GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#842168 - 10/13/12 06:35 PM How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC
Donald Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/09/07
Posts: 477
Loc: Florida

Top
#842363 - 10/14/12 04:45 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Haroula Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/02/10
Posts: 7384
Loc: Greece
thumbsup wave
_________________________

Dear Math, please grow up and solve your own problems, I'm tired of solving them for you.



Top
#842371 - 10/14/12 05:18 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
One of the best features of Windows 8 for sure. Pre-ordered my Windows 8 Pro from Newegg with a $10 promo code for $59.99.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842420 - 10/14/12 09:16 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Draclvr]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6734
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
One of the best features of Windows 8 for sure. Pre-ordered my Windows 8 Pro from Newegg with a $10 promo code for $59.99.


I've decided on a better solution - I'm going back to Windows 7 smile

Top
#842432 - 10/14/12 11:06 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: InlandAZ]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35155
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
I've decided on a better solution - I'm going back to Windows 7 smile

Probably the best way to "reset" Windows 8.

Top
#842437 - 10/14/12 11:30 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Oh, I'm definitely hanging on to my Windows 7 too!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842448 - 10/15/12 12:40 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6734
Loc: Arizona
Yeah, I've given it all I can give for months. First as a VM and then as a real OS. There's just nothing in it for me.

You should peruse the TechNet forums, it's really depressing -

Here's my favorite quote (Pay attention to the last statement, and hang on the those Windows 7 discs).

I know that you are singing this tune for ever, but this is not what Microsoft and Sinofski are preaching. Maybe you should consult with Microsoft. Sinofski clearly states that all development from now on should be in WinRT (because programs written to it would run in all of Microsoft's "modern" platforms - just not all the previous Windows versions). Microsoft has termed the desktop as "legacy" (and we all know what happens to "legacy". You should not attempt to deceive here. You know pretty well that if WindowsRT takes off and Win8 is a success, the desktop mode would be dropped like a dead carcass because Microsoft would like to enhance its income by selling (a) apps through its Windows Marketplace and (b) subscriptions for more demanding computing (see Office 365); Microsoft has a strong bias against the desktop for all the "right" (lots of money) reasons. It may survive with restrictions in Win9 but my guess is that it would be gone for good by Win10 (about 6 years from now).

Top
#842449 - 10/15/12 12:52 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I've heard all the doom and gloom about the desktop. I do agree that at some point it will no longer be profitable for Microsoft to support us and 6 years doesn't seem too far a stretch for them to totally ditch us. I will go with Windows 8 on a separate disk and embrace it as much as possible. But, something tells me Windows 7 will remain my main "go-to" OS for a very long time. I even picked up a spare Windows 7 at Newegg for $79 some time ago and stashed it away! Heck, I still have 2 legitimate 98SE disks I'm not parting with.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842614 - 10/15/12 07:13 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1456
Loc: Denmark, Europe
If we're lucky, it could be that win8 will be like Windows Vista.

And why is it that Microsoft has decided to release an operating system every 3 years or so?

I still use WINXP - it still works perfectly fine....

Does anyone know, btw, if one can buy a copy of WIN7 after the release of WIN8? Knowing Microsoft, probably not...

---

As for the desktop solution what happens to our games? Most games still uses a mouse for input, do we know have to use a stylus? And if we insist on using a desktop computer with a separate screen do we need to buy a new screen?
_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#842638 - 10/15/12 09:07 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, you can, but they may be harder to find. Microsoft will be supporting Windows 7 until 2020. I would grab a copy if you don't already have one. I will be installing Windows 8 on a separate hard drive, but keeping my Windows 7 and even my old XP computer. Remember that your XP will no longer be supported after 2014.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842639 - 10/15/12 09:09 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35155
Loc: southeast USA
I was reading what someone named "ADRz" wrote ***here on the technet forums***
Quote:
To be certain WinRT e/devolved from Win32, but programs written to Win32 are not compatible with programs to WinRT. Thus, if you develop a "Metro/WinRT program", it will run on Win8 (but not in the desktop mode of Win8), it would run in Windows RT (what is running in the ARM-based tablets), but it will not run in Win7 or any other previous version of Windows. In its core, Win8 is incompatible with previous Windows versions (thus, the desktop mode).

What he says makes it sound like the WinRT under Win8 is a completely different operating system than previous versions of Windows --> Programs made for Windows 8 won't run on earlier versions of Windows. So does this mean that games made for Windows 7 and earlier are incompatible with Windows 8? Or would Windows 8 use some form of emulation for games and other programs made for older versions of Windows?

Top
#842642 - 10/15/12 09:26 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
From what I understand, Windows RT is a completely different animal from Windows 8. It is not meant for gaming and the things we normally do on a desktop. It will not even run on a desktop - it will strictly run on ARM tablets.

As far as Windows 8 itself, it appears to run games extremely well. I'm installing and playing games from 2002 right now without a hitch on my Windows 8. I've also installed Big Fish games and newer games and all have played flawlessly. I'm anticipating Windows 8 to have the same ability to play games, including older ones, as Windows 7.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842645 - 10/15/12 09:34 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6734
Loc: Arizona
Quote:
So does this mean that games made for Windows 7 and earlier are incompatible with Windows 8?


They're incompatible with WinRT (which is why the Desktop component of Windows 8 is needed). I haven't seen the API yet, but I imagine it's quite different.

Top
#842651 - 10/15/12 09:42 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35155
Loc: southeast USA
So does that mean Windows 8 would be useless for playing our games? That's what it sounds like.

