GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#892160 - 06/04/13 09:59 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
oldbroad,
All that would happen is that a small box would appear on my screen and tell me how many days until my subscription expired and asked whether I wanted to renew. That's it, no big deal. I kind of liked that they reminded me to renew. All in all, I got maybe 4 reminders over the last week or so.
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#892168 - 06/04/13 10:40 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: SharonB]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23443
Loc: United Kingdom
Well, Norton seems to have come in for a thrashing !! frown

Currently I have Norton 360 on both my internet machines (WinXP and Win7) and I don't have any problems rolleyes

In fact I've used Norton products since I got my very first computer and am happy to say I've never suffered a virus or been invaded by any type of malware in all those years happydance
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#892262 - 06/05/13 08:47 AM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35393
Loc: southeast USA
They're using a newer version of Norton, Mad.
Also, do you use MalwareBytes Pro? That seems to be the biggest issue -- that Norton doesn't want to allow MalwareBytes Pro on the same computer.

Top
#892313 - 06/05/13 12:26 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: SharonB]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5530
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Originally Posted By: SharonB
Mary, Norton was asking me to re-subscribe. However I just found them annoying. I am currently using Avast and MalwareBytes Pro. I did a complete system scan with both programs. One trojan was found and corrected (quarantine?/Removal?) Anyway my system is good so far.

There is an announcement (verbal) when the virus definitions are updated (Avast). I think this might get annoying but I'm not sure yet. Is there a way to stop the announcement? Or have it update in the background without telling me?


Sharon


Sharon open Avast and click on Settings in the upper right corner of the window. Once the Settings window is open you'll see a list of choices on the left hand side. One of those choices is Sounds. That selection lets you turn off all Avast sounds or select those sounds you don't want. It also lets you disable voice over. There's also a Pop Up choice which allows you to select which pop up you want displayed.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#892388 - 06/05/13 04:27 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Mary]
oldmariner Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 1380
I will throw another choice out there. I have been using Webroot Essentials with Malware pro for a few years now without issues. I tried Webroot because of a few programs of theirs I had used in the past. The antivirus has a small footprint, updates daily and is not intrusive. It plays nice with Malwarebytes Pro and I have yet to get a nasty on the system. The price is reasonable as well. One more thing to consider. Both Norton and Macafee are intrusive bloatware programs that cause more problems than they are worth. I tried both of them many years ago and ran away as fast as I could and never went back.


Edited by oldmariner (06/05/13 04:28 PM)

Top
#892405 - 06/05/13 04:59 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Jenny100]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23443
Loc: United Kingdom
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
They're using a newer version of Norton, Mad.
Also, do you use MalwareBytes Pro? That seems to be the biggest issue -- that Norton doesn't want to allow MalwareBytes Pro on the same computer.


Oh, I see. Thanks, Jenny1oo.
And no, I don't use the "Pro" version of MalwareBytes.

I'm likely to stick with Norton though as it has proved itself a thousand times over, for me laugh
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#892416 - 06/05/13 05:32 PM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: Homer6]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Thanks Homer! smile I just took off voice over. I turned some other things off earlier. Tomorrow, when I'm less tired, I'll look thru the program more thoroughly and make sure I have it setup the way I like.

Sharon

Top
#892779 - 06/07/13 01:38 AM Re: Norton Anti-Virus and Malwarebytes [Re: SharonB]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5530
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
You're welcome Sharon.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
16 registered (PolloDiablo, kjos, Chief, CanukDenis, Marian, mbday630, mj2c, Cue, Ewil02, 1 invisible), 99 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Amberdrop, binnykinz, scarend, JALind, maggieann
8524 Registered Users