GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#858325 - 12/23/12 10:20 AM update drivers
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
where do i go to update and fix my drivers so i do not get that blue screen.

Top
#858336 - 12/23/12 10:47 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35307
Loc: southeast USA
That depends on which driver is causing the problem.
Can you tell if it's a video driver?
Or is it a sound card driver?
Did you update any drivers recently?

Top
#858338 - 12/23/12 10:49 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
The OEM's web site offers updates - If you have a brand name PC, like Dell, you can visit their site and enter your Service Tag (or model type if you don't have it). For add-on cards, like video or sound, visit the chipset manufacturer (ATI, AMD, NVIDIA etc...)

Is there a specific BSOD you see?

Top
#858339 - 12/23/12 10:49 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
no i haven't update any drivers yet.

Top
#858340 - 12/23/12 10:52 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
Press the Windows Logo Key+R, enter DXDiag and then press OK.

What is on the Display and Sound Tabs?

Top
#858347 - 12/23/12 11:09 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
i have amd catalyst control center if that helps.

Top
#858364 - 12/23/12 11:49 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: family
i have amd catalyst control center if that helps.


That would be an ATI card, now owned and supported by AMD. Visit their site on the link below and enter your model number for the latest drivers.

AMD Driver Support

You'll still need to run DXDiag to identify the model if you don't know it.

Top
#858365 - 12/23/12 11:51 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
what is the window logo key tr that i need to press.

Top
#858373 - 12/23/12 11:59 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5497
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
On the bottom row of your keyboard, to the left of the space bar you have Alt, and just to the left of the Alt key you have the Windows logo. It looks like four small squares, sort of flag like.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#858378 - 12/23/12 12:26 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
thank you very much i found it, i ran it and i didn't find anything wrong i think it is dracula 3 that is the problem.


Edited by family (12/23/12 12:40 PM)

Top
#858390 - 12/23/12 01:12 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: family
thank you very much i found it, i ran it and i didn't find anything wrong i think it is dracula 3 that is the problem.


You don't want to look for errors, you want to identify your video card. What does it say on the Display Tab (Name, Manufacture & Chip Type)?

Top
#858410 - 12/23/12 02:45 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35307
Loc: southeast USA
Here's a picture with an example of what you're looking for
http://www.windowsresource.net/cimages/dxdiag2.jpg

What you need to know are the top three things on the left side --
1. the "Name" of the card
2. the "Manufacturer"
3. the "Chip Type"

The example has the Name, the Manufacturer, and the Memory circled, but you can see the "Chip Type" (chipset) is listed right under the Manufacturer.

You can also check the right side of the tab for the "Version" and "Date" of your drivers.

Top
#858444 - 12/23/12 05:27 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
okay thank you guys, it is ati radeon hd 5450 is the name, chip is amd radeon graphic processor {ox68f9} manafactor is advanced micro devices inc.{mhz}. and the date is 7-27-12, and the version is 6.1400107270.


Edited by family (12/23/12 05:43 PM)

Top
#858448 - 12/23/12 06:51 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
That driver seems to be fairly current, but you can still search the AMD sit to see if there's a more current one.

Top
#858467 - 12/23/12 09:04 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35307
Loc: southeast USA
ATI has drivers here
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

You'll have to enter your version of Windows and other information yourself -- or maybe the automatic detection would work.

Top
#858468 - 12/23/12 09:08 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
okay thanks you guys.

Top
#858592 - 12/24/12 02:47 PM funny thing about dracula 3
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
i download the big fish part 1 and it play, i download a driver i still get the blue screen.

Top
#858595 - 12/24/12 03:03 PM Re: funny thing about dracula 3 [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
If you post the content of the BSOD we might get a better idea of what's causing it.

Top
#858596 - 12/24/12 03:04 PM Re: funny thing about dracula 3 [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
what is the bsod.

Top
#858598 - 12/24/12 03:12 PM Re: funny thing about dracula 3 [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
none of those thank you guys very much.


Edited by family (12/24/12 03:12 PM)

Top
#858614 - 12/24/12 04:07 PM Re: funny thing about dracula 3 [Re: family]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9802
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
...and bsod is short for Blue Screen of Death... or your blue screens. Without the message on the BSOD, it's hard to know what the problem is.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#858627 - 12/24/12 05:12 PM Re: funny thing about dracula 3 [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
technial info stop 0x0000005,0xbf08f7a9,0x9ab49a00,0x00000000, ati2cqag.d11 address bfo8fa7a9 base at bf061000 date stamp 50133dae.


Edited by family (12/26/12 01:24 PM)

Top
#858643 - 12/24/12 07:42 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9802
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Quote:
ati2cqa9.d11


This part indicates an issue with your ATI video card. But I have no idea what it means - you'll have to wait for Inland or Jenny or someone who knows more than I do.

After you downloaded those drivers, did you ever install them?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#858644 - 12/24/12 07:46 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
yes i download the drivers jenny gave me and still get it.

Top
#858666 - 12/25/12 12:13 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9802
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
We know you downloaded, but as I asked, did you install them?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#858696 - 12/25/12 08:30 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
yes , i click download and then install, and thank you guys, they are in amd files.


Edited by family (12/25/12 08:36 AM)

Top
#858722 - 12/25/12 11:11 AM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35307
Loc: southeast USA
You may have to uninstall the existing drivers before you can successfully update to new ones.
ATI/AMD has instruction videos on how to install, update, and uninstall drivers at the bottom of this page
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

The video instructions are for Windows 7.
I don't know if you're using Windows 7 or XP.

If you're using 64-bit Windows 7, be sure you get drivers for the 64-bit version of Windows 7.

If you're using the 32-bit Windows 7, you'll want the drivers for the 32-bit Windows 7.

If you get drivers for the wrong version of Windows, it could cause error messages or the drivers might not even install.

If you ONLY see the error message after trying to run the game, the problem may be an incompatibility between that particular version of the drivers and the game -- or it could be due to a conflict the drivers are having with previous drivers that weren't uninstalled before uninstalling the new ones.

Top
#858766 - 12/25/12 03:17 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
okay thank you guys very much.

Top
#858789 - 12/25/12 08:30 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
Is it possible you misspelled the DLL above? I couldn't locate any info on the AMD site, or any threads relating to it. I did find several hits on ati2cqa.dll; it's apparently associated with malware.

Ati2cqa.dll general information


Top
#858870 - 12/26/12 01:17 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
thank you guys very much and you are right i corrected it above.


Edited by family (12/26/12 01:25 PM)

Top
#858900 - 12/26/12 03:26 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6767
Loc: Arizona
That is a known ATI DLL, so no malware worries. Try Jenny's suggestion - completely remove the drivers, and then install the latest version.

Top
#858910 - 12/26/12 04:26 PM Re: update drivers [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1582
Loc: georgia
okay and thank you guys very much, i went and took my computer in to be fix and they change it to window 7, but it still won't play.


Edited by family (01/07/13 06:33 PM)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
14 registered (Lex, gaily, kjos, GBC, Bellman, gremlin, cmumm59, CanukDenis, InlandAZ, dianne), 79 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Bellman, B_McAtee, pignose, Mistywarren, keonie
8511 Registered Users