Top
#842659 - 10/15/12 10:12 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Jenny100]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6734
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
So does that mean Windows 8 would be useless for playing our games? That's what it sounds like.

Once the Desktop component is eliminated, yes - so hang on to those discs.

Top
#842675 - 10/16/12 12:13 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
And a good reason to grab a Windows 7 OS. When they stop supporting the desktop, PC gaming is over unless you have another OS. This version of Windows 8 will play your games just fine. But who knows what will be in Windows 9 or Windows 10. I'm not holding my breath for desktop support.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842718 - 10/16/12 09:05 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35155
Loc: southeast USA
So is what ADRz posted wrong? He said
Originally Posted By: ADRz
First, it is important to understand that "Metro/Modern/Whatever" is not an just an interface. Programs written to it are written to the WinRT API, not the Win32 API. In essence, it is the front end of the portable OS that is in the heart and the core of Win8.

and further down the page
Originally Posted By: ADRz
It is very simple. Microsoft cannot allow you to turn off "Metro/WinRT". In the first place, it is really the core of Win8 and it runs what you used to associate as Windows only as an application (the desktop).

Top
#842720 - 10/16/12 09:59 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I'm reading that post as what he is talking about is Windows RT, not Windows 8 - but I'm not sure. If what he says is true on Windows 8, why am I able to install and play games? Why can I stay on the desktop side for days and never even look at Metro/Modern or whatever they call it now? Windows 8 is x86 based architecture and legacy programs work just fine on it.

Now, Windows RT? Yes, all that is true from what I understand. It's strictly going to be "Metro" and there is no desktop side.

Windows RT and Windows 8 are two different animals.

From a tech writer named Jeff Bertolucci...

Quote:
When Microsoft launches Windows 8 on October 26, it also will unveil Windows RT, a new version of Microsoft's operating system designed specifically for ARM-based devices. Windows 8 and Windows RT have much in common, particularly the Modern UI Style (formerly Metro) design, with Live Tiles that dynamically display personalized information such as the current weather or the number of messages in your inbox. However, they have dramatic differences as well, most notably Windows RT's inability to run legacy (Intel X86-based) Windows apps.


You cannot buy Windows RT and install it on a computer as it will not run natively on Intel or AMD powered computers. Windows 8 will also not run on an ARM powered device.

Yes, the desktop is still supported in Windows 8. But what about Windows 9 or Windows 10? How long will it take before desktop support is dropped?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842749 - 10/16/12 12:24 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Draclvr]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
I think my XP computer is dying. I am saving as fast as I can to get a new one. It will take me another 4-5 months to get enough money together. Should I purchase Win 7 separately before hand to make sure I get it? I will buy my next computer from ecollege.

Top
#842750 - 10/16/12 12:34 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9626
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Why don't you send ecollegePC an email and ask them how long they will continue to sell Windows 7? I know they had XP for a long time after Windows 7 was released.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#842758 - 10/16/12 01:06 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Draclvr]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Sent them a brief question and hope to hear soon.

Edit: Sent me an email saying they would offer it till it was discontinued, probably at least a year. I guess I will wait unless you guys think I should get it early to be on the safe side. It's hard to imagine they won't keep it going for a while yet.


Edited by SharonB (10/16/12 07:41 PM)

Top
#842846 - 10/16/12 08:27 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Draclvr]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35155
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
I'm reading that post as what he is talking about is Windows RT, not Windows 8 - but I'm not sure. If what he says is true on Windows 8, why am I able to install and play games?

I think he may just be wrong -- at least he's explaining things wrong.

Sharon, I think you have time to save up for the computer. I don't think it's necessary for you to go out and buy Windows 7 separately unless you want a spare in addition to the one that comes with the eCollege computer.

Top
#842886 - 10/17/12 01:51 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Donald]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6734
Loc: Arizona
Quote:
Why can I stay on the desktop side for days and never even look at Metro/Modern or whatever they call it now? Windows 8 is x86 based architecture and legacy programs work just fine on it.


Because Windows 8 supports both the Win32 API as well as the WinRT API, but it may not always be that way.

It looks suspiciously like the path Microsoft took with DOS under Windows Millennium. Maybe the good folks that authored DOSBox will develop a WinXP/7 Box.

BTW - Staying on the desktop side was one of the larger reasons for dumping it. I have no use for Metro. The same is true for Office 2013, all they did was square out the corners and remove Aero transparency to make it look like Windows 8 - I don't count that as progress.

Edit -

There's a neat little trick to get Virtual PC 2007 running under Windows 8 (VMware doesn't do Win 3.x well enough for me). Google it, you'll find it. There's nothing unethical about it, but tricking the OS to let it run is unbelievably simple. It's almost like a 1st year programmer put the Do-Not-Run code in place.


Edited by InlandAZ (10/17/12 01:56 AM)

Top
#842887 - 10/17/12 01:56 AM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: Jenny100]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Thanks Jenny. I'll wait then. happydance

Top
#843262 - 10/18/12 07:10 PM Re: How to Refresh or Reset Your Windows 8 PC [Re: InlandAZ]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
There's a neat little trick to get Virtual PC 2007 running under Windows 8 (VMware doesn't do Win 3.x well enough for me). Google it, you'll find it. There's nothing unethical about it, but tricking the OS to let it run is unbelievably simple. It's almost like a 1st year programmer put the Do-Not-Run code in place.


Good tip Inland! Thanks!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
17 registered (connie, chrissie, ipad_Lover, CCbomber, Cathy1, jimrh69, Haroula, Kickaha, looney4labs, kjos, 2 invisible), 70 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Lubomir, andi6116, razorsedge4444, LUD, hev67
8485 Registered Users