrim)

Top
#895783 - 06/20/13 08:58 AM Re: Ankh on Win 7 [Re: cazziejoe]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35202
Loc: southeast USA
Thank you Lanlynk.
I've updated the Windows 7 and Games thread with your instructions.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (gamern, Susie07, Volkana, Marian, Sorta Blonde, mj2c, Rowan, CCbomber, BrownEyedTigre, luv2travel), 82 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
GreenBoat, Spidermna133, kamoj, RebKean, gerald
8493 Registered Users