GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#848255 - 11/09/12 05:31 PM Google Chrome.... Fixed
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
I've been using Chrome for a long time. Today I tried to load it and it won't start.. won't open. I click on the icon and it flashes and shuts right down... I have tried turning off Avast... uninstalling... nothing is working... any idea of how I can get chrome back?
Did a quick scan with Malaware... did ccleaner too.


Found an old version... loaded it and now it is working :-)


Edited by Winfrey (11/12/12 07:18 PM)
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848269 - 11/09/12 06:49 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35198
Loc: southeast USA
I've never heard of Malaware and can't find it with a Google search. Are you thinking of Malware Bytes? If you installed something called "Malaware" it may actually be malware and the source of your problems.

I don't really know the answer, and can only suggest what I'd do if I wanted to run Chrome. So if someone who is familiar with Chrome knows how to fix this problem, feel free to give a better answer.

I found a couple of threads about Chrome failing to start, which might give you some idea what to do:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/advice/9558911/Why-has-Google-Chrome-stopped-working.html

http://www.ask.com/answers/135358561/ja-question?q=&o=0&l=dir&jss=0

Or you could try uninstalling and reinstalling Chrome. Delete the Chrome folder after uninstalling and run Ccleaner's registry cleaner to "Scan for Issues."

The problem could be conflicting Add-Ons to Chrome, but if Chrome won't even start, I don't know how to remove them. It could also be a failed update, if you've set Chrome to automatic update in the background.

Top
#848270 - 11/09/12 06:52 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Malware Bytes? yes that is what I ment.
Already uninstalled it.. from my add and remove programs and ran ccleaner...and deleted the chrome folder... thanks but this did not help


Edited by Winfrey (11/09/12 06:55 PM)
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848271 - 11/09/12 06:58 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
Try manually uninstalling it and then reinstall it.

Manually uninstall Google Chrome in Windows

Top
#848278 - 11/09/12 07:26 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Thanks for the info InlandAZ I did what it said and reinstalled but to no avail.... it starts to open and shuts down immediately.
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848292 - 11/09/12 08:34 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
Try this one -

Google Chrome Safe Mode

Look for the section that describes how to do it in the shortcut properties.

If you want to create a shortcut that opens Chrome in incognito mode, duplicate an existing Chrome shortcut, right-click on the shortcut, select "Properties" and append this flag to the target value: --incognito (don't forget to add a space to separate the flag).

Top
#848306 - 11/09/12 10:20 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Almost InlandAZ it tried to open... but didn't...It flickered longer but did not catch... darn!
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848310 - 11/09/12 10:59 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9663
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Winfrey, when you said you ran CCleaner, did you also run it on the registry like Jenny mentioned? A Google search turned up some posts on this issue on the Chrome forums. Have you tried asking what might be going on there?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#848346 - 11/10/12 07:43 AM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
I ran ccleaner on the registry too. I have not posted at their forum but have gone there and read posts. Their thought is thar it would be your Firewallor Jerusalem protection. I turned both off. Or User profile is bad. I also changed the name on that file and it created a new one..did not work.


Edited by Winfrey (11/10/12 07:56 AM)
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848349 - 11/10/12 08:31 AM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Donald Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/09/07
Posts: 477
Loc: Florida
Try shutting down your computer completely and not just a restart and see if this helps.

Top
#848357 - 11/10/12 09:02 AM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Hi, Donald I shut down a couple of times to no avail. I posted at the forum. copied my windows temp chrome folder for them... would you like to see it?
I found a chrome.7Z in my chrome application installer folder I uncompressed it and found a chrome-bin with an chrome.exe file I right clicked on that and in the compatibility I changed it to windows 2000. It states some things wont work but it opened?! not sure how to get the real one working. But at least this opens
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848399 - 11/10/12 11:24 AM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
Check the version number of the working browser - is it newer or older than the one you have installed? Does it run without setting the compatibility mode to Windows 2000?

You should be able to extract the 7Z file and manually replace the copy that isn't working. That, or perform a restore prior to Chrome not working.

Top
#848533 - 11/10/12 07:25 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Did a restore and was told I was missing data files... came back to original... deleted everything again... in both program files and documents and settings..ran ccleaner.. still won't work.. so I give up.. have it set on windows 2000 mode and maybe someone from the forum will see what my widows temp file error message means..


Edited by Winfrey (11/10/12 07:26 PM)
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848707 - 11/11/12 05:31 PM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4325
Loc: The Country
Thank all of you for trying. It 's not so much loosing Chrome.....but the fact I could not figure it out. I am not too hopeful that the forum will be much help. There is already one post like mine with no answer. Chrome must be inbetted really well into the computer. I can open it using compatibility mode windows 2000. But it still bugs me.
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#848783 - 11/12/12 01:04 AM Re: Google Chrome [Re: Winfrey]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5460
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Winfrey did you, or do you know, if Chrome updated itself recently? Or have you updated something prior to Chrome not working? I read back through this thread and didn't see where you said anything about updates. I let some of my programs check for updates, but ask before installation. Only two do I let check and automatically update.

I find it strange if others are having this problem Google wouldn't try and straighten things out.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (Jarkeld, niteowl07, looney4labs, Gimme, Midge, Jenny100, GBC, Melia, 2 invisible), 81 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
kamoj, RebKean, gerald, wJake, Guimerius
8491 Registered Users