GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#867663 - 02/11/13 08:01 PM The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3143
Loc: Southern Exposure
I had The Dame Was Loaded years ago and enjoyed it on my old W95 but time has moved on and I am now running Windows 7 and it won't run , can I put Dos on this computer and run that grand old game?
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#867697 - 02/11/13 11:38 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35231
Loc: southeast USA
"The Dame Was Loaded" is supposed to be playable in DOSBox
http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=2000&letter=T

Don't bother trying to install real DOS on a modern computer. Even if you installed it inside a virtual machine, it would run the game way too fast on a modern computer.

DOSBox has a way to adjust the speed -- unlike real DOS.

Top
#867727 - 02/12/13 05:20 AM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3143
Loc: Southern Exposure
I still have my old W98 in my spare room, I wonder if I could run it there. Maybe some day it will show up on GOG, that would be a treat.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#867733 - 02/12/13 06:04 AM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Kaki's Sister Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 11/21/04
Posts: 16880
Loc: Marlborough USA
Lexxy I'll bet it would play on W98 in compatibility mode. You ought to try it.
_________________________
Gerry

Top
#867757 - 02/12/13 08:13 AM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35231
Loc: southeast USA
Kaki's Sister,
I don't think compatibility mode will help with DOS games like "The Dame Was Loaded." DOS games use 16-bit code. If Lexxy has 64-bit Windows 7, like most people do, games with 16-bit code will not even install, let alone play, unless you use something like DOSBox or a VM. "The Dame Was Loaded" was made for DOS 5.0 and is not a Windows game even though it played on older Win95/98 computers.

Lexxy,
The game may work in Windows 98, though that will probably depend on the computer and what sound card it has. Some DOS games have an option to play without sound if you're having trouble with the sound card, but I'm not sure about this one.

Top
#867838 - 02/12/13 12:39 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Jenny100]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23214
Loc: United Kingdom
I no longer have the game but it did work in Win98SE for me - although if I remember correctly there was a bug that lots of people encountered and to get past it a file download was required. But where the file was available from I can't remember now, sorry !! frown

[Someone like Mrbill might know ??]
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#867839 - 02/12/13 12:40 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Mad]
Marian Offline
Moderator
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 19576
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I've played the game using DOSBox. wave

Top
#867861 - 02/12/13 02:26 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Marian]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23214
Loc: United Kingdom
Did you encounter the bug, Marian ??

I think it was to do with accessing an office at some stage woozy
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#867883 - 02/12/13 04:40 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35231
Loc: southeast USA
There are some saves at ***Savegameserver*** but I don't know if one of them gets you by the bug you're talking about.

Top
#867893 - 02/12/13 05:27 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3143
Loc: Southern Exposure
Thanks so much everyone for your input. I will try it on my old W98se and tell you if it works. I did find the complete uploaded game by someone who played it at Youtube. Even if I can no longer I will keep it for old times sake.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#867896 - 02/12/13 05:37 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Jenny100]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23214
Loc: United Kingdom
Good site Jenny100 !! thumbsup

I'm pretty sure the problem of the day when I was playing the game had to do with using a key to get into an upstairs office somewhere.
[Not the Detective's own office.]
However, I can't tell from the descriptions given on site whether any of the saves they offer address that problem specifically.
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#867971 - 02/13/13 06:09 AM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Kaki's Sister Offline
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 11/21/04
Posts: 16880
Loc: Marlborough USA
Jenny100 I was just referring to Lexxy's old computer with W98 on it not the newer one. Sorry I should have been clearer in my response.
_________________________
Gerry

Top
#868079 - 02/13/13 06:21 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Kaki's Sister]
Marian Offline
Moderator
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 19576
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Mad, I don't recall experiencing that bug. wave

Top
#868122 - 02/13/13 11:01 PM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: Marian]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23214
Loc: United Kingdom
Marian (and all) I am so sorry !! rolleyes

After investigating further, it turns out that the game that had the bug wasn't "The Dame Was Loaded" after all - but "Noire : A Shadowy Thriller" redface

I played them both around the same time and that's my only excuse crazy

I do apologise slapforehead
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#868163 - 02/14/13 08:57 AM Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35231
Loc: southeast USA
Thanks for the clarification, Mad.
I'm sure we've all confused games we've played once in a while.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (3dobermans, Gimme, Collector, gymcandy1, CCbomber, GBC, hagatha, oldbroad, looney4labs, kjos), 71 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
LadyCarol, RibaSoma, Gey, Moonbat, kooker1957
8498 Registered Users