GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#972765 - 08/11/14 07:09 PM window 8.1 question
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
i fry my motherboard and had to get a hp pavilion with window 8.1 can dracula 1 and 2 and 3 play on it. cool

Top
#972776 - 08/11/14 07:44 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Marian Offline
Moderator
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 20592
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Take a look at this page. Apparently both 1 and 2 will work. I'm not sure about #3, but I know that GOG sells it as a download that is compatible with Windows 8.1.

Top
#972800 - 08/11/14 10:04 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6817
Loc: Arizona
All 3 will most probably play, however you will need to install DirectX 9.0c - you can find it here DirectX end-user redistributable

Top
#972810 - 08/12/14 12:34 AM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
how about the cake mania games.

Top
#972880 - 08/12/14 10:31 AM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6817
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: family
how about the cake mania games.


From the system requirements I've seen, yes you will need it.

Top
#972881 - 08/12/14 10:53 AM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35464
Loc: southeast USA
Whether the Dracula games play or not will probably depend on your video card rather than Windows 8.1.

System requirements for Dracula 3 include a video card with 128 MB of discrete video memory (not shared memory). That could be a problem if your video card only uses shared memory.

If you're using the original disc versions of the Dracula games, Dracula 3 has copy "protection" that may not be compatible with Windows 8.1 and may prevent the game from playing. If you are using a download version of the game, this shouldn't be a problem.

It's kind of ironic that the older Dracula games are more likely to work than the newer one.

Some of the Cake Mania games at Big Fish list Windows 8 and some don't. The newer ones are more likely to be compatible. You'll just have to try them.

Top
#972931 - 08/12/14 02:23 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
dracula 3 work find cake maina main street is acting funny, mouse is fighting me and it is a sandlot cd-rom. cool


Edited by family (08/12/14 02:33 PM)

Top
#972950 - 08/12/14 04:42 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35464
Loc: southeast USA
Apparently the game was released in 2009.
The CD version may need a patch, but I can't find one.
Online versions may be updated and work better.
You could try a demo to check.

Top
#972962 - 08/12/14 05:23 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
okay i will try that, it is running in slow motion. cool


Edited by family (08/14/14 10:31 AM)

Top
#973353 - 08/14/14 02:48 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Jason_Encore Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 08/14/14
Posts: 7
We had published Dracula 1 2 and 3 back in the day and these versions are DRM Free and don't require the disk in the drive.

Check the version of the disk you have for the publisher - Our disks have the Encore logo silkscreened on them. Any other disks, and they might use Tages or SecurRom.

Top
#973361 - 08/14/14 04:01 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35464
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: family
okay i will try that, it is running in slow motion.

Is that the Cake Mania Main Street that's running in slow motion?

Top
#973413 - 08/14/14 10:08 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
yes it is choppy during the words screen and my escape from franstein castle is freezing, it is from wildtangent, it play fine at the place i get my computer fix, but now it freezes. cool


Edited by family (08/14/14 10:10 PM)

Top
#973528 - 08/15/14 04:05 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35464
Loc: southeast USA
I'm not sure why the Cake Mania: Main Street won't run well.
Its system requirements don't seem very high.
You could try uninstalling and reinstalling, if you haven't already.
If you have an antivirus, you might want to make sure the antivirus isn't scanning the game as it tries to run. Maybe you can enter an exception for the game exe in the antivirus scan list (depends on your antivirus).
You might also try changing compatibility mode on the game's .exe file to XP compatibility.

If the game from Wild Tangent is slow or freezes, check that it isn't an online game that depends on the speed of your internet connection. The place where you got your computer fixed might have a faster internet connection than you do.

Top
#973534 - 08/15/14 04:50 PM Re: window 8.1 question [Re: family]
family Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 1710
Loc: georgia
okay i will try that, is drac going to do a winow 8 for big fish games. cool it didn't help. cake maina main strret is choppy and cake mania light action camera freezes at the six level and 4 level of tf the pizza place. i got cake mania main street to run okay but not the others.


Edited by family (08/23/14 04:02 PM)

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
14 registered (auntiegram, Jenny100, BrownEyedTigre, CanukDenis, cailyn, curly, Jfi, Barb, judith, BobH), 70 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Veilant, tookiebgirl12, Adam_B, Polikolp, efmouse
8541 Registered Users