GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#970884 - 07/31/14 04:27 PM Alter Ego strikes again
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
I purchased the game in 2010 and successfully launched it on my Windows 7 64 bit Asus gaming laptop. I never really got around to playing the game, but now that I'm retired, I decided to play it. Guess what? I am now getting the wonderful error message where "Alter Ego has stopped working...windows is checking for a solution." Then it goes back to the desktop. I have the only drivers available from Asus installed on the laptop. The only updates to the laptop have been Windows updates. I am now using Webroot security and after reading through some of the back threads on this, I deactivated it, uninstalled and reinstalled the game, but it won't run. (Administrator, compatibility mode...Nada...) I just shot off an email to Viva Media. Why does something suddenly quit working when it worked fine before?

Top
#970894 - 07/31/14 05:45 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7280
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
I found this page. I'm not sure if it will help. Alter Ego

Viva Media was bought out by Encore.



Edited by Cathy1 (07/31/14 05:46 PM)
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#970908 - 07/31/14 07:23 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10208
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
If I remember correctly, this game does not play well with some video cards. Which one do you have?
_________________________
Fireplace, yarn, knitting needles, books, wine... check. Yup, I'm ready for winter.

Top
#970911 - 07/31/14 07:39 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Cathy 1...Thank you for the link, but I had found that page earlier. The suggestion they provided has to do with character display. I can't even get the game to launch.

Hi Drac! If you recall this game played perfectly when I installed it in Sept 2010. I have the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 graphics card. You even posted in the Windows 7 compatibility thread. Don't know why it no longer wishes to even launch.

I did get a response from Encore. They referenced the solution cited on the page Cathy1 provided. Seriously???? I asked them if they would review my initial email and see if there is another possible solution...but I doubt it. If they didn't develop the game, I don't think they'll be able to pose solutions. The best customer support I ever got was from Kheopps. The tech guy worked with me on a couple of suggestions in order to get the game (I think it was Secret of Da Vinci) to play on my XP laptop.

I was able to get the game to play on my HP XP laptop, so I'm playing it on that machine. The mouse cursor is a little logy, but other than that, it's playing fine. Turning off Vsync helped the mouse issue a bit.

BTW...supposedly the manual for this game is on the DVD. I can't find it if it's there.


Edited by JKEerie (07/31/14 07:40 PM)

Top
#970912 - 07/31/14 07:45 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7280
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
After you uninstalled the game did you run ccleaner on the registry ?
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#970913 - 07/31/14 07:46 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
No I didn't, Cathy1.

I just went ahead and did that...then reinstalled as Administrator after deactivating my antivirus. Still the same error. I have no clue why this game worked back in 2010.


Edited by JKEerie (07/31/14 08:04 PM)

Top
#970918 - 07/31/14 08:34 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10208
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
JKEerie, you're asking my remember to work past 3 days ago???!!!

Actually, Cathy1's suggestion is a good one. Maybe Jenny will remember more about the issues with this game.
_________________________
Fireplace, yarn, knitting needles, books, wine... check. Yup, I'm ready for winter.

Top
#971039 - 08/01/14 01:40 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Hi Drac...I did try Cathy1's suggestion. Still the same.

I got another response from Encore support. They had me try compatibility (with Windows 7 believe it or not)and running as administrator, making both changes through the game properties vs the compatibility troubleshooter. The only difference is now I get a momentary black screen instead of white before getting kicked to the desktop. This also happens with XP and Vista compatibility. Also disabled the antivirus program. I just emailed them and I'll keep you apprised of their responses.

As I recall, Jenny100 believes it's an issue with the copy protection on the disc. That could be feasible when you think of it. Perhaps some Windows updates or another program I installed since 2010 makes my laptop no longer compatible with the game.

Top
#971050 - 08/01/14 03:30 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35621
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: JKEerie
As I recall, Jenny100 believes it's an issue with the copy protection on the disc. That could be feasible when you think of it.

The SecuROM v7 prevented me from playing the game. I ended up giving away the game and watching a ***playthrough on YouTube***.

To my knowledge, there has never been an English NoCD. You can try the German NoCD, but it might not be compatible.

Quote:
Perhaps some Windows updates or another program I installed since 2010 makes my laptop no longer compatible with the game.

SecuROM has not only been reported to conflict with the type of copy "protection" other games use, it blacklists the Sysinternals utilities from Microsoft that IT's use for maintenance. After Sony bought the SecuROM company, they decided they own your computer and can dictate what you can put on it.

