GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#896733 - 06/24/13 03:54 PM the black mirror
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1155
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
About a month ago, I had to do a clean install on my xp; so now I'm loading & replaying a lot of older games. I don't ever remember having this problem before, but after installing black mirror & restarting the comp. which it asks us to do, I click on the desk icon for the game, & it just restarts my comp. I have the boxed version (2cd's). It doesn't even give me a chance to type in the identification code, just keeps restarting my comp. I realize it's an old game, but if anyone can help, I'd appreciate it. Thanks Judy
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896754 - 06/24/13 05:03 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7185
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Do a google search for The Black Mirror no cd patch and install that and it should work.
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#896773 - 06/24/13 06:52 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1155
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
I found a site to remove StarForce driver, do you think I should try that, or will it mess up my computer? On a serious note, are the floods affecting you Cathy?


Edited by judith (06/24/13 06:55 PM)
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896849 - 06/25/13 08:38 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
If you're talking about this site
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/protect.phtml?c=55
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/info.phtml?c=91

Download link at
http://onlinesecurity-on.com/downloads/sfcdrvrem.zip

That's the company that makes StarForce, and the tool should be safe.

Top
#896899 - 06/25/13 12:15 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7185
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Hi Judith
The floods are 3 blocks away from us. We were some of the lucky ones. We have electricity. a lot of folks don't. Thanks for asking. How about you ?

Cathy
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#896904 - 06/25/13 01:03 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
That's interesting, the version of Starforce that shipped with the game was compatible with XP, newer versions are not. If I had to guess, I'd bet that you've installed another game that updated the drivers to a newer version.

Use the links Jenny provided, remove Starforce, and re-install the game.

Top
#896907 - 06/25/13 01:16 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1155
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Hi everyone; thanks for all your help. I waited until my hubby came home. We got rid of the starforce, but It took 3 tries to get the no CD patch to work. I don't know what to tell you InlandAZ, I never had a problem before with the game, it played perfectly, & this time I had problems. When I installed the game, I also installed Black Mirror 2 & 3 that I bought at Walmart. Maybe that's where the problem lies.
Cathy, everyone here is keeping an eye on the Ft. Saskatchewan river, it is very high. You keep safe. Judy
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896911 - 06/25/13 01:53 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.

Top
#897457 - 06/28/13 03:03 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: InlandAZ]
oldmariner Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 1367
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.


Inland

That is exactly why I bought 2+3 from GOG. I have a no Starforce policy. That includes anything SONY.

Top
#897523 - 06/28/13 11:08 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6743
Loc: Arizona
Wow, I wasn't aware that GOG sold the games -

Top
#897637 - 06/28/13 10:15 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
He probably bought them at Shiny Loot
http://www.shinyloot.com/adventure-games

According to Shiny Loot, the Black Mirror 2 and 3 they sell have no "protection" type.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (Marian, BrownEyedTigre, lexxy, Chief, manxman, oldbroad, kjos, looney4labs, Mikael, Ewil02), 59 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
GreenBoat, Spidermna133, kamoj, RebKean, gerald
8493 Registered Users