GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#868205 - 02/14/13 01:59 PM Google Chrome help
maggie57 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/13/04
Posts: 4633
Loc: Arizona, U.S.A.
I had Google Chrome on, but took it off as it was giving me problems. I am now trying to put it back on, everytime I try to put one on from the search they are garbage, none actually go on my computer. I want the real Google Chrome. Can someone give me a link to it please. I was given a link by a friend and it turned out to be one of those bad ones. Thanks so much. I am back to playing Torchligt, since I could not find my way around in Torchlight 2, I will wait awhile, and I am finding as I get older I do not have the patience I once had.

Thanks

Maggie think

Top
#868223 - 02/14/13 03:31 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9789
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I just did a search on Google Chrome and the official one came up first... Not sure why you're getting rogue ones.

https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/browser/
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#868244 - 02/14/13 05:11 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: Draclvr]
maggie57 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/13/04
Posts: 4633
Loc: Arizona, U.S.A.
That is the one that I had downloaded and it is not the offical Google Chrome now, no icon to my desktop, it does not go to my control panel and when I put something in to search it does not do it and it wants to add lots of garbage?????? Do you know what could of happened?


maggie think smile

Top
#868253 - 02/14/13 05:43 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4395
Loc: The Country
I had a lot of problems with Chrome about a month ago... if you go to your control panel and click on add remove programs do you see it there?? I had to remove it from there and run ccleaner to remove the little things it left behind.. then reloaded the new chrome


Edited by Winfrey (02/14/13 08:00 PM)
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#868260 - 02/14/13 06:01 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9789
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, maggie, that is the official Google Chrome download link. Google Chrome is indeed in your Control Panel under add/remove programs. Try uninstalling it again and this time run CCleaner on both Applications and the Registry. Then try downloading and installing again.

What browser are you using to get to the Chrome download? If you are not taken to the official Google Chrome download page in the link I provided - which is the correct one - then you may have some malware which is redirecting you somewhere else.

See your email in just a few minutes. If you do not see the pages in the screenshots I sent you, you probably have malware and are being redirected.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#868269 - 02/14/13 07:11 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: Draclvr]
maggie57 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/13/04
Posts: 4633
Loc: Arizona, U.S.A.
I am having to use IE 9 which I do not use much, I will do as you say, I will have to download cccleaner.

Thanks

Maggie

I will let you know if I am still pulling my hair out crazy

Top
#868303 - 02/14/13 10:44 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9789
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I had to go bowling and found the email had been returned. I'll resend. If you are not seeing the screens I sent you, you also need to run your antivirus software and if you have Malwarebytes, you should also run that.

You can always consider downloading and installing Firefox if you don't like Chrome.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#868305 - 02/14/13 11:02 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
Or Opera. Opera is a nice web browser.

Top
#868308 - 02/14/13 11:34 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9789
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I really should try Opera too - I hear a lot of good things about it.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#868318 - 02/15/13 01:38 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: Draclvr]
Homer6 Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5492
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
I'm running Opera and the link you gave, Drac, takes me to the official Chrome download site.

BIG NOTE: Something to keep in mind about Opera. Photobucket made changes to their site and right now they do NOT support Opera. If you use Opera to access Photobucket you will not be able to see any pictures you have stored there. Also, if you pull an avatar from Photobucket, and are using Opera, you won't be able to see your avatar displayed on the site where it's used.

ANOTHER NOTE: As of today, 2-15-13, it appears Photobucket has finally adjusted their software so it once again works with Opera. I've checked twice today, and so far--find your own wood--things are fine.


Edited by Homer6 (02/16/13 12:42 AM)
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#868546 - 02/16/13 02:11 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
traveler Online   content
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 3240
Loc: Rivellon
YouTube (Google) also seems to have it in for Opera. I'm having a lot of trouble recently with "this video is currently unavailable", though they will play in a browser based on Chrome or Firefox. They already give me a hassle with my Google site if I try to use Opera to edit it. I have no idea why Google supports every other browser in the universe but Opera but I'm not about to give it up. It's the best one I've ever used.

Although Tor is really handy when I don't want to be identified. grin

Gil.
_________________________
"Best not to think about it. I don't want to fall to bits 'cos of excess existential thought."

Top
#868754 - 02/17/13 12:43 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: traveler]
Homer6 Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5492
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Perhaps Google not playing nice with Opera is their way of saying use Chrome. I've see more than one update that wants to download and install Chrome. If I want to use Chrome, I'll download and install it myself. Right now Opera is the KISS of all the browsers I've used.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#868760 - 02/17/13 02:35 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
traveler Online   content
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 3240
Loc: Rivellon
Tell me, Homer6. Adobe tries to install Chrome when I install an update to Flash. It almost caught me a couple of times and I had to stop the install and start again, unchecking that 'option'. That really gravels me when the default is to take the program you don't want.

Don't you love Opera's mouse gestures? I just whip back and forth between pages! grin It would be so wonderful if that were standard on my computer.

Gil.
_________________________
"Best not to think about it. I don't want to fall to bits 'cos of excess existential thought."

Top
#868809 - 02/17/13 10:23 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9789
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, you have to be super vigilant for those "foistware" downloads. It's all about the money - Adobe gets money every time someone downloads Chrome. Java was even so bold as to include the Ask.com toolbar foistware in their supposed "patch" to fix Java.

I'm downloading Opera right now... this is a good excuse to check it out!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#868818 - 02/17/13 11:04 AM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: maggie57]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35293
Loc: southeast USA
Opera can use addons like "Ghostery" too.
Read about Ghostery here
https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/ghostery/?hidemessage=1

Top
#868825 - 02/17/13 12:09 PM Re: Google Chrome help [Re: Jenny100]
Homer6 Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5492
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Yes, Gil, I've caught Adobe more than once trying to sneak Chrome onto my computer. And before I was paying much attention to its updating, it actually downloaded and installed Chrome. Now, when Adobe tells me of an update available, I pay close attention to what's being downloaded.

This last time the download manager took me to the Adobe site and at one point it said Chrome was going to be added. Taking care of this problem was as easy as un-checking the box allowing Chrome to download and install.

Chrome isn't the only thing that a download manager tried to slip under the radar. Several different types of tool-bars were attempted. Fortunately, each one showed the check-box for the tool-bar and simply un-checking the box fix the problem.

I don't use the mouse gestures, Gil, lazy I guess, or just too much to remember. Or I'm just comfortable with the way I use the basics of Opera. If I want to open a new tab, let's say, it's just as easy to click on the '+' at the top of the screen as it is to hold down the right mouse button and drag the cursor downward. It's not that it's better one way or the other, just what a person gets used to doing.

I used IE for a number of years. Tried Firefox, and Chrome, neither one I could make heads or tails of, and then tried Opera. IE is the default browser because it's what my wife is used to. But for me, when online, Opera is my preferred choice. No ads, no miscellaneous garbage, just a simple and easy to use browser. And as Jenny indicated, there are several add-ons which can help make an online experience a lot more pleasant.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (Uncle Reg, safc, traveler, Gimme, Homer6), 53 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
keonie, cattitude, Jerrnej, greacia, Jason_Encore
8507 Registered Users