There could also be a problem with your DVD drive getting older. The first thing to go with a CD or DVD drive is its ability to pass copy "protection" tests.

Top
#971069 - 08/01/14 05:42 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Hi Jenny100...

Thank you for your comments. I think the copy protection may be the ultimate culprit. I have been working with tech support at Encore. The latest had me redownload and install Direct X 9.0c, NetFramework 3.5 and visual C++. Still no luck. It will be interesting if the tech suggests the copy protection as the culprit. The SecuRom website has a diagnostic tool and some fixes for games that have issues. Alter Ego isn't one of them listed, though. I'll continue to work with the tech at Encore and see where this goes...as well as continue the game in XP. If I hit a wall with Encore, I may contact tech support at SecuRom just to see if they are even interested in following up.

Top
#972527 - 08/10/14 12:58 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Update. The folks at Encore had me uninstall and reinstall the game. (Which I had already tried.) That was their last suggestion. They simply apologized for the inconvenience.

I did email tech support at SecuRom and sent an analysis file. Outside of the auto-response and the suggestion to visit their website, I believe I am now on "Ignore."

I was able to play the game on my Windows XP HP laptop. The only glitches I experienced were totally invisible characters in the prison location and partially invisible ones in two other locations. I was still able to complete the game, and I must admit the ending was a real stunner.

So...on to the next game.

Top
#972541 - 08/10/14 02:37 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6861
Loc: Arizona
I just happened to have the game sitting on my desk, so I installed it to take a look. So far, it's running just fine. I purchased the game from Amazon and the version is stated as 1.0.10 US. There does not appear to be any copyright protection on the disc.

How far do you get into the game before it crashes?

One thing you may want to try is starting the game directly from the install folder - my location is: C:\users\User Name\Viva Media\Alter Ego US. In this folder you will find AlterEgo.exe, starting the game from there you will see an options menu (which isn't presented in the normal startup). Click on Setup and then reset the options to their defaults. The out of the Box settings are - Resolution: AutoDetect, Shader Level: 2, AA Level: 4, Fullscreen: checked, Vsync: unchecked.

If you think the issue may be related to your Graphics card, change the Shader Level to 0 (zero). You may also want to disable Fullscreen.

I'm running Windows 7 x64 Pro.

Edit -

While the disc does not appear to have any copyright protection, it does indeed use SecuRom. As Jenny stated, there are no patches to remove it from the US version.


Edited by InlandAZ (08/10/14 02:57 PM)

Top
#972558 - 08/10/14 04:40 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Hi Inland...

I'm also running Windows 7 x64 pro. I can't even get the game to launch. I get a black screen and then the message "Alter Ego has stopped running." Then I'm kicked back to the desktop.

The game installs in the Program Files x86 location in a Viva Media folder. There is no option to install it anywhere else. The funny thing is that this game ran perfectly in 2010 with this same graphics card. But now it doesn't want to run. I've always launched the game from the file location. I've tried running as Administrator, compatibility mode, shaders and antialiasing at 0 as well as the defaults. I've uninstalled and reinstalled with antivirus turned off. Tech support from Encore/Viva Media had me reinstall Direct X 9, NetFramework, Visual C++ all to no avail. They've given up.

I just can't figure out what happened that it will no longer launch. Forgive my ignorance but isn't SecuRom a copy protection program?

BTW, I can't see a version on the disk, but if I right click properties, I get 1.0.8US


Edited by JKEerie (08/10/14 04:53 PM)

Top
#972563 - 08/10/14 05:49 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6861
Loc: Arizona
About the only other thing I can suggest is removing Securom from your PC and running through the uninstall/re-install process again. You can find their removal tool below - and yes, it is copy protection.

SecuROM™ Removal Tool

I see 1.0.8 as a version for the installer, but the game itself 1.0.10 US.

Top
#972579 - 08/10/14 07:35 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
I used the removal tool, shutdown protection, uninstalled, ran CCleaner, reinstalled as administrator, ran as administrator. Still the same. I suspect there is another program that is incompatible with the game now that was not present in 2010, and the game will not launch. Oh, well...

The mule in me wants the game to work, but I've played it on XP and no how it comes out. At least I had that privilege.

Thanks, Inland, for your kind assistance.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
1 registered (Haroula), 64 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Elentgirl, tiathyme, Mr_Underhill, Lani, Rachissa
8581 Registered Users