GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#907167 - 08/10/13 10:53 PM Lost Chronicles of Zerzura
Newgames Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/21/06
Posts: 336
Loc: United States
I am playing this game and the play is very slow and sometimes the sound does not catch up with the pictures. I checked my graphis card - and nvidia says that 307.90 is up to date but File Hippo says there is a newer one out there. I have a GE Force 6200 TurboCache - TM. I tried to download both but both says not compatiable.
Am I missing something or could it be something else?? think

Top
#907215 - 08/11/13 08:29 AM Re: Lost Chronicles of Zerzura [Re: Newgames]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35278
Loc: southeast USA
According to Viva-Media, Lost Chronicles of Zerzura requires 256 MB of video memory.
http://www.viva-media.com/lostchroniclesofzerzura.html

"TurboCache" means your 6200 uses "shared" system memory, which is a lot slower than video memory.

If this is a laptop, that's why the drivers won't install. You'd need to get newer drivers from http://laptopvideo2go.com/ which is a site devoted to adapting desktop video drivers to install on laptops. If this is a desktop computer, it may be that the latest drivers are incompatible with your video card, which is quite old now. (The Geforce 6 series is about 9 years old).

However new drivers are unlikely to help your problem, which is that your 6200 doesn't have its own discrete video memory. From
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turbocache
Originally Posted By: Wikipedia
When TurboCache was introduced on the GeForce 6200 with TurboCache, there was confusion over how much local memory a buyer could expect from the TurboCache enabled video card. This figure could lie between 16-128MiB

So even if you have a card with the larger amount of discrete video memory (128MB), it's only half what the game requires according to Viva Media. So the game will play, but it will use system memory and response will be slow.

Top
#907279 - 08/11/13 01:15 PM Re: Lost Chronicles of Zerzura [Re: Newgames]
Newgames Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/21/06
Posts: 336
Loc: United States
I have a desktop and the spec. says that it can run in 128 mb or 256 mb.

How can I find out what it is running in and how to change it?

Top
#907281 - 08/11/13 01:25 PM Re: Lost Chronicles of Zerzura [Re: Newgames]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6759
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Newgames
I have a desktop and the spec. says that it can run in 128 mb or 256 mb.

How can I find out what it is running in and how to change it?


Those changes are generally available in the BIOS setup. At boot-up you should see a message that indicates which function key (or other combination) to press.

See if this helps -

How to Enter Your PC's BIOS

Top
#907471 - 08/12/13 06:58 PM Re: Lost Chronicles of Zerzura [Re: Newgames]
Newgames Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/21/06
Posts: 336
Loc: United States
Thank you all for the replies.

I finally have the Intel chipset updated - problems.

I contacted Intel helpline and they helped alot to find the right update. current 2011 from 2005 is a update.

I heard through the grape vine that this game has a patch for the slowness but the english patch is not out yet. Is that true??

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (Kaki's Sister, stevefox, kjos, cailyn, Moondancer), 78 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
greacia, Jason_Encore, DeanandKate, RisinGoat, AppyLover
8504 Registered Users