GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#880588 - 04/13/13 01:04 PM Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry
burpee Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/14/00
Posts: 4516
Loc: North aurora IL
The other day I decided to go through my electrical/computer stuff and recycle some of it. Do I really need 6 sets of speakers? No. While testing things to decide what to be rid of I setup an old XP to test with.

I got the idea to plug in a game I never played and chose Arthur's Knights: TOC. Pretty good game.

Question is: I'm at chapter 5, level 4, Camelot castle. The game has started freezing periodically and I have to manually shutdown the computer.

Is this a known problem with the game, because I'm running a W98 game on an XP or perhaps the computer is just not working right. I did not find any patches before starting this game.

Top
#880589 - 04/13/13 01:07 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
MaG Offline
Administrator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 12/28/99
Posts: 66250
burpee,

Let's move you to Glitches forum.
I LOVE this game and sequel.
It's nice that you can play them.

The tech experts can give you pointers.

Top
#880596 - 04/13/13 01:21 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
burpee Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/14/00
Posts: 4516
Loc: North aurora IL
Geezers MaG, sorry about the wrong forum. It said 'hints and help', lol. Been awhile since I've been here razz

I just played past the point where it crashed last night and now at Arden looking for the sword of 3 flames....quest 5, chapter 6.

The freezing has happened 3 times now and only since I got to Camelot castle...twice while I was running around the castle in the same area (don't do that, lol...I walked the 3rd time so it wouldn't freeze and got past that spot) and once after all three sisters were called upon to help free Fydia.

I shouldn't have any problems, besides the freezing, getting through the game but was wondering if this was a known issue.

Top
#880604 - 04/13/13 01:44 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35627
Loc: southeast USA
There's a patch you could try at ***Patches-Scrolls***
I don't know what the patch is for.
It's an old patch from 2005, but then the game is from 2001.

Top
#880615 - 04/13/13 02:20 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
burpee Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/14/00
Posts: 4516
Loc: North aurora IL
Hey Jenny, hi. Thanks for the patch. At the moment I'm lost in the forest in Arden. Never was good at directions, lol.

Top
#880618 - 04/13/13 02:52 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
Marian Online   content
Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 21295
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I could never get this game to run on my old XP computer; I wish I could. Maybe it has something to do with which XP Service Pack I had installed. I really enjoyed it when I first played it on Windows 98.

Top
#880623 - 04/13/13 03:48 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35627
Loc: southeast USA
The game was sort of temperamental on XP.
Even when it first came out, on XP with no service packs, it would work easily on some XP computers and refuse to run on others.

It might work inside a Virtual machine with Windows 98, but you'd have to play the game in software mode in Virtual PC.

Top
#880627 - 04/13/13 04:18 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: Jenny100]
Marian Online   content
Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 21295
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I tried it a few years ago on my XP computer with Windows 98 installed in Virtual PC; it crashed as soon as the game tried to load. Maybe my processor was too much for the game. Perhaps there was a way that it could have been tweaked such that the game would behave. For now, I have given up. wave

Top
#880628 - 04/13/13 04:19 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
burpee Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/14/00
Posts: 4516
Loc: North aurora IL
The machine I'm using is my sister's old one. She got a virus or such so I took it back to factory install. She bought a new W7 with a XP partion and didn't want it anymore. I have to assume that it is with no service packs.

It's got DirectX 8.1 and 480MB of RAM (lol)

I also still have my old W98. I gave it to my mother first and she used it for 2 years, then I gave it to my father-in-law who used it for years. Once they all updated to newer machine I took it back. I thought I might want to play an old game on it. I've always wanted to replay Outcast, shivers 2, Alice and Jekyll and Hyde.

Since I dug these out from storage I think I'll take the time to redo play them. I can then finally get these games off my shelves.

Top
#880634 - 04/13/13 04:57 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: Marian]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35627
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Marian
I tried it a few years ago on my XP computer with Windows 98 installed in Virtual PC; it crashed as soon as the game tried to load.

Did you set the game options so it would run in software mode? If not, that would explain the crash. Virtual PC has no video acceleration.

Originally Posted By: burpee
The machine I'm using is my sister's old one. She got a virus or such so I took it back to factory install. She bought a new W7 with a XP partion and didn't want it anymore. I have to assume that it is with no service packs.

One way to tell is to click the Start button, then Control Panel. Switch to Classic View (if it's set to Category View), and double-click the System icon. You should see something like this:
http://www.askdavetaylor.com/0-blog-pics/windows-xp-system-general.png
This example has SP2

Quote:
It's got DirectX 8.1 and 480MB of RAM (lol)

But what does it have for a video card? Check the Display tab of dxdiag. (Start button --> Run --> Type
dxdiag
in the box and OK it. See what it says for Name: on the Display tab.

If it's got Intel graphics, that's probably why it's having problems. Intel graphics has no video memory, and would explain why the computer has an odd amount of system memory listed (part of it being reserved for video).

Quote:
I also still have my old W98. I gave it to my mother first and she used it for 2 years, then I gave it to my father-in-law who used it for years. Once they all updated to newer machine I took it back. I thought I might want to play an old game on it. I've always wanted to replay Outcast, shivers 2, Alice and Jekyll and Hyde.

It might be good for Arthur's Knights too.
But don't forget Windows 98 may need to be rebooted once in a while -- especially if it crashes.

Quote:
Since I dug these out from storage I think I'll take the time to redo play them. I can then finally get these games off my shelves.

Have fun.

Top
#880646 - 04/13/13 05:28 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: Jenny100]
Marian Online   content
Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 21295
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I honestly don't remember now whether or not I ran the game in software mode, but I will certainly try that in the future. Thanks, Jenny. wave

Top
#880651 - 04/13/13 05:43 PM Re: Arthur's Knights: Tales of Chivalry [Re: burpee]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35627
Loc: southeast USA
Good luck, Marian.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (GIOVANNA LARIOU, Marian, kjos, Billy the Kid 64, Melia, sanford, razorsedge4444, christy071, Urban Worrier, 1 invisible), 81 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Elentgirl, tiathyme, Mr_Underhill, Lani, Rachissa
8581 Registered Users