GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#893360 - 06/09/13 06:06 PM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
lanlynk Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/07/13
Posts: 303
Loc: Alaska
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
Yes, it's VESA compatible - it's down toward the bottom in the Details tab.

Ah, I see it now. Didn't catch that, and I even did a Find search. HA! Probably misspelled VESA. blush

Here's just a thought I had, GreyFuss. If you're trying to get a wonderful new monitor with all kinds of great features, would backing away from that goal in order to run it on an old XP computer be the best way to go? Are those XPs fairly decent computers?

Why not just use a second monitor more compatible with the older computers and let your new computer enjoy every feature in a monitor it can. If you're putting the new monitor on the wall, a flat screen monitor can sit back on your desk ready for the old XP computers when used. I think once you get your super computer, you'll be spending very little time on those older computers. I would! Most games that ran on XP will run on Win 7.

Why make a decision about a new monitor based on old machines? Just my 2 cents. think
_________________________
"Dragons were never gone. They were just invisible and very, very quiet." ~ M'aiq the Liar (Skyrim)

Top
#893363 - 06/09/13 06:45 PM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9772
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
VERY good point, lanlynk.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#893395 - 06/09/13 09:56 PM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2918
@ Jenny100
* Very beneficial links and suggestions, thank you

@ Draclvr
* Great idea about taking a look at the manual, why didn’t I think of that?
* Glad you brought it up, the XP’s are both Dell’s XPS 410 Nvidia GeForce 8600GT & Dimension 8300 Nvidia GeForce 7600GS
* No more KVM switches for me, burned through my second one which was very good a short time ago. Plus there seems to be some lag and maybe picture degradation too. Thats why a direct hook up is where I want to go.

@ InlandAZ
* Thanks for the info about the video card and a new monitor. Duly noted.
* Using the CRT with the 98se is the only way to go with the oldies. LCD’s just can’t touch what the CRT does with the low resolution (Thanks to Jenny100)

@ lanlynk
* Don’t know why you got the idea that I was buying a new monitor based on the old XP machines. In fact it quite the opposite.an investment for the future. Hope the new one will last as long as the one I have now. I have heard that the LED’s do last longer.

@ Creeping_Doom
Thanks so much for your input. Graphic cards will probably be covered in Part 3



OK...GreyFuss's new computer Part 2 is decided. New Monitor will be ASUS VG248QE 24-Inch Screen LED Monitor

To go along with Part 1's conclusion that the OS will be Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

Thanks for everyone's input. I am really learning a lot with you continued help. I think we are past the hard parts so on to the meat and potato’s.........

Part 3 of "GreyFuss's new computer" will come in a new thread soon smile
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#893399 - 06/09/13 10:14 PM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9772
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I think we were all under the impression that you wanted to hook up at least one of your old computers to this new monitor. There was then some discussion of old video cards not being able to run one of these high end monitors. We were all trying to address any problems you might have encountered when you hooked up a low end video card to a new monitor and it wouldn't work. I think that was lanlynk's point - limiting your choice of monitor to the limitations of the old computers.

You will only be able to connect one of the old computers to the new monitor through the available VGA interface. You would need a KVM to connect more than one of the old computers. I've had IOGear KVM switches last for years.

Well, onward and upward to Part 3!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#893416 - 06/09/13 11:37 PM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: Draclvr]
Mad Online   content
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23308
Loc: United Kingdom
I have a Belkin KVM that links my Win98, WinXP and Win7 machines and allows me to use a mixture of very ancient mouse and keyboard with a mixture of very new everything else thumbsup
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#893457 - 06/10/13 09:07 AM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35278
Loc: southeast USA
Even if you were to get a monitor with 2560 x 1440 resolution (or some other extremely high resolution), there's no law saying you have to run it at that resolution. If the video card in your older computer can't handle resolutions that high, just choose a lower one. As long as it's a widescreen resolution it should look OK, even if it's not as sharp as the native resolution. Full screen resolutions will look stretched on a widescreen monitor. You're not going to find many adventure games that use extremely high resolutions anyway. Most will default to a lower resolution than your desktop resolution when you start the game.

It sounds like you're going to be using your CRT for your older computers, but if something happened to the CRT, you could still use the newer monitor with your old computers. Of course you'd need an adapter for any video card that only has D-Sub connections since the VG248QE has no D-Sub (VGA) port. But the pictures of the Geforce 7600 and 8600 that I found all had at least one DVI port.

Top
#893475 - 06/10/13 10:20 AM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9772
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
By the way, Greyfuss, good choice on the monitor. I did notice the pictures indicated that a VGA cable was the only one shipped with it which was strange since it doesn't have a VGA port. But the Details tab and comments by other users say a 5' DVI-D cable is what is included.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#893482 - 06/10/13 10:51 AM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2918
Thank you Draclvr, I couldn't have made the decision without all the help, suggestions and input I receive here.

According to the manual, which looks to be generic for all the ASUS VG248 Series, contents include a Power Cord, DVI (Dual Link) Cable and Audio Cable. Thanks for bringing it to my attention so I could double check. The DVI cable will surely be used for the new computer to take advantage of all the features if I choose. I am pretty sure I saw somewhere that there is an HDMI to DVI cable or adaptor that I would use for the one of the XP's. I wonder if there is a Display Port converter also....hmmm more research.



EDIT:

Yes they do...hurray Display Port to VGA Convertor
So along with This HDMI to DVI Convertor I should be able to hook up the 3 computers to the display....right?


Edited by GreyFuss (06/10/13 10:59 AM)
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
#893486 - 06/10/13 11:07 AM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: GreyFuss]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9772
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I don't see why not...
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#893488 - 06/10/13 11:14 AM Re: Part 2: Computer Monitors??? [Re: Draclvr]
GreyFuss Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/06
Posts: 2918
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
I don't see why not...


KEWL!



Jenny100
thanks for bringing up the older Graphic cards. Changing the resolutions, thats good to know. I had thought that the 7600 had only a VGA connection but upon checking after I read your post I do see it has both, VGA & DVI. So a DVI to Display Port Adaptor would work. Love it!
_________________________
"Don't Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful...There Are Many Other Reasons!"

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (Iurii, manxman, Jeanne, Mad, Darlene, connie, Pandora, kazzmo, Draclvr, 1 invisible), 90 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Jerrnej, greacia, Jason_Encore, DeanandKate, RisinGoat
8505 Registered Users