GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#889103 - 05/21/13 03:33 PM Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
I've been using Norton Anti-virus for several years now without too much of a problem.
A few months ago, I purchased the full version of Malwarebytes and installed it. I thought (and maybe I'm mistaken here) that I read that the two products can live side by side, so to speak.
All went well for a few months and then all of a sudden Norton started sending me messages that I needed to uninstall Malwarebytes in order for Norton to do it's job. I kept ignoring the message and all was well until I installed (or, I should say, TRIED to install) the new year's version of Norton. It wouldn't even install until I uninstalled Malwarebytes. Is there any way the two can be on the same computer? I hate to think I spent the money on Malwarebytes only to find out it's not usable anymore. Is there any to work around this?
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#889114 - 05/21/13 04:21 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35475
Loc: southeast USA
In his Post #4 in the MalwareBytes forum at
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=125465

the poster named "Firefox" posted how to make exceptions in Norton to exclude MalwareBytes files from being flagged by Norton.

Quote:
Please exclude the following files from your Antivirus Software (not sure what version of you are using):

Note: If using a software firewall besides the built in Windows Firewall you'll need to exclude them from it as well

For Windows XP:

C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbampt.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\ mbamscheduler.exe

For Windows Vista or Windows 7 & 8:

C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbampt.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\ mbamscheduler.exe

For 64 bit versions of Windows Vista or Windows 7 & 8:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbampt.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware \ mbamscheduler.exe

Note: If using a software firewall besides the built in Windows Firewall you'll need to exclude MBAM.EXE and MBAMSERVICE.EXE from it as well

Note: Once that's done, please make sure that if either of those programs has any sort of web filter, that you add the following as a trusted site:

data-cdn.mbamupdates.com



The FAQ contains examples of setting file exclusions for some known AV products
http://forums.malwarebytes.org//index.php?showtopic=10138

Top
#889116 - 05/21/13 04:32 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Thanks for that information and links, Jenny! I'll give it a try and see how that works.
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#889123 - 05/21/13 05:32 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
mj2c Online   shocked
Settled Boomer

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 920
Is the payed version of Malwarebytes a real-time virus checker? It's generally not considered good practice to have more than one real-timer checker running on your machine in the same way you wouldn't have two firewalls. All you are creating is a resource hog.

Top
#889126 - 05/21/13 05:39 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
It is the paid Malwarebytes. I was under the impression that it was different from an anti-virus and therefore could be used together. No? headscratch
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#889131 - 05/21/13 06:10 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
mj2c Online   shocked
Settled Boomer

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 920
I've never used the paid version so I'm not sure what it does. If it is just a scanner (ie you set it to scan the files on your disk) then there is no problem running it with something else. If it is a real-time virus-checker (ie it checks the files when you actually open/run them) then it is doing exactly the same job as your Norton and so will slow your machine down. It's not that they can't run together it's just that it not generally recommended. As I say Ive never used the paid version so maybe it's probably best to wait till someone who actually uses it comes along who can give a definitive answer. It may well be that it's job is totally different to that of Norton.

Top
#889137 - 05/21/13 07:06 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Draclvr Online   content
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10034
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
They can be used side-by-side. In fact, the combination of a good anti-virus and Malwarebytes Pro gives you excellent protection. They call it "cooperative functionality" whatever that means. I run MWB Pro alongside Microsoft Security Essentials on my Windows 7 and Windows Defender (basically Security Essentials for Windows 8) on my Windows 8. I've never had either one slow down my computer. I've put this combination on at least half a dozen other computers and it really works well.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#889337 - 05/22/13 10:08 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1166
Loc: Chicago
Thanks for this info Mary and Jenny100. I also use Norton and recently purchased Malwarebytes Pro. No problems yet and hopefully none to come.

Top
#889340 - 05/22/13 10:15 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Jenny,
I put the files you listed in your posting in the "items to exclude" list on Norton.
I was able to reinstall and run Malwarebytes. I'll just have to wait and see if any problems develop, but for the moment, the two are co-existing.
Thanks.
Mary
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#889359 - 05/22/13 11:49 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5549
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
I used to run Norton when I got my first PC, and chucked it after getting their Internet Security because it became a very pushy program. I don't remember all it was interfering with, but instead of being in the background, it was standing out front directing traffic.

I went through another pushy program until I came upon Avast! and Malwarebytes. Because both DID sit in the background watching things, and only yelled when they detected something, I purchased both and have been happy since.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#889367 - 05/23/13 02:47 AM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Homer6]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
This topic comes at a good time for me. I've not been happy with Norton for a while now, and my licence just ended. Think I will try Avast and Malwarebytes freeware to see how they act on my system and then will buy them if I like them. Thanks for the tip Homer6. Can't tell you how many years I've been using Norton...

Sharon zombie

Top
#889394 - 05/23/13 08:09 AM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35475
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Mary
Jenny,
I put the files you listed in your posting in the "items to exclude" list on Norton.
I was able to reinstall and run Malwarebytes. I'll just have to wait and see if any problems develop, but for the moment, the two are co-existing.
Thanks.
Mary

Glad to hear it worked for you, Mary.
Too bad Norton couldn't do this themselves instead of expecting their customers to do it.

Top
#889416 - 05/23/13 10:45 AM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Sharon,
If you'll be using the free Malwarebytes, you should have no problem using it with any anti-virus since it only runs when you start it. The "Pro" version is a real-time program and is continually scanning, (as far as I understand it). I was tired of trying to remember to run the free version, so I went for the "Pro".
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#889429 - 05/23/13 12:11 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5549
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
That's correct, Mary. The paid version of Malwarebytes is an active scanning software that sits in the background and watches for malware or possible sites that might contain malware. And so far I've no problems with how Malwarebytes has been acting.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#889452 - 05/23/13 03:26 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Homer6]
lanlynk Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/07/13
Posts: 305
Loc: Alaska
Originally Posted By: Homer6
... instead of being in the background, it was standing out front directing traffic.

That is a perfect way of describing how some programs act! yes

And the most annoying thing is when you get two aggressive apps competing for Chief Traffic Cop. I can picture two little Tron-like figures battling it out on the Grid. lol
_________________________
"Dragons were never gone. They were just invisible and very, very quiet." ~ M'aiq the Liar (Skyrim)

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (BrownEyedTigre, mj2c, Marian, BobH, curly, sccurrie, susanlouise, unowen, Sherlock, 1 invisible), 76 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Cabb, Veilant, tookiebgirl12, Adam_B, Polikolp
8542 Registered Users