GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#870551 - 02/25/13 06:41 PM cognition 2
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 244
I just won this free game, (thank you!) and I downloaded it, but, when I go to try and open it or unzip it, I do either the 'open' or unzip with 7-zip and it doesn't do anything. what should I do? thanks in advance!

Top
#870552 - 02/25/13 06:42 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
Rushes Offline
The Three Pipe Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/10/05
Posts: 23814
Loc: UK
If this is the same problem as several others have had, this is what Jenny advised on an older thread:

Try right-clicking the CognitionEpisode2Setup.exe file and choosing Properties. On the General tab near the top, it should say CognitionEpisode2Setup.exe

If it only says CognitionEpisode2Setup without the .exe on the end, change it so it says CognitionEpisode2Setup.exe
It will ask if you really want to change the name and give some warning about it not working, but go ahead and change the name. Then try running it.

luck
_________________________
"Bleat, Watson -- unmitigated bleat!" ~ Sherlock Holmes

Top
#870553 - 02/25/13 06:54 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 244
I can't even find the cognitionepisodesetup file anywhere. I am thinking because it isn't unzipped yet? should i re-download it using my free download manager which seems to put things in a certain folder?

Top
#870556 - 02/25/13 07:34 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
If you download a zip file and it won't open, chances are your download was aborted and you don't have the full file. Try downloading it again.

If you use a download manager, make sure the site you're downloading from allows download managers.

Top
#870564 - 02/25/13 07:51 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 244
okay, now I tried to re-download the game, my second time, and i figured I would use the download manager. I got this message: The maximum number of uses of the discount have been exceeded

so, unless I can get the one that is on my desktop to work, I am screwed. I have tried everything to get it to open. it just doesn't even open so that I can change the exe file. any thoughts?

Top
#870579 - 02/25/13 09:09 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
I guess free games only give one download.
How large is the file? If you can see it's not as large as it should be, there's no point in messing with it anymore.

Top
#870586 - 02/25/13 10:00 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
Draclvr Online   content
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10044
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Maybe since you won the game in a giveaway here at Gameboomers, Phoenix Studios can help you out. Let them know the first download didn't work.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#870597 - 02/25/13 10:47 PM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
Chief Offline
Staff
Adept Boomer

Registered: 12/12/03
Posts: 10542
Loc: Québec
mbday, as Draclvr just said, contact support using the link that you find in the text I sent you on how to install the code.

Good luck.

Chief wave

Top
#870652 - 02/26/13 08:02 AM Re: cognition 2 [Re: mbday630]
mbday630 Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 244
duh, I needed to read your instructions better, sorry. I had deleted the setup part and put in exe, but, after reading to leave the word setup in and putting in exe at the end, I believe it is working now. at least it is installing, even as we speak! thank you so much. Next time I will read the directions better!

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
8 registered (Marian, Lex, Haroula, Draclvr, PolloDiablo, DotEmu, albet, InlandAZ), 89 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
DotEmu, JoyBunBun, Cabb, Veilant, tookiebgirl12
8544 Registered Users