GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#899130 - 07/05/13 01:30 PM Compatability Mode in Win 7
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
I've been trying to download a "virtual" 3D room from the Lazy-Boy site where you can place furniture to see how it would look in your room and if it would fit.
Evidently there is a problem with Win7 and this "add-on", as they call it, and they say I should run this this program as "administrator", which I am. Still no go, so they say to open the 3D program in compatibility mode, but how do I do that? All I'm doing is clicking on a "button" to download the program. I'm not sure how to do what they're suggesting to me. Is this do-able?
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#899188 - 07/05/13 05:05 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10157
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I went to the website and my options were to Launch either the 3D or 2D Room Planner. I'm using the Firefox browser. I clicked on the Launch 3D Room Planner. Then I'm taken to a screen with a EULA and then a button is presented for me to Install Player. The next screen is just text with Install Player in Blue.

I then got a warning that Firefox was not allowing the Player to install with an option to go ahead and install it anyway... which I did. I got another warning about only allowing add-ons you trust. After that the Planner installed.

I suspect there is not a problem with Windows 7, but with your browser. I installed it on Windows 8. Are you using Internet Explorer? Are you getting any messages about the download either at the top or bottom of the page?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#899203 - 07/05/13 06:04 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
If I try to use IE 10, I hit the button to launch the 3D player, I check the user agreement button, click on install planner, get to a screen that says "please wait while player downloads" and while the hourglass does it's thing, all I see is a white screen with the outline of a small box. That's it, I go no further.

If I use Firefox, I get a bit further: I get to a screen that says "loading 20-20 Virtual Planner, please wait". Then some choices come up about the type of the floor and wall covering; when I make my selections, it's back to a mostly blank page with nothing happening and the "loading 20-20 virtual planner" message again. I see no EULA along the way.

Jenny100, I got the email saying you had posted on this topic, but I can't find your message on this thread. Yes, the link you posted is the one I'm talking about.
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#899397 - 07/06/13 04:12 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35569
Loc: southeast USA
Is it possible your antivirus is blocking some browser functionality that it thinks might be dangerous?

Top
#899422 - 07/06/13 06:51 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Jenny, I'm not getting any sort of message from Norton saying it's blocking anything, so I don't know if Norton is causing a problem. I'll try shutting Norton down long enough for me to try to download the 3D planner again, or do you think it's unwise of me to try that?

How do I get IE to run in compatibility mode, as the site is asking me to do?
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#899435 - 07/06/13 08:52 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35569
Loc: southeast USA
Maybe they're suggesting you use the "Compatibility View" option of Internet Explorer (which is not the same as running a program in Compatibility Mode).

Here's a site that talks about Compatibility View in IE 10.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/internet-explorer/use-compatibility-view

Top
#899452 - 07/06/13 09:52 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Mary Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/02/99
Posts: 3653
Loc: New York
Jenny,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! After months of trying all sorts of things, the Compatibility VIEW option worked perfectly and the program opened right up with no problem!
_________________________
The answer is....chocolate! Who cares what the question is.....

Top
#899465 - 07/06/13 11:57 PM Re: Compatability Mode in Win 7 [Re: Mary]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35569
Loc: southeast USA
Oh good!
Glad you got it working.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
9 registered (PeteS, Lex, soot, misslilo, UruKat, rmt, Chief, curly, kjos), 69 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Akkad, ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9
8568 Registered Users