GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#928725 - 12/08/13 11:30 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: InlandAZ]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Thanks Inland, Jenny, Draclvr. This looks like a good card. My motherboard is an Intel D915GAG (12E1) per Speccy. I'll see if I can scratch together enough money to get this card. The rebate is only available till 12/31.

I appreciate all the info and advice.

Sharon

Top
#928740 - 12/08/13 12:32 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10024
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
This is what the specs say for this motherboard...

The boards provide the following PCI Express connectors:
•One PCI Express x16 connector supporting simultaneous transfer speeds up to 8 GBytes/sec
•Two PCI Express x1 connectors. The x1 interfaces support simultaneous transfer speeds up to 500 MBytes/sec

So, it doesn't have PCI-E 2.0, but I believe they are backwards compatible. I don't know what, if anything, you would sacrifice by not having 2.0.

We'll have to wait for Inland to drop by!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#928746 - 12/08/13 01:07 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6817
Loc: Arizona
Yep, the card is backward compatible, just make sure the case will accommodate the additional side of the card for the fan.

Here's a link that shows the card -

NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 1GB DDR5 PCI Express (PCIe)

Edit -

If the case wont accommodate the fan, you could always consider one of the Radeon cards -

AMD Radeon HD 6670
AMD Radeon HD 7750

Newegg has a 6670 for $54.99 after rebate - either will run on a 400 watt power supply.


Edited by InlandAZ (12/08/13 02:18 PM)

Top
#928805 - 12/08/13 10:33 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: InlandAZ]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Thanks for the information, Inland and Draclver. All things being equal, I would like to stay with Nvidia. I honestly can't say if there is room in there for the fan or not. I'll have to open the system up tomorrow and have a look. It will be a good chance to dust it out as well. If it looks like it will fit I will go ahead and order it tomorrow.

Thanks again, Sharon

(I just dread having to unplug all my connections to get a look inside...) I should do it anyway, cause I'm not sure I have the modem/router setup correctly.

Top
#928982 - 12/10/13 01:34 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
Well, thats torn it! My computer died! I looked inside the pc for the size of my current card and dusted it out. Put it back and now it will not turn on! I was afraid of this. I checked the connections and they are ok.

I have to get a new cheap pc. I am going to buy a wa550b ibuypower pc for $530 from walmart, unless you think I can do better for the same amt of money. Can not pay more at this time. I am using my galaxy tab 2 to get on the internet in the meantime.

Sharon

Top
#928986 - 12/10/13 02:14 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Starcom Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/17/04
Posts: 448
Loc: Ottawa
Hi Sharon,
You probably already checked this but I have to mention it anyway:

Some Computers have a safety Power Button in the back and when one sometimes moves the computer or cleans it, one might hit the switch by mistake.


Edited by Starcom (12/10/13 02:15 AM)

Top
#928990 - 12/10/13 03:32 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: Starcom]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
It was a good thought, Starcom. I tried it but it still wont turn on. It tried to, but it did not succeed. Thanks for the reminder.

Top
#929031 - 12/10/13 09:44 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35469
Loc: southeast USA
If it's plugged into a power strip, make sure that's on too.
If it's possible a screw or wire got loose inside the computer, that could cause a short.

Top
#929087 - 12/10/13 05:32 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2326
Loc: Michigan
Looking at this from a purely logical point of view,if it worked before you dusted and now it doesn't logic says you bumped some kind of connector and knocked it loose.You should push all the connectors on and check to see if you didn't knock the very small connectors at the bottom of the motherboard coming from the start button loose.
Also Cyberpower had a computer called "Back To School Special" for about $535 and it included Windows.It seemed like a pretty good computer for the price.Some of their prices don't have windows included,you have to watch for that.I am mentioning that because all componants are upgradable.I am not sure of that in the other computer you mentioned.

Top
#929110 - 12/10/13 07:26 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10024
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I'll bet something got knocked loose somewhere too...

Meanwhile, you could put one together for about $560 at eCollegePC with an Nvidia GTX 650 video card and Windows 7. I looked for that Back to School special and it is now $669 and I think the video card is pretty low-end... it's AMD R7 240 2GB Graphics. But I don't know much about AMD graphics.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#929123 - 12/10/13 09:20 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2326
Loc: Michigan
Wow it really jumped in price for some reason. Well forget that one.That collegePC sounds good.

Top
#929127 - 12/10/13 09:59 PM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10024
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Well, it has a low end - but decent - processor and I'm not fond of the power supply either. But if Sharon is on a tight budget, then it will do.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#929155 - 12/11/13 12:45 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: Draclvr]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
I did not find the system you mentioned, draclvr. Can you provide a link? I was looking at the system for S640, with the 1tb hdd for an extra S10. I might be able to get the extra S100 if you think it would be a significant improvement?

just saw that this does not come with os. I tried customizing it with a few minor improvements and it came to S854. Cant do it.


Edited by SharonB (12/11/13 04:25 AM)

Top
#929157 - 12/11/13 01:15 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: SharonB]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10024
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Sharon, here is what I did... I clicked on the Value Series in the Intel heading. AMD would be fine too - I'm just not as familiar with those components. I then clicked on the $345 one. I left everything as stock, added in the video card and the operating system. You could save $30 on the OS if you go to Newegg right now and grab a copy of 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium for $80 and install it yourself. You would have to create an account and enter the Promo Code EMCWVWX22 at checkout. The Promo Code expires on 12/16. If you did that, you could possibly have enough money to upgrade the processor or the power supply.

I assume you're looking at that AMD system for $640 - if so, it does not have an operating system or a stand alone video card. You would have to add those in.

I take it you couldn't figure out what might have come disconnected or knocked out of place? Or have you just gotten new computer fever! grin
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#929173 - 12/11/13 02:39 AM Re: New video card for old system [Re: Draclvr]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
The system had been acting up for some time. I was afraid to turn it off because it didnt want to turn back on, it kept rebooting for no reason while it was sitting idle. Not a lot, but every now and then,

anyway, I did not want to put more money into it. Thanks for the info about the os.

edit-Do I need a wireless adapter? I have a router and 2 modems and I no longer know what does what.
I need wifi for my kindle and tab, but they still work even though my pc is broken.


Edited by SharonB (12/11/13 06:24 AM)

Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (oldmariner, Marian, Agustin Cordes, kjos, Darrall, Rushes, exalthim2, Gordon, OrleansBelle, Kayc), 81 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Veilant, tookiebgirl12, Adam_B, Polikolp, efmouse
8541 Registered Users