GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#901565 - 07/16/13 11:45 AM Re: Regarding Webroot [Re: Laurette]
Grashock Offline
Junior Boomer

Loc: Colorado, USA
Hello,

I'm an Escalation Engineer for Webroot, and wanted to reply to the post.

There are 3 components to the software, an Executable, a DLL, and a Driver. It sounds like in this case, an uninstall was performed, but it didn't complete properly. Likely because one of the components was in use, or a damaged database.

By disabling the WRSA.exe file using MSCONFIG you really aren't disabling the software completely. The kernel driver is still running and can prohibit software from running properly on the system. I'd recommend visiting the support site and submitting a ticket so that one of our techs can uninstall the software properly. This will prevent any further issues.

Regarding the '3' trojan's found when running super anti spyware, the Webroot software scans intelligently, that is to say it scans for active threats running on the system. It will scan all executable code and the links associated with that code (dll's, drivers, etc.) and if an item is found it will quarantine those threats.

Contrast this with a 'full' system scan performed by super anti spyware, where it scans every single file on your system including those files that cannot by their very nature contain threats. In this case it's likely that dormant and non-functioning files may be found. Without more information on the actual threats that were uncovered I couldn't say if this was the case or not.