GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#877522 - 04/01/13 12:04 PM DOS SOS!!
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I am not too proud to ask for some one on one help with my DOS game. I was so proud of my self that I got the d drive mounted, took several cups of coffee, but I did it. I typed mount d D:\ -t cdrom and it's mounted but I can not get beyond that point. I have read the instructions but I seem to forget almost as soon as I read it. I currently have The Dame Was Loaded cd in the tray and I want to get it mounted but don't know what command to use and I have tried mannnny.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#877551 - 04/01/13 01:27 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
If D: is the letter of your CD drive, it should be mounted properly.

If your Dame CD is like mine, you'd then enter the command

D:\INSTALL.EXE

to install the game

The game should install to the C:\Dame folder of your DOSBox. So to start the game, you'd type in

C:\DAME\DAME


If your CD drive is E: or F:, you should have used

mount d E:\ -t cdrom
or
mount d F:\ -t cdrom

You'd still use D:\INSTALL.EXE to install the game because when you say "mount d" you're telling DOSBox that your CD drive is named D: so that's what DOSBox thinks it is (even if Windows calls your drive E: or F: )

There are more tips for running this game on the DOSBox site
http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=2000&letter=T

Top
#877554 - 04/01/13 01:33 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
From the DOSBOX console type D: (this will place you on the CD ROM device), and then enter install.

There are other instructions ** HERE ** (see below)

If the keyboard does not work and is impossible to save/load and skip audio/video, this should help (tested with 0.61 official version):
Delete or rename wintest.exe from the game directory and copy mem.exe there (where to find it: XP - C:\WINDOWS\system32; Win 98 - c:/windows/command), rename mem.exe to wintest.exe and run the game. Now the keyboard should work fine.
With 9000 cycles was speed perfect on my computer with 2.5 GHz processor. There is also a sound patch that can be found at The Patches Scrolls http://www.patches-scrolls.de/ , but the game seemed to work fine without it. I picked out Gravis Ultrasound and sound was good, SB should work too.

Top
#877615 - 04/01/13 06:09 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
InlandAZ,

You are a life saver not to mention my hair. I will use your instructions in the morning as I am too tired to continue. You will never guess how many funny commands I have entered with this game and of course none worked. I will get back to you tomorrow and wish me luck. BTW is the game really worth all of my drama(lol)?
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#877715 - 04/02/13 08:13 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
By the way, either the method Inland described or the one I described will work to install the game.

Also, if you want to see what files are on the CD, type

DIR D:

or if you already did

CD D:

you can just type

DIR

PS. Don't confuse \'s with /'s

Top
#877725 - 04/02/13 08:45 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
Inland & Jenny,
Thank you both for your support but I still have not been able to install. I followed Inland's instructions and was almost there until I got this, invalid target drive . I brings up the game, Dame and shows install from D to C but when I click on install it shows that c is the invalid target drive and I am wondering how can that be. I have a question concerning another method of install. I have the game on my hard drive, can I install from there rather than from the CD? I am so close I hate to give it up ..there must be something that I am doing wrong but I don't know what it is.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#877733 - 04/02/13 09:09 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: lexxy
I followed Inland's instructions and was almost there until I got this, invalid target drive . I brings up the game, Dame and shows install from D to C but when I click on install it shows that c is the invalid target drive and I am wondering how can that be.

I think you need to use the command

mount C C:\

Check the DOSBox FAQ
http://www.gameboomers.com/Members/dosboxfaq.html
or Inferno's tutorial
http://home.earthlink.net/~eddie1231/dosboxtutorial1.htm
for more explanation.

You'll have to mount both C and D each time you start DOSBox unless you edit your dosbox.conf to make them stick.

Quote:
I have a question concerning another method of install. I have the game on my hard drive, can I install from there rather than from the CD? I am so close I hate to give it up ..there must be something that I am doing wrong but I don't know what it is.

It might or might not work, depending on whether the game checks for the presence of a CD or not. With the GK1 CD, you could copy the contents of the CD to the drive and install from there and not need the CD in the drive, but I don't know if it would work with The Dame.

Top
#877767 - 04/02/13 11:05 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
Yep, what Jenny said - On thing I do, that I'm not sure others do is this... I create a folder under my User directory named DOSGAMES and then issue the mount command as MOUNT C C:\Users\My User Name\DOSGAMES.

That way, I avoid any issues writing to the root of the hard drive.

Top
#877799 - 04/02/13 01:22 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I don't know if it makes any difference concerning commands but I am using DOS 0.74 .
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#877803 - 04/02/13 01:49 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: lexxy
I don't know if it makes any difference concerning commands but I am using DOS 0.74 .


It does not -

Top
#877977 - 04/03/13 09:23 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
InlandAZ & Jenny100,

Thank you guys sooo much. WE did it, I finally got the game to install and play and yes so far it seems the game was worth all the drama I went through. I could not have done w/o your help. The Boomer family are the best.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#877983 - 04/03/13 09:51 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
Glad to hear you got it working and that you're enjoying it.
Have fun.

Top
#878004 - 04/03/13 10:26 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I hate to continue to bother you but I want to what InlandAZ has done with all oof his DOS games but I am confused. He said he used the command mount c C:\Users\My User name\DOSGAMES .
I don't know what Users means and I further have no idea what My User Name is.
I would like to do it that way if possible and if not I am a happy camper with being to play The Dame after so much help from you two.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#878018 - 04/03/13 11:28 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
C:\Users\"User Name" is a folder that created when you create an account under Windows 7. In my case it's InlandAZ, so the path would be C:\Users\InlandAZ.

The reason I place my games there is because many older DOS games modified files in the root directory.


Edit -


A much easier way to get started is to download D-Fend Reloaded - it has a fairly good install wizard that builds all the DOSBOX commands for you.


Edited by InlandAZ (04/03/13 11:38 AM)

Top
#878075 - 04/03/13 05:03 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
oldmariner Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 1435
I second what Inland says about D-fend. The beauty of that program is when you get it set up you no longer have to mount the drives each time you want to play your game. You just click on the desktop icon for D-fend. You see a list of games installed and click on the one you wish to play.

And you can use D-Fend to install games for you.


Edited by oldmariner (04/03/13 05:04 PM)

Top
#878096 - 04/03/13 06:07 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I have downloaded it and I will check it out later but right now I am enjoying The Dame Was Loaded , what a good game.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#880568 - 04/13/13 11:41 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I am back again but with a different problem. I managed to get a cd coy of Xanth and I have followed your instructions concerning The Dame Is Loaded but for some reason all works until I get to the install part. I type D:\INSTALL.EXE as I did with the other game and I get this Please install EXE from the Xanth directory of your cdrom . If you have played Xanth tell me what you did to get it up and running.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#880570 - 04/13/13 11:45 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
I don't have the game, but it sounds like you're trying to type INSTALL from the root directory. Enter "D:" (without the quotes) from the DOSBox console - and then type INSTALL.

Top
#880581 - 04/13/13 12:41 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
My Xanth CD is the one from the Trophy Case II Collection, so it may not be exactly the same as yours. However it has a readme on it that says
Quote:
Companions of Xanth CD-ROM Legend Entertainment Company
Version 1.2


INSTALLATION AND CONFIGURATION

The Windows INSTALL program for this game is in the root of the CD-ROM named "SETUP.EXE".
For DOS installations, please run "DOS_INST.BAT". It will help you complete either a minimum, or full installation to your hard disk and will help you create the LEGEND.INI file which contains your configuration information.

So typing D:\INSTALL won't help you because there is no file named INSTALL on the CD (I checked, and there isn't). Instead you type:

D:\DOS_INST.BAT

which is on the CD. That's assuming there weren't any changes between your version of the game and mine.

Top
#880904 - 04/14/13 08:48 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
Jenny100,
Thanks so much for the last DOS command, that did the trick.I had forgotten what a delightful little game this is. I started it years ago and stopped when a more advance game came along, better graphics ect. but I am really having a ball....thanks again for all of your help.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#882178 - 04/19/13 09:47 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
Jenny100 & InlandAZ,
I would like to thank you both for the help you both have given me concerning my DOS game installation. Thanks to you I have taken out a few of my old DOS games and am experiencing feeling I had a long time ago when I new to gaming. I am now able to play Xanth, SamNMax, Touche and The Dame was Loaded just to name a few, I really don't think I could have done it w/o your help. I just want to sy thanks again for your assistance.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#882263 - 04/20/13 11:11 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
Good deal Lexxy, I enjoy the oldies too - thumbsup

Top
#882289 - 04/20/13 11:46 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
Glad it's working for you. Enjoy.

Top
#894816 - 06/16/13 09:32 AM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
I just wanted to revisit to thank InlandAZ,Jenny100 and Oldmariner for all the help you gave me with my DOS problem. Now that I know what to do I have dug out some of my old games and I am now playing them just as I did on my old W95. I found I have No Mouth And I Must Scream, 3 Skulls of Toltec, Ripper &Touche, all of which I had in the back of my closet. I had forgotten just how dark IHNMAIUMS was it is a bit disturbing. Just an thanks a million to you great people.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#894859 - 06/16/13 12:36 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6821
Loc: Arizona
Now that you're familiar with it, download D-Fend Reloaded, a front-end for DOSBox. It's got a lot of nice features that allow you to classify your games, and take screenshots.

It also sets up a virtual root directory where all games are installed to, which keeps the emulated environment much tidier.

If you can locate a set of install discs for Windows 3.1 it will run flawlessly under DOSBox as well. Games that used Video For Windows play perfectly for the most part.

You can read about it ** Here **

The setup instructions for Windows 3.1 are ** Here **


Edited by InlandAZ (06/16/13 01:00 PM)

Top
#894947 - 06/16/13 06:31 PM Re: DOS SOS!! [Re: lexxy]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3146
Loc: Southern Exposure
InlandAZ,

Thanks so much for all of that valuable info. I plan to use it all. I am feeling real proud of myself. This just goes to prove that with a little help from my friends I can do ALMOST anything.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
12 registered (Marian, GBC, luv2travel, InlandAZ, kjos, oldman, shroeder, seagul, Pandora, colpet), 91 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
DotEmu, JoyBunBun, Cabb, Veilant, tookiebgirl12
8544 Registered Users