GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#909182 - 08/21/13 04:01 PM Larian Studios.exe *32
Smiley456 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 1214
Loc: Scanian Provinces
I bought the the GOG version of Divinity Dragon Commander and it's upgrade dlc a week ago. But once I uninstall the game followed by running CCleaner, The Larian Studios.exe *32 process is still running. If I stop the process the graphics driver stops working, and if I restart the computer (when the process is stopped) its running again.

Any ideas how to get rid of the process permanently?

Top
#909186 - 08/21/13 04:19 PM Re: Larian Studios.exe *32 [Re: Smiley456]
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 7079
Loc: Arizona
You can try running MSCONFIG (Click Start, type in MSCONFIG, and select it). Look under the Services and Startup tabs to see if its being loaded. If you see it, de-select it and press save.

Top
#909191 - 08/21/13 04:34 PM Re: Larian Studios.exe *32 [Re: Smiley456]
Smiley456 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 1214
Loc: Scanian Provinces
Found one Larian Studios under the Autostart tab, deactivated that one and rebooted the comp. The process still shows up frown

What would happen if I removed the Larian Studios folder under C:\Users\AppData\Roaming?


Edited by Smiley456 (08/21/13 04:40 PM)

Top
#909194 - 08/21/13 04:43 PM Re: Larian Studios.exe *32 [Re: Smiley456]
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 7079
Loc: Arizona
You may have a registry key that's loading it -
Run and RunOnce Registry Keys

The same basic concept, if you locate it - delete it.

Originally Posted By: Smiley456
Found one Larian Studios under the Autostart tab, deactivated that one and rebooted the comp. The process still shows up frown

What would happen if I removed the Larian Studios folder under C:\Users\AppData\Roaming?


It would probably fail to locate the executable, and continue to load everything else just fine.

Rename as opposed to deleting the appdata folder.

Top
#909195 - 08/21/13 05:03 PM Re: Larian Studios.exe *32 [Re: Smiley456]
Smiley456 Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 1214
Loc: Scanian Provinces
Had to stop the process before I could remove the folder from AppData\Roaming followed by the registry keys under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run & RunOnce.

Thanks for the help Inland smile

Edit: For some reason after getting rid of it, the computer has started to freeze and hang for a moment now and then. At the same time the mouse pointer goes nuts.

I even did a complete reinstall but the same stuff happens.


Edited by Smiley456 (08/24/13 10:36 AM)

Top

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
8 registered (oldbroad, Draclvr, TJCat, dianne, Marian, gymcandy1, BrownEyedTigre, 1 invisible), 137 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Marinus_Louis, tuna, danait13, mozkito314, LeonDaydreamer
8972 Registered Users