GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#970773 - 07/31/14 05:35 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Iurii Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 09/03/13
Posts: 67
Loc: Kiev, Ukraine
Geo, the lock symbol on the folder with your name has nothing to do with Zodiac's ability to access it (nor with browsers and Internet connection).
That lock means it is your private folder - and other users on the same PC can't access it. But you try to run the game from your account, right? So the problem is not there.

Top
#970780 - 07/31/14 06:39 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: Jenny100]
joanieS Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 1515
Loc: Piney Woods of East Texas
Reply to Jennie, the Almighty Wizard!!!! I was stumbling around this morning looking for something else and ran across "run as administrator" in a totally different place. I clicked on that and went into RealMyst to try it out. Well, SOME success!!! Now, when I go into "save" the outline of the first 'save box' lights up. No picture, but it IS active. So, I click on "save" and dang, it IS saved! Can't see it but its there. Went a little further in the game, saved again in the second save box that lit up and it's there. Someone else somewhere along the line mentioned the 'run as administrator' and I certainly thank them too.
Now, back to solving Capri.
_________________________
"A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words." ...unknown

Top
#970811 - 07/31/14 09:12 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2329
Loc: Michigan
Yeah I kinda figured that out after I wrote the question Iurii.

Top
#970876 - 07/31/14 03:26 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
DocPaul Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/24/00
Posts: 1973
Loc: Georgia USA
From the little fiddling I have done, it appears to me that Zodiac is hiding the main game executable. When you click Play on the Zodiac screen to start the game, it tries to run zodiacRun.exe. This program apparently is supposed to grab and launch the main Capri executable but doesn't. ZodiacRun.exe launches but then fails to launch the game executable. Likely, there is a conflict on the local computer or a failure to download the executable from Zodiac. In any case, this is Zodiac's problem but sadly, they are not replying to any emails about the issue.

Top
#971198 - 08/02/14 11:04 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
joanieS Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 1515
Loc: Piney Woods of East Texas
I have had nothing but positive immediate response with Zodiac. At this point, I am cooling the Capri situation. As I told Dario at Zodiac, I am approaching 80 and am finding myself befuddled more often than not. I am o.k. with XP and desktops but not Windows 8, laptops or cell phones. I believe my problem is ME and having screwed up all kinds of things on this laptop. So, I am going to take it into a "computer guy" who takes care of little old ladies stuck in the '50's who can get me untangled and up and running again. Thank you to everyone and their patience and suggestions. When I learn what it is that I have done wrong, I will post. Don't blame Zodiac for my experience.Thanks again.
_________________________
"A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words." ...unknown

Top
#971208 - 08/02/14 12:31 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: joanieS
I believe my problem is ME and having screwed up all kinds of things on this laptop.

Considering that other people are having the same problem with the Zodiac version of the game and we haven't heard from a single person who has successfully run the Zodiac version of the game, I don't think the problem is with you or your computer at all.

Top
#971225 - 08/02/14 02:54 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5676
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I bought the game from Zodiac and only had a little problem so I deleted it and installed the updated version and haven't had any problems. Ran perfect. Running xp still.
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#971228 - 08/02/14 03:27 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35482
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: kjos
I bought the game from Zodiac and only had a little problem so I deleted it and installed the updated version and haven't had any problems.

Do you mean Zodiac has a new version of the game?

Top
#971231 - 08/02/14 04:03 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5676
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
It did 3 days ago. I went on there web site and it said a update version is available just reinstall your game and download the other one so I did and no more trouble at least it worked for me. wouldn't hurt to try. I had to restart the game from the beginning. When I came to the part I had trouble with it was ok. I went into Zodiac and clicked on the game and on the right side it said (update status: update available,Than update. crazy
Richard


Edited by kjos (08/02/14 04:26 PM)
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#971882 - 08/06/14 01:40 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Gey Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 07/30/14
Posts: 16
Whoever has still problems with the execution of Zodiac version of The Capri Connection, I am keen to provide him/her a free original copy of the game and all support needed until full resolution of even the smaller glitch. Please write me via the contact page of the official S-G Software web site www.caprisaga.com.

Top
#971883 - 08/06/14 01:44 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Gey Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 07/30/14
Posts: 16
For your information the new version of The Capri Connection game, now present at the Zodiac site, is exactly the original one available at www.caprisaga.com.

Top
#972651 - 08/11/14 07:27 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: Gey]
joanieS Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 1515
Loc: Piney Woods of East Texas
O.K., my problems are resolved! Gey sent me a new code to enter and Capri is working fine thru Zodiac. However, my computer repair person is the one who got me to the point where I could see the screen asking for the code. It is running thru Zodiac.
RE RealMyst problem of saves not showing actual scene of save, all he did was reinstall game. Since I had already tried that w/o success, I still think the cleaning up he did with my laptop had something to do with this. I had a card game that took hours to load and then, rather whimsically, shut down whenever that I hadn't even told my computer person about...this is now running fine for the first time in months. My computer had adblock and security issues and heaven knows what else from my endless downloading of "stuff" I think I need and really don't need. My computer person cleaned up a LOT of my unnecessary meanderings. Bless his heart!
So, all is right with my game world. Thank you for all your attention and help. I am thru downloading anything other than games and Kindle books!!!!!
_________________________
"A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words." ...unknown

Top
#972674 - 08/11/14 10:05 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Draclvr Online   content
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10044
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Words to live by, joanieS! I've clean so many, many computer up from indiscriminate downloading... My record is removing over 900 pieces of malware from one of them!

You can save yourself a lot of headaches by regularly scanning your computer with CCleaner and Malwarebytes in addition to your anti-virus program.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (InlandAZ, kjos, Marian, colpet, Draclvr, bermag45, Chief, manxman, mabeco, BrownEyedTigre), 86 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
DotEmu, JoyBunBun, Cabb, Veilant, tookiebgirl12
8544 Registered Users