GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#878485 - 04/05/13 11:02 AM Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Seeking your opinions.

I am thinking of doing a few improvements to my usual Desktop computer, the one I use all the time. My question is about the Power Supply. I have a Dell XPS 410 running Win XP Pro with a Dell Motherboard OCT017 (Belarc Advisor) I want to only upgrade to 500 or so watts to get a little better Graphics Card than the NVidea 8600GT that is in there now. There are so many Manufacterers that say that their PCU is for this computer but I have seen many people get new PCU's and not have the proper plugs coming off of it. You wont find this out until removing the old one and discovering that you lack a plug or a plug that is available has a different pin configuration. Are their any Manufacturers sites that you know of that are trusted to provide a PCU that will not only be appropriate for my Motherboard to handle but also fit exactly in the existing Dell case and have exact plugs to make the conversion a no brainer...I like no brainer. A Bonus would be extra plugs in the harness to add an additional fan for cooling.
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878494 - 04/05/13 11:44 AM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5566
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
GreyFuss, I don't know of any trusted sites which can give you what you want, but I do have a suggestion.

Decide which video card you want, go to that site and search the site for additional information about the card. Specifically power requirements. Then decide what size power supply you are going to order, larger is not a bad thing since it gives you room to add more and take care of everything existing, and which brand. Then go to that site and look for information about that power supply, the type of connections is has, output, compatibility with other type of hardware, etc. It would also be good if you knew the type of motherboard you currently have so you'd know the type of connectors it requires. And the type of HD, CD drives, etc.

Once you gather information you'll then be in a better position to make final choices that fit the system you have.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#878526 - 04/05/13 01:35 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Thanks for the suggestions Homer6, I do appreciate them. I actually am looking into doing the opposite. The Power Supply is what I need first and one that will most assuredly fit to my Dell. The Graphics Card is not that important and wont be much of an upgrade. Its just that the existing PCU that came with the Dell is only 375watts which doesn't allow me enough room to play. Seems like all the manufacturers state that their PSU's are a perfect fit but upon looking further I find stories that either they don't fit perfectly in the case or they don't always have the proper plugs that fit the original equipment already in the computer. I also want it to be compatible with the Motherboard. I have never upgraded a PCU before and I am looking for the no brainer option.
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878533 - 04/05/13 02:07 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Greyfuss, I had a lot of trouble getting a new PSU for a Dell XPS computer because they were proprietary to the Dell motherboard. That is what you are finding with it says they do not have the proper "plugs" for the motherboard. Let me do some checking for you.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#878546 - 04/05/13 03:18 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Oh boy...thank you Tomato Queen praise
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878557 - 04/05/13 04:06 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
True to form, Dell does not provide a lot of information, but I was able to ferret out what I think you need. Unlike the other Dell XPS I had problems with, this one does not seem to use a proprietary PSU and motherboard. All the replacement PSUs indicate that the form factor/size of the PSU is ATX, rather than the mini or micro size. But you should do a couple of things - first open up the case and get the measurements of your PSU to make sure. I couldn't find out if the main power connection on your motherboard is a 20 or a 24 pin, but that's not important as all new power supplies come with a connector that will fit either one. If it's a 20 pin, you just leave off the last 4 pins on the PSU. They're called 20 + 4 pins. Then take note of all the connections you will be making. Even better, take a digital photo of it all! For instance you should know whether some of your components are SATA connections.

Then I would go to Newegg to look around at your options with your budget. You can sort by wattage and price etc. Make sure the size is correct, but they all come with pretty standard connectors and are flexible for different configurations. You can buy anywhere, but that's a good way to see what's available and read user reviews.

While not everything will be the same, this is probably the best video I found for replacing a PSU. Replacing a PSU



Edited by Draclvr (04/05/13 04:33 PM)
Edit Reason: Added a video link
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#878576 - 04/05/13 05:15 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Thanks Drac

Nuts...I wanted a no-brainer cry I was hoping you wouldn't say that lol I was hoping that there was a manufacturer to go to that said here, buy this one, as it fits exactly and has the plugs I need for this machine.

I will do as you have suggested. The measurements would be easy but wouldn't the bolt pattern also be important as the size may be the same but still would not line up. Guess I would have find one at Newegg and then contact the manufacturer for specifics. Oh....why couldn't it be easier frown Too bad there isn't a site that scans your computer like at Crucial Memory and be able to tell me exactly what I need.

And thank you for the link to the video. He makes it look so easy as I am sure it is. I think I will want to leave all the plugs connected, remove the existing PSU and set it as near as the connected wires will allow. Install the new PSU and then one by one remove and replace each plug so I don't forget which goes where.

One other question...Is there limits of how big a Power Supply that the Motherboard can handle? Is there a chance to over power and burn it out?

Curses...when it comes to computers I try not to use my brain tooo much as it just gets in the way. smirk
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878585 - 04/05/13 05:27 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35570
Loc: southeast USA
The motherboard won't draw any more power than it needs to. It's much worse if the power supply doesn't have enough power.

Top
#878587 - 04/05/13 05:34 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, what Jenny100 said.

You don't need to worry about the screw pattern either as they are all the same. Dell has been known to be cagey with proprietary stuff, but even in the case of the one I had problems with, the replacement PSU I tried lined up just fine.

Believe me, I was equally as nervous as you are the first time I replaced a PSU! Basically, as long as the physical size fits, the rest is just plugging stuff in.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#878589 - 04/05/13 05:37 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: Draclvr]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Thank you Ladies urock
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878669 - 04/06/13 12:52 AM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5566
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Not to alarm you GreyFuss, but be careful what you touch. Unplug the power cord, use plastic when measuring, and if you have to physically touch anything, first touch the frame of the case to dissipate any static electricity.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#878670 - 04/06/13 01:24 AM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2923
Thanks Homer6

I have changed many parts in computers, just not a PSU and I am very conscience of static probably to a fault in fact. And it is a coincidence that you mention about the measuring device as I was just thinking a few minutes ago that it may not be wise to use a retractable metal tape and had to look for my cloth one. It may also be better for me to just use a thin wooden dowel, mark it then measure the mark outside the case. Thanks for your help.
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#878671 - 04/06/13 01:25 AM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Good point, you guys. I should also have mentioned it.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#878766 - 04/06/13 01:06 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6854
Loc: Arizona
Dell can be hit and miss when it comes to components. I had a similar issue when I replaced a PSU on an XPS system. Although the case was a standard ATX form factor, several of the PSU's I was looking at were just a bit larger than the case would accommodate.

I took me awhile to find one that had the same dimensions as the original, but I did eventually find one.

Top
#878775 - 04/06/13 01:23 PM Re: Ypur Expert Opinion ... Power Supply Upgrade [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I keep finding more and more reasons to build my own computers...

I must say I've had much better luck with replacing components in HP computers. I was even able to find a perfect replacement for a PSU in an old HP Windows ME computer.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (Kaki's Sister, jboliver, Lex, Mad), 55 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Akkad, ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9
8568 Registered